We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rio Grande
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Nice, comfortable accommodations! Wonderful view of the ocean, the hotel grounds and pool from the balcony!
The beach was average, we spent more time by the pool than the beach. We went out of the property to explore different beaches in PR.
The West end lobby by the elevators was on the dark side, could use better lighting. The small coffee shop by the entrance to the Casino was the only reasonably priced F&B source in the entire hotel so the lines were long, the area crowded. There was a security officer walking around the pool area but guests were bringing their drinks and cigarettes into the pool - there was a sign that clearly said this was not allowed. :)
The Spa was overpriced.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marinela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our goal as a team is to create memorable experiences for our guests. Thank you for the gift of feedback. We look forward to your next visit!


Warm regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,570 - 3,576 of 7,248 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

Our stay in Puerto Rico at the Wyndham was outstanding! The employees insure they take care of you! Richard rocks! Everyone is courteous, friendly and professional. I would recommend booking to any one any time. The beach is gorgeous and the hotel is clean, well kept and fun! Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Julie Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

It’s great to know you had a good time at Rio Mar and an honor to have you in our property. Thank you for your kudos to Richard and the rest of the team; your compliments are highly appreciated. As a team, we work to create memorable experiences for our guests.

We look forward to welcome you back soon!

Thank you so much for your review,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Hotel was beautiful, beach was beautiful, awesome food and by far the friendliest staff that we have ever experienced at a resort. Would highly recommend to anyone looking to have an incredible, relaxing and enjoyable vacation! This is the PLACE! 08/05/13-08/10/13

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Bennie Thomas I... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Guest,


Congratulations on such a special ocassion! Thank you for choosing us to celebrate your anniversary and thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our goal as a team is to create memorable experiences for our guests. Thank you for the gift of feedback. We look forward to your next visit!


Warm regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and were very happy to find the resort just as the pictures show. We had a rainforest view room on a non-smoking floor. The 4th floor hallway smelled like wet and musty but the rooms were tiled and clean and comfy. The beach, casino and entertainment and the property are in kept great shape and security is overboard, a lot of checks to ensure that only guests or residents are there. We ordered pool side food and from the bakery which was good but did not try the restaurants for meals because we had heard they were overpriced and we wanted to experience the food outside the resort. We discovered a bakery (panaderia) just about 2 or 3 blocks to the west on PR 3 in a strip plaza on the right hand side that was delicious for breakfast each morning and extremely affordable! Don Pepe's in the same area was also very good food for lunch or dinner. Luqillo Beach which was supposed to be the most beautiful beach in the area was a very short drive but sadly not maintained and their was trash all over so skip it and just enjoy the beach front at the resort....much better!!

Room Tip: 4th floor is a non-smoking floor! YAY!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emesticafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our goal as a team is to create memorable experiences for our guests.


Thank you for sharing your experience related to our food prices. We have themed restaurants that are priced according to what we serve there, but we also have less expensive options available for the enjoyment of our guests. ERL with its casual, family friendly atmosphere is the perfect place for a quick bite, light meal or grab and go snack and is open from 6am – 2am every day. We also have Iguana’s Pub for everything from chicken wings and nachos to Caesar salads, steaks and local food options with the pricing of any sports bar. Iguana’s Pub serves breakfast on weekends, so guests have at least three breakfast options at the Resort. I am pleased to announce that we now have all day, everyday happy hours at both the Tiki and the Lobby Bar. Also, most recently we launched our Savory Savings where we offer different promotions on every day of the week. Such as Wine Wednesdays offering 50% OFF wine bottles in all our restaurants, Shimas Tuesday offering ½ priced Sushi & Sake, Early Bird Special from 6pm-7pm offering 3 course prix fixe menu at Palio, and Iguanas Pub Crazy Wednesday offering 20% off all food for lunch and dinner. These are just a few of the most recent initiatives we have put in place with our guest in mind and hopefully help show the value we offer to our valued guest.


Thank you for the gift of feedback. We look forward to your next visit!


Warm regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I don't know what people were talking about on here but this place is a dump. The rooms are out dated and very dirty. Almost nothing to do at night except eat dinner and drink at the bar; be ready to walk around every night and do absolutely nothing. The hotel lobby is nice and the pool is nice. Beach is not too crowded but rocky and very dirty. Some if the resturants are closed. Don't waste your money.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank russfar15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,



Thank you for your review. We have a variety of activities you can enjoy at the Resort, which is also located near to many unique attractions. The Resort is located in front of the beach, has 2 swimming pools where you can enjoy an array of activities, 13 tennis courts, 2 championship golf courses, a fitness center, a spa, kids club, a casino, water sports and 11 restaurants and entertainment lounges if after all these activities you get hungry! Also, nearby you can enjoy El Yunque Rainforest, Carabali Rainforest Park which offers: horseback riding, ATV rides through the Rainforest, mountain biking, go-kart speed track and canopy zip lining. In the close town of Fajardo, you can experience the Bio-Bay: this unique bay contains up to 720,000 single-celled bio luminescent dinoflagellates per gallon of water. These half-plant, half animal organisms emit a flash of bluish light when agitated at night. Old San Juan is just 30 minutes away if you take Route 66. So, we have everything for everyone to enjoy! At night several of our restaurants and entertainment lounges offer live music and entertainment.



We think there is a misunderstanding because our beach doesn’t have rocks, but it is indeed unfortunate that, wherever you stayed, the beach is rocky and dirty.


We look forward to your visit to our Resort in the near future!

Danny Williams

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
CARMEL
12
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Second time staying here. This is a beautiful resort, but our room could have used updating. Make sure to rent a car, otherwise you will need to take taxi's to off-property restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your review.

We look forward to your next visit,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
4.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
18.0 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
21.6 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
21.5 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
8.6 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar

Address: 6000 Rio Mar Boulevard, Rio Grande 00745-4661, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range: $222 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between El Yunque Rainforest and a mile stretch of secluded beach, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa is Puerto Rico's most exotic beach, golf and spa resort destination. 500 magnificent acres with spectacular ocean, rainforest and lush tropical views serve as backdrops to 400 newly renovated guestrooms and suites and an exclusive renovated 48,000-sq.-ft. Oceanfront Conference Center. Located on the N.E. Ecological Corridor of Puerto Rico's shoreline, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar is a haven for fun, sun and forging memorable experiences. The new guestrooms exude traditional Puerto Rican architecture and feature thoughtful indigenous touches. The resort boasts two championship golf courses & tennis center, Mandara spa, 10 lounges and restaurants with award-winning cuisine, an exciting casino, two nature reserves and a guest experience program that encompasses the beauty and nature of its magical surroundings. And since Puerto Rico is a US Commonwealth, no passports or visas are required for US Citizens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Mar Beach Resort And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Resort
Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel Rio Grande
Wyndham Rio Grande
Rio Del Mar Puerto Rico
Rio Grande Wyndham
Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Westin Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Wyndham El Yunque National Forest
El Yunque National Forest Wyndham
Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing