We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time but plan ahead”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Rio Grande
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great time but plan ahead”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We really had a great time at the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach resort. Stayed for a long weekend and did some research beforehand which made the trip even better. First you should rent a car. We went to Cabrera car rental down the road and they were great. If I had known I could have rented from them at the airport I would have instead of taking the shuttle. The resort itself is very secluded so you would have to take a cab just to get out of the resort. There is a great store at the bottom of the resort entrance where you can buy rum, etc. Drive over to Luquillo beach and Old San Juan as well. The resort itself was very nice, multiple pools, towels provided, right on the beach and happy hours as well. I would definitely go back, room was great and the staff were very hospitable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennyinftl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that you enjoyed our guest experience, and discovered that almost every aspect of our little paradise met your fulfillment.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our resort.

Warmest regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,171
    2,384
    1,376
    698
    381
See reviews for
2,463
2,345
112
688
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

I had hard time sleeping here. First night they put me on 7th floor with A/C unit directly above my room and after my complaint to lower floor but with humming noise coming from the vent even when thermostat was off. Otherwise I liked surrounding area but rooms i was given deffinitely needed renovation.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MaciejK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We apologize for the room inconvenience, but know that we are currently undergoing a renovation and I am sure you will be very pleased with the result.

We look forward to your next visit,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Grande
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2014

thought for price of room the hotel was old and in need of upgrades, these were in progress which was a inconvenience to guests, ie noise in afternoon, also some of servers were very slow , prices of food and drink on high end

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Bradford M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We apologize for your disappointment and will review your comments with the appropriate departments to make the necessary improvements.

We have planned and worked very hard to control the noise level. We require the renovation team to not begin any work that may cause noise until after 9am and cease at 5pm. Our guests have been very cooperative and understanding during this process.

Thank you for the gift of feedback. We look forward to your next visit.

GRAND regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The Wyndham Rio Grande Resort is fabulous! The grounds are beautiful, spectacular view of the ocean. The Resort has 3 pools , 2 are beachside as well as beach area where they will put up you lounge chairs and umbrellas for you. The service, friendliness of the staff, accomodations were A+. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better beach view and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandgal56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at our resort. It gives us tremendous pleasure that our staff made you feel so welcome. I will share this wonderful review with the team; they enjoy knowing our guests have memorable experiences at our property.

We look forward to your next visit!

GRAND regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurabo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach this weekend. The kids loved the pool slide at the main pool and the adults the "adults only pool". Although there are renovations going on, we didn't notice it as it is in specific areas and time. I would recommend this resort to anyone who wants to relax away from the city. Don't forget to visit El Yunque :-)

Room Tip: East wing rooms are closer to the pools and beach access which makes it easier for families with kid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CucaBori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our goal as a team is to create memorable experiences for our guests. Thank you for the gift of feedback. We look forward to your next visit!


GRAND regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
4.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
22.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
6,942 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
21.5 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
3.2 mi away
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 6000 Rio Mar Boulevard, Rio Grande 00745-4661, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between El Yunque Rainforest and a mile stretch of secluded beach, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa is Puerto Rico's most exotic beach, golf and spa resort destination. 500 magnificent acres with spectacular ocean, rainforest and lush tropical views serve as backdrops to 400 newly renovated guestrooms and suites and an exclusive renovated 48,000-sq.-ft. Oceanfront Conference Center. Located on the N.E. Ecological Corridor of Puerto Rico's shoreline, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar is a haven for fun, sun and forging memorable experiences. The new guestrooms exude traditional Puerto Rican architecture and feature thoughtful indigenous touches. The resort boasts two championship golf courses & tennis center, Mandara spa, 10 lounges and restaurants with award-winning cuisine, an exciting casino, two nature reserves and a guest experience program that encompasses the beauty and nature of its magical surroundings. And since Puerto Rico is a US Commonwealth, no passports or visas are required for US Citizens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Vacatia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel Rio Grande
Rio Mar Beach Resort And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Resort
Wyndham Rio Grande
Rio Del Mar Puerto Rico
Rio Grande Wyndham
Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Westin Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Wyndham El Yunque National Forest
El Yunque National Forest Wyndham
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing