We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Rio Grande
Lexington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I must say that we were pleasantly surprised with the excellent service that we received during our stay at Rio Mar.

We had car and drove from the airport to the resort-which proved to be a great move. The car rental was around $350.00 for a week, but we felt that it was well worth it. The traffic was a little daunting, but by using the navigator map on my I-phone, we made it with little hassle. It also afforded us the ability to run by the grocery (Amigo) store for a few drinks and snacks. These were vital- as a bottle of juice at the resort shop was almost $2.50.

We were amazed by how beautiful the resort was right from the beginning. You see a grand staircase, with helpful attendants as soon as we drove up. We immediately went right inside, and since it was a Sunday afternoon, did not have to wait at all. The front desk was exceptionally helpful, and very informative. The attendants helped us get our bags to the room, and a refrigerator to the room within 5 minutes. (The refrigerator was a must !!)

We will have to admit that our stay from Sunday-Thursday was nicer than towards the weekend, as we were looking for a very quiet stay. From Thursday afternoon thru our stay on Sunday at lunch- it was much more festive atmosphere, with people and children everywhere.

The beach was amazing-though not the white sand we thought, but there was hardly anyone on the beaches during the first part of the week. You truly felt as though you were alone in Paradise. The pools also looked inviting, though we did not use the pools any- we chose the beach instead. The grounds were amazing, and while they could have been a little more polished, they still exceeded our expectations. The facility was amazingly safe, and I only hope that we can bring our children back at a later date, because we felt that it would be a wonderful place from them to experience Puerto Rico.

We spent the first 3 days on the resort unwinding and relaxing, and then we ventured out in the car to surrounding areas- which we found charming, and not unsafe. We drove up and down #3 to see what was around. There were many places to eat, both authentic, and many things that you would see in the States (Burger King, Dunkin Doughnuts, McDonalds, Subway, Wendys).
We spent one entire day in Old San Juan- which was beautifully charming. We drove the car, and parked in one of the parking decks (the front desk can give you directions to the city, and to the parking decks). The buildings were beautiful, and it is a great walking city.
We also spent a morning on the horse back riding excursion, which was just wonderful ! We went on the Rain Forest tour, but it is my understanding that if you want the beach tour, that you need to ask specifically.

We had plans to take the Rain Forest hiking tour and the historical tours of San Juan to the fort and castle, but the government shut down started during our trip, and alas, we were unable to enter these areas.

In regards to food- yes it was expensive. Drinks ran from $5.00-$10.00. We were not upset by restaurants not all being open on every day. We just "worked" around them, and we found it suited us fine. We just ate at what was open, and they rotated it daily. All the food they served was fresh and very good, but again a little pricey, but not extravagant. On a negative note- the service was slow at Palios. There were only 3 couples in the restaurant, the service was almost non-existent. And breakfast was fairly expensive, so we only ate there once for breakfast, and chose to either eat fruit in the room, or go out-which was OK by us.

We have read others reviews, and I must say that we were almost dreading coming. We never once felt afraid, and we found the locals friendly, and helpful. I felt more comfortable here than I did at a high end resort in Jamaica. We drove all around the area, went shopping, ate in local restaurants, pumped gas, etc, and never once felt uncomfortable. We will be bringing our children back as I think that this is the best first out of country experience for the kids.

I do think that the Wyndham changes will be wonderful, still felt that the resort as it is, was very nice. We are already planning our return trip !! Thank you for one of the best vacations ever !!

Room Tip: We thought the beach front rooms were beautiful, but the mountain rooms would be better for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your detailed review. We are glad you enjoyed the service provided by our friendly staff, the nearby attractions and your stay.


Thank you for sharing your experience related to our food prices. We have themed restaurants that are priced according to what we serve there, but we also have less expensive options available for the enjoyment of our guests.
I am pleased to announce that we now have all day, everyday happy hours at both the Tiki and the Lobby Bar.
Also, most recently we launched our Savory Savings where we offer different promotions on every day of the week. Such as Wine Wednesdays offering 50% OFF wine bottles in all our restaurants, Shimas Tuesday offering ½ priced Sushi & Sake, Early Bird Special from 6pm-7pm offering 3 course prix fixe menu at Palio, and Iguanas Pub Crazy Wednesday offering 20% off all food for lunch and dinner.


I was surprise to read your comments about the service provide in Palio Restaurant, it is highly unusual and I apologize for that.


We hope you are able to bring your kids in the near future, so they too can experience our GRAND service and the beautiful Island of Enchantment!


Kind regards,

Danny Williams

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,171
    2,384
    1,376
    698
    381
See reviews for
2,463
2,345
112
688
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pomeroy, Washington
Level Contributor
111 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

First of all if you do not have a rental car you are "trapped" - since Wyndham has taken over expect to see many improvements - Restuarants are trying to be more classy than they need to be - if you had kids with you you might need a bank loan. Beech is just the beech - few umbrellas and chairs but thats it - Nice to take a very long walk on since it is a public beach. Really would have liked to had better access to the lagoon - might have been great to snorkle. Both pools are very nice. To me the casino could go since it adds nothing to the value of the property. Pool side lunch at the Tiki hut - very missed named due to it design etc. Would recommend lunch at the Golf course - but don't expect prompt service if the golfers come in off the course - food was excellent and priced right.

Room Tip: Go for the side you want to see (ocean or rain forest) ocean is obstructed by the palm trees in mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 738billq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.


Thank you for sharing your experience related to our food prices. We have themed restaurants that are priced according to what we serve there, but we also have less expensive options available for the enjoyment of our guests.
ERL with its casual, family friendly atmosphere is the perfect place for a quick bite, light meal or grab and go snack and is open from 6am – 2am every day.
Also, most recently we launched our Savory Savings where we offer different promotions on every day of the week. Such as Wine Wednesdays offering 50% OFF wine bottles in all our restaurants, Shimas Tuesday offering ½ priced Sushi & Sake, Early Bird Special from 6pm-7pm offering 3 course prix fixe menu at Palio, and Iguanas Pub Crazy Wednesday offering 20% off all food for lunch and dinner.



We have a variety of activities you can enjoy at the Resort, which is also located near to many unique attractions. The Resort is located in front of the beach, has 2 swimming pools where you can enjoy an array of activities, 13 tennis courts, 2 championship golf courses, a fitness center, a spa, kids club, a casino, water sports and 11 restaurants and entertainment lounges if after all these activities you get hungry! Also, nearby you can enjoy El Yunque Rainforest, Carabali Rainforest Park which offers: horseback riding, ATV rides through the Rainforest, mountain biking, go-kart speed track and canopy zip lining. In the close town of Fajardo, you can experience the Bio-Bay: this unique bay contains up to 720,000 single-celled bio luminescent dinoflagellates per gallon of water. These half-plant, half animal organisms emit a flash of bluish light when agitated at night. Old San Juan is just 20 minutes away if you take Route 66. So, we have everything for everyone to enjoy!


Thank you for your feedback,


Danny Williams

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Beautiful hotel.My family enjoyed the pool, waterslide and all the fun activities around the pool area. Guest room was very comfortable. Definitely would return and would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Annette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our goal as a team is to create memorable experiences for our guests. Thank you for the gift of feedback. We look forward to your next visit!


Warm regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Tx
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I'm here now. Arrived on Sunday. The hotel is about 30% occupancy which is great! because they upgraded us to an ocean view room. The hotel is not as run down as people on here have stated. If at all possible, RENT a car. The driving here is easy and the locals don't drive as bad as people have stated.

We have gone out mostly and eaten at local restaurants. There is one right off the main road as you turn off hwy 3 to the hotel. You can get a full breakfast for $7.50.

El Yunque is closed because of the shutdown, but you can still drive thru the rainforest up 191. It is very beautiful and scenic with some great places to stop. The road dead ends at El coca waterfall, which they are letting you walk up to.

Going to Old San Juan today.

Jason

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcmzhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your review. We are glad you are enjoying your stay! We hope you had a great time in Old San Juan as well.


Please, let us know how the rest of your trip goes.


Regards,

Danny Williams

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013

In the overall the hotel is very good. The a/c was extremly cold and we can not control the tempeture, and there was no hot water in the shower. I think the prices for a bottle of water ($3.50) and a little box of cereal ($6.00) are to much high.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,


We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the facilities. We apologize for the room A/C inconvenience. Please rest assured that your concerns have been relayed to the Engineering Department and we are working on improving this area.


Thank you for sharing your experience regarding our food prices. Our pricing is comparable to similar properties in the area and we feel we provide good value. We regret that this was not your impression and offer our apologies.


Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review!


Sincerely,

Danny Williams

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in April for business. The hotel is about 30 minutes from the airport in San Juan. I know the hotel offers a shuttle, but I highly recommend renting a car. Yes, you will have to pay for valet services at the hotel, but it is worth it. If you do not rent a car, you will be subjected to the overpriced, not-so-good food at the resort for every meal, as no restaurants are within walking distance of the property. The hotel rooms are average. They were average size and somewhat old, but were still clean and nice. The pool, gardens and beach areas are beautiful and this is really where you should spend most of your time. There are plenty of cabana boys and waitresses to deliver drinks/food from the bar. The service was always fast and friendly. The beach service was great and the beach was impeccable. The water and sand was truly gorgeous. You could tell that the beach is well kept. Around the pool area, there are large iguanas and frogs that just hang out, which is really neat. The only major complaint I have about the property was the restaurants and food. I ate at the buffett and the Asian restaurant, both of which were very expensive and not good... Rent a car, go eat the local fare at the Loquillos or Kiosks. They are a short drive from the hotel and have outstanding local dishes. Use your rental car to venture into the rainforest too! El Yunque is right across the street from the property and is a once is a lifetime sight to see. The sights look like they are out of a postcard! The major upside to the whole trip; we won $1500 in the casino! Yes, they have an on-site casino. It is small, but the drinks are strong, service is fast, slots are loose, and they have a wide variety of table and slots games. I recommend this place for couples or adult family members looking for a tropical retreat. I definitely would not pay full price for this hotel, but have seen many online deals that look like they are a steal for this place. Get a deal off the net, rent a car, venture off the resort every now and then, you'll have a grea time!

Room Tip: Rent a car, go off-site for meals. Ask for a room overlooking the gardens, they are gorgeous and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VegasinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our beautiful beachfront location.

I would like to sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations while dining; our goal is to exceed our guest’s experience at our Resort and provide them with a marvelous meal and a wonderful time. We have shared your comments with the F&B department and in our ongoing goal of quality improvement; we created new menus which include items that are locally grown. This gives us the opportunity to provide our guests with the freshest, best quality and flavorful ingredients. We hope you come back to our restaurants soon to enjoy the items with elegant presentations in our new menus.


We look forward to your next visit,

Danny Williams

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
4.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
22.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
6,937 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
21.5 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
3.2 mi away
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 6000 Rio Mar Boulevard, Rio Grande 00745-4661, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between El Yunque Rainforest and a mile stretch of secluded beach, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa is Puerto Rico's most exotic beach, golf and spa resort destination. 500 magnificent acres with spectacular ocean, rainforest and lush tropical views serve as backdrops to 400 newly renovated guestrooms and suites and an exclusive renovated 48,000-sq.-ft. Oceanfront Conference Center. Located on the N.E. Ecological Corridor of Puerto Rico's shoreline, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar is a haven for fun, sun and forging memorable experiences. The new guestrooms exude traditional Puerto Rican architecture and feature thoughtful indigenous touches. The resort boasts two championship golf courses & tennis center, Mandara spa, 10 lounges and restaurants with award-winning cuisine, an exciting casino, two nature reserves and a guest experience program that encompasses the beauty and nature of its magical surroundings. And since Puerto Rico is a US Commonwealth, no passports or visas are required for US Citizens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Vacatia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel Rio Grande
Rio Mar Beach Resort And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Resort
Wyndham Rio Grande
Rio Del Mar Puerto Rico
Rio Grande Wyndham
Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Westin Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Wyndham El Yunque National Forest
El Yunque National Forest Wyndham
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing