We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Dos Aguas(Rio Grande)(Great Value!)
$290
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn(Luquillo)(Great Value!)
$108
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Tarpon's Nest Lodge(Loiza)(Great Value!)
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melia Coco Beach(Rio Grande)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (7,512)
Filter reviews
7,512 results
Traveler rating
2,509
2,471
1,424
710
398
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,509
2,471
1,424
710
398
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarbella restaurantiguana feedingtiki hutpuerto ricoiguana pubrainforest viewadult poolfamily poolrented a carold san juanocean suiteself parkinglobby barconcierge deskocean frontsmall casinominute drive
Filter
Updating list...
6,372 - 6,377 of 7,512 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2009

I booked this on Hotwire and the resort was very nice, although
since I arrived late there was not much to do. The grounds are lovely and I would recommend it for those who would be staying there for a longer length of time.
My room was nice and the Italian Restaurant on site
was excellent but be aware it is quite expensive.
The beach is right outside and they have more multiple pools.
One for adults only, which is nice.
They also have a casino but I never went in there to see it.


The price was right but next time I will go back to Old
San Juan...there is more to do in that area.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lois318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2009

Excellent location close to lots of fun stuff. La Parilla restaurant was excellent. Good, safe area to explore with a rental car. The hotel staff was fabulous particularly the conceirge and Elizabeth Rivera. We highly recommend this hotel - amazing beach, pool, grounds, people and the Clean Air Room is a plus. It has an airfilter and you do not get the humid moldy feel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shazam1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2009

Hotel:
We liked the location of the hotel because of it’s proximity to the Fajardo Port to Culebra, Las Croabas for bio-bay kayaking, and El Yunque Rainforest. We didn’t venture into San Juan at all. We were basically looking for a hotel with a nice beach/pool that was close to the east coast. The hotel was about a 45 minute drive east of the airport.

Check-in:
We had a room for Jan 18-21. I didn’t book the room directly through Wyndham, but I called ahead of time to see if I could get an upgrade and they put a note on my reservation. Upon arrival at the hotel, we were upgraded to a junior suite facing the rainforest. I told the front desk I was a Wyndham rewards member (I signed up for this on the advice of other reviewers) and was upgraded to an oceanfront suite.

Parking:
Self-parking was $15/day. Before exiting the parking garage, take the parking ticket to the valet in the front of the hotel to get it validated so that you can exit the garage. Looking at another review it looks like you may be able to get free parking if you go to the casino and get it validated.

Room:
The oceanfront suite was very spacious with a king bed and sofa bed. Everything was very clean. The bathroom however had a very funny smell, almost like the ocean, but a little dirtier. It was bearable and we were hardly in the hotel room, so we didn’t bother complaining about the smell. The toilet also clogged but they promptly unclogged it after we reported it. We also got a service follow-up call from the hotel to make sure the toilet issue was taken care of. Wyndham rewards also sent up a drinks and candy the day the toilet was fixed. The toiletries were the Bath and Body Works Blue line. The only real complaint we had was the humidity that made it very difficult to air dry swimsuits. There was also nightly turndown service and they left chocolates on our bed.

In-room Phone:
Some phone numbers with area code 787 are considered long distance. We didn’t know this since the phone says to dial long distance you need to dial a 1 first. So when we received our bill, they charged us $2/min for phone calls totaling $18. It’s cheaper to call on your cellphone if you have Verizon. Upon checkout, I told them I disagreed with the charge and explained why and they were very accommodating and removed the charges.

Resort Fee:
We were charged a resort fee of ~$18 per day. The auction site we booked through didn’t cover this charge.

Beach/ Pool/Hot tub:
The waves were pretty rough. We didn’t really go in the water at all except to dip our feet. We saw kite surfers jumping around though. The pool was a little on the cold side, but it was still nice to go in and it was clean. The hot tub was a little dirty as it didn’t seem to have a working filter. You can get towels at the cabana free of charge, just tell them your room number. It’s also a good idea to get towels here if you’re planning on doing any water activities outside of the hotel.

Hotel Internet:
There are 5 or 6 computer hubs on the lobby floor with free internet. Some computers even have skype on them so you can call long distance if you bring your headphones. No printers though. There’s also free internet in-room if you sign up for Wyndham rewards.

Food:
We didn’t eat at any of the restaurants at the hotel. We had a car and went to Isamar bakery almost every day, we tried Antojitos one night, and La Parilla in the Luquillo kiosks. There’s also a Walgreens on Route 3 east not too far from the hotel where you can get water and snacks for cheap. We also saw lot of fast food places like Mc Donalds, Burger King, KFC, Subway. See my reviews on the food for more info.

Car Rental:
We reserved a car through Enterprise for about $20/day so that we could do all the activities/excursions we wanted to. We also added on the loss damage waiver for an extra $19/day and we were glad we did since a lot of the drivers came about an inch from hitting us and potholes were everywhere. There’s a place near Enterprise that has great empanadas if you are looking for good food once you land.

Excursions:

El Yunque was very close to our hotel and we only stayed there for less than two hours. We actually drove up further than we needed to and walked the trail south toward la Mina falls.

We also did the Bio-bay kayaking with Akuaadventures. It was $45/pp plus tax. It was fairly easy to get to Las Croabas Park (the meeting site for kayaking) from the hotel using the directions from another kayaking company called kayaking puerto rico. You may want to bring a flash light as it can come in handy if you kayak into a mangrove.

Flamenco Beach on Culebra Island was probably the best beach I’ve been to. I’ve only been to the beaches in San Diego, and one in Aruba and one in the Bahamas, and this one was by far the best. It was definitely worth the trip, with clear calm waters and white sand. It was also very clean and it wasn’t very crowded the day we went. The food stands also sold water and tasty empanadas for a dollar or two. The drive from the hotel to the Fajardo port took about 35 minutes and we arrived early around 820. We caught the 9am ferry and had seats outside in the back. The ride took about 1.5 hrs. We then took the Flamenco beach bus shuttle for $3 pp to get to Flamenco beach. It's $2 pp return trip.

I would have given the hotel a 5 if it didn't have that horrible bathroom smell. I know I should have said something about it, but I dont think a hotel that books you in a room with that kind of smell deserves a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank croissant33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2009

Nice property, but is is on the North Coast of Puerto Rico, so the most is has to offer is a pretty beach. The surf is too rough for
water activities. Obviously, then, resort activities should be all-important to the management here. They weren't. We arrived on Thanksgiving, and the Lobby was lavishly decorated, and a nice Buffet was in full swing. Everything went downhill from there. We were never given the Casino coupons all other registered guestes got upon arrival. We had to pay for the in-room internet that had been advertised as free in the online resort ads. There was a $100 credit that we were supposed to get at check-in, but we had to fight for it at check-out. We booked through Cheap Caribbean, who gave us a 24 hour number to call in case of problems. Forget about that! They don't ever answer, and don't respond to emails.
Why say it caters only to locals? Because , after Thanksgiving was over, they closed all of the restaurants except one! Without ANY notice to guests. They would not prepare any items from any of the other menus. The management could have cared less about all of the rest of us staying there: they advertise a full array of amenities, but have few available for guests.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LADB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2009

We booked this resort as part of a package available from [--]. Air from Chicago and 7 nights for $2100 and change. Fantastic deal and the hotel provided us with still more value. We were upgraded for free to a Junior Suite overlooking the ocean. We figure we saved about $5000 over retail booking.

Here's a summary of our experience:
- The resort is beautiful, the people friendly, the concierge will do just about anything for you, .... It is also quite empty right now so you have the place to yourself. Maybe more service staff than customers. No lines, great service.
- Join the Wyndham Club and tell them you if you are celebrating a special event. I believe that was what got us the free upgrade when some others have not been successful.
- The trade winds make the beach a sometimes very windy place. Move to the pool area or better yet plan for beaching it at Luquillo beach, just minutes away and in a protected cove. You can buy tropical drinks and rent two lounge chairs and an umbrella for the day for $20.
- The hotel is nicely centered for active people who want to see some of the beautiful natural areas and also visit cities and towns. San Juan is 45 minutes west, a nature reserve is 30 minutes east, and a tropical rainforest (El Yunque) and large national park is 20 minutes south.
- Rent a car. If you plan accordingly, you can miss the main traffic hours and get around pretty easily. We did not find driving that bad and you save a lot of money over taxis and hotel tours. Alternatively, the resort offers many bus tours to San Juan and the other local attractions. These are pricey though when compared to driving yourself.
- It rains sporadically here. The resort is near El Yunque (a sizable mountain range and tropical rainforest). Come to grips with it or don't stay there.
- Plan to eat at some of the fabulous local restaurants and eat local food. The resort food was ordinary. El Bohio near Cabezas de San Juan, and Antojitos and Don Pepe near the hotel were excellent. We hear the Parrot Club in Old San Juan is a "must do", though we did not get a chance to try it.
- Remember: You are 45 minutes from San Juan. This resort is not in a city. You are pretty remotely located (though with amenities such as a spa and golf). The beach is windy. I suggest planning for transportation (a car or budgeting for side trips).
- The resort will nickel and dime you, but this should not be an issue if you book through a discount agency like we did. Parking is $15-20 per day, wireless internet was (if I recall) $20 a day in your room, a fridge for the Junior Suite was a one-time $25 charge, and drinks were $10+ dollars each. You can access the internet from free desktops in the lobby.

Have fun!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank mpone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews