We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Relaxing Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rio Grande
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The age of the resort shows in some spots, but it's still a beautiful place and will be even nicer after the $500 million renovation it's undergoing. Our room was huge and pretty nice, although our television didn't work the entire trip (we called for repair three times). They did give us $25 off the bill for that. The lobby and pool area are beautiful, and the former was decorated well for the holiday season. The beach front was nice, too. Chairs and towels are provided. The staff was friendly enough. Multiple employees pushed us to attend a sales session for the Wyndham vacation ownership program. We went (did not buy) and got $100 off our room credit. The prices in the hotel bars and restaurants were average for a vacation spot: $70 for a lunch and drinks for four (with tip). The location is about a 30 minute drive from the airport. I liked being out of the city--more resort feel--and the drive to BioBay to go kayaking and Old San Juan to sightsee wasn't bad. I'd recommend this resort. It was a great, long-weekend getaway spot.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the location, nearby attractions and the friendly service of our staff.

We look forward to your next visit!

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review!

Sincerely,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,236 - 3,242 of 7,269 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

Don't get me wrong Puerto Rico was an amazing. The hotel had beautiful sights, however, the service at the front desk was horrible. They had construction going on, so you could not be sleeping past 9am. They moved me from my room more than 3 times because they could not get it right. I am not a picky person, but the hotel service really needs some help. The valet parking crew was always nice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jose V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about our hotel. We are delighted that you were pleased with the location and Puerto Rico in general. However we are apologetic for the areas where we fell short.


Once we are made aware of any dissatisfaction we make every effort to resolve the problem immediately and/or make amends in some way. We will continue to improve and make every effort to ensure that our guests are completely satisfied with their stay with us.


We hope that in future you will decide to stay with us once again in an effort to provide you with a perfect stay.


GRAND regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The resort has great potential and is not currently living up to that potential...

Our trip did not start well. When we arrived there were no bell staff and we had to wait for a car attendant to park our car. It was not that busy in the lobby. Not sure what was happening. Check-in was without issue or concern. When getting to the room we found that the toilet and the tub had hairs and other debris on them.

After we cleaned this we were OK with staying. We had a room on the first floor that overlooked the pool area. When we arrived we had to check to see if the door was open to the outside because the noise from the coqui (small native frogs that sing from dark to just before dusk) was quite loud. The door was closed, the coqui are just that loud. We did get accustomed to our tiny outside neighbors and slept well.

The food was good. The prices seemed a bit high when coming from the CONUS, but after completing my expense report and seeing the per diem for the area, the prices were in line with the government per diem amount.

The pools were nice and the adult hot tub was hot (not common in my travels). The beach is not great. There was a significant amount of garbage that washes up on to the shores. There were large sticks, bottles, and other washed up debris. It does not appear that the hotel does anything to pick up this debris.

The construction noise was fairly constant during the day and we were 4 floors below where the work was occurring. I'm hoping that this construction improves the quality and character of the rooms. They looked like they have not been updated in 20 years (except flat screen TV).

If you are in for a meeting be warned that there is a standard charge for groups with a bell service tips and housekeeping tip (and associated taxes). Since there were no bell staff on our arrival, we did get this removed. It is odd to me that tips are on my hotel bill. I like to tip staff directly. I don't trust that the hotel will pass all of these funds directly to the staff that provide me the service. Further I was not told of these charges until checkout. While not happy on paying, since it was negotiated as part of the conference, I payed it. (I will ask the conference organizers).

Overall it was a very good stay. There are needs for improvement.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about our hotel. Feedback like yours is very important to us as it gives us an opportunity to improve our service to you and our other guests. We are sincerely apologetic for your dissatisfaction in some areas. We will continue to improve and make every effort to ensure that all of our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us.


We look forward to your next visit,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

While the grounds were beautiful and the elevators were the fastest of any hotel we've been to, that's where the positive ends.

To begin with, our check-in was not pleasant. We arrived at approx 1:30 and were told we couldn't check in until 4 PM. We returned to the front desk at 4 and the staff seemed annoyed that we were asking for our room. For a hotel of this caliber, we expected friendly and customer service oriented staff, but didn't find that.
Upon getting our keys we were given no instructions to where our room was and we ended up in the wrong wing of the hotel. While searching for our room we walked past an open room in the process of being "cleaned" and saw someone on the cleaning staff reclined in a chair, feet up and texting. (while others in our party were still waiting for their rooms to be made available). We finally found our room, and the first thing we noticed that the curtain was torn in 2 places, the room was outdated and not as clean as it should have been.
The door going to the balcony was hard to open and our room was adjacent to the bar balcony. At night we had to deal with the noise of people partying outside to the wee hours of the morning. Then, at 4:30 am (on 2 of the 3 nights we were there), the cleaning staff was making a lot of noise talking, cleaning and moving patio furniture without regard that people were sleeping at that time of morning.My husband had to wear earplugs to sleep.
The shower curtain was coming apart and water from the shower ran onto the bathroom floor and, the water temperature fluctuated without warning.

Room Tip: Avoid a room near the bar balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paulette702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the entire team, allow me to preface with an apology for the service mishaps which you and your husband encountered. We can only imagine how disappointed you were. We can assure you this is highly unusual, and regret that you left with a less than exemplary experience.

In an effort to reverse your previous impression, we do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back so that we may show you a true uncompromising experience.

We do look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The resort is getting an extensive renovation and it really needs it! It's very worn and outdated. Hopefully, they'll re-do the plumbing because you get cold water about 3 minutes into your shower, which I suppose encourages water conservation, but not warm thoughts!
They were using jack hammers from 8-5 each weekday, which we were first advised about via message under the door the day it started. If you were planning to sleep in or take an afternoon nap, forget it. This was particularly annoying because it rained 5 out of 7 days and they had no indoor activities (You could go to the Casino, but I'm not a fan). The food was OK but the service was poor. For the most part, extremely slow-moving wait staff that acted like they were doing you a favor by waiting on you. It was a business trip so we stayed, but if we had been traveling on our own we would have moved.
It has great potential, however, because it is beautifully situated and the grounds are lovely.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our beautiful grounds. We do apologize however, regarding your disappointment with various service issues. This is certainly not indicative of an uncompromising experience and we have taken the liberty of sharing your comments with the appropriate departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon, so that we may treat you to a flawless experience next time.

Thank you for the gift of feedback, and the opportunity to respond to your concerns.

Warmest regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very disgusting! First to start off, we had booked a ocean view room. When we got into the room it was not ocean view and there was a huge tree blocking our porch. When I called the front desk, they said they were at max occupancy and could not move us. After our return from a night out off the hotel, because the local restaurants are 100% better quality and service. Lolita's is amazing! We found our ac was broken and when we folded back the sheets they were dirty. I finally after saying we could not be moved, I demanded that we were and it finally happened at 1am. Not the ideal time to pack all your stuff! Even after that, the service was not great and it was out 5yr Anniversary. At no time did they offer any compensation or maybe a bottle of champagne like respectable hotels offer to anniversary couples. Bottom line, poor quality, dirty rooms and terrible service. I would not stay here!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,


Allow me to preface with an apology for the service mishaps which you and your wife encountered. We can only imagine how disappointed you were, considering you were celebrating a special occasion and had understandably high expectations for your visit to our home in paradise. We can assure you this is highly unusual, and regret that you left with a less than exemplary experience.


In an effort to reverse your previous impression, we do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back so that we may show you a true uncompromising experience.


We do look forward to welcoming you and your wife back in the near future.


GRAND regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Echoing what everyone else has already mentioned, this resort is tired. The grounds are nice, but the rooms are in desperate need of an upgrade (and some dehumidifiers). I felt sticky whenever I was in my room, but comfortable elsewhere in the hotel. The beach was nice directly by the hotel, but kind of yucky to the east of it near the river opening. Having said that, the private company renting kayaks and such on the beach was great and we rented a kayak and took it out in the ocean and into the mouth of the river into the rainforest. This was a fantastic experience, as you get to see much more wildlife this way. All in all, this resort is nice, but should really invest some time and money into the guest rooms for the ultimate experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FullOfWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you for your review. We are glad you had the opportunity to experience kayaking in the river that crosses the resort, we are definitely gifted to have such wonderful wildlife surrounding us.


We apologize for the room inconvenience. Please, rest assured that your concern has been relayed to upper management and we are currently working on improving the areas you mentioned.


We look forward to your next visit!


GRAND regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
4.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
21.6 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
8.6 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
17.8 mi away
InterContinental San Juan
InterContinental San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
2,797 reviews
79.9 mi away
Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort

Address: 6000 Rio Mar Boulevard, Rio Grande 00745-4661, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range: $215 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between El Yunque Rainforest and a mile stretch of secluded beach, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa is Puerto Rico's most exotic beach, golf and spa resort destination. 500 magnificent acres with spectacular ocean, rainforest and lush tropical views serve as backdrops to 400 newly renovated guestrooms and suites and an exclusive renovated 48,000-sq.-ft. Oceanfront Conference Center. Located on the N.E. Ecological Corridor of Puerto Rico's shoreline, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar is a haven for fun, sun and forging memorable experiences. The new guestrooms exude traditional Puerto Rican architecture and feature thoughtful indigenous touches. The resort boasts two championship golf courses & tennis center, Mandara spa, 10 lounges and restaurants with award-winning cuisine, an exciting casino, two nature reserves and a guest experience program that encompasses the beauty and nature of its magical surroundings. And since Puerto Rico is a US Commonwealth, no passports or visas are required for US Citizens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Mar Beach Resort And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Resort
Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel Rio Grande
Wyndham Rio Grande
Rio Del Mar Puerto Rico
Rio Grande Wyndham
Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Westin Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Wyndham El Yunque National Forest
El Yunque National Forest Wyndham
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing