We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In general, everything was excellent. Food and drinks were...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rio Grande
Ponce, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“In general, everything was excellent. Food and drinks were...”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

In general, everything was excellent. Food and drinks were on the expensive side and the phone in my room never worked even when it was changed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamEXEC, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the our resort. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had the opportunity to eat in our restaurants. In respect to the prices, please note that we conduct frequent price comparisons to ensure that we remain competitive with other resorts.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure to serve you again in the future.

Danny Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,179
    2,384
    1,376
    699
    383
See reviews for
2,467
2,347
113
690
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,319)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Rooms, clean and comfortable. Showers worked well. Air conditioning kept room nice and cold. Walls thin, can hear loud party people like they are in your room.
Casino had nice selection of games and slots. No smoking was a plus.
Pool area was nice, but main pool closed for repairs so adult pool was overrun with kids. Beach was lots of fun, but waves can be rough for young ones. Great body surfing for 10 yr olds and up. Clean beach with tiki bar right on the sand. Long stretch of beach to walk.
Restuarants were very good, but a little pricey as you would expect.
Great location to do many activities around island.
Prob won't return, but it is because we have become more accustomed to Mexico and Dominic beaches.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheeser08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamEXEC, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa! Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our resort.

We are thrilled you thoroughly enjoyed our wonderfully appointed guest rooms; spectacular tropical setting, beautiful beach, and felt at home in our little slice of paradise.

Once again, thank you and we hope you will return soon!

Warm regards,
Danny Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Told us that the kids pool not operating when we arrived. Ice machine not work in fifth floor.Fourth neighbors at 2:00 am started arguing I could not sleep at all.When I complained I was offered only change the fourth. They do not believe me ,but being in the pool they heard the discussion and they sent hotel security.They gave me no apology

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rafyhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamEXEC, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback; your willingness to share your thoughts is very much appreciated.
Please allow me the opportunity to apologize for the unavailability of the activity pool which was under renovation and is now completed as well as the noise level from neighboring guests. Our team strives to provide our guests with the best experience possible. Please feel free to reach out to me directly if you should reconsider in giving us another opportunity to make it right.

Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights while in PR with my two teenage sons. Room was musty and furniture shows wear and tear. Most dissapointing is the hallways (our room was on the 5th fl) where the neglect is really evident - stains on molding, walls, carpeting. One outside corner was crakced wide open, the apparent result of water damage and physical damage (likely from a luggage cart). While the restaurant was good and the staff were quite nice, I would not recommend this place as the rooms are not up to par for a 'resort' charging the rates they charge.

Room Tip: Perhaps paying more for an ocean view will get you a room they have updated. We had a short trip and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJL156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamEXEC, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our resort. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not what you expected. Please allow me this opportunity to apologize for not providing you with a memorable and enjoyable experience. Your observations and feedback will be addressed with our staff as we are focused, committed and dedicated to continuous improvement. We hope you will come and visit with us again.

Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
4.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
22.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
6,955 reviews
22.5 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
21.5 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
3.2 mi away
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 6000 Rio Mar Boulevard, Rio Grande 00745-4661, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between El Yunque Rainforest and a mile stretch of secluded beach, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa is Puerto Rico's most exotic beach, golf and spa resort destination. 500 magnificent acres with spectacular ocean, rainforest and lush tropical views serve as backdrops to 400 newly renovated guestrooms and suites and an exclusive renovated 48,000-sq.-ft. Oceanfront Conference Center. Located on the N.E. Ecological Corridor of Puerto Rico's shoreline, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar is a haven for fun, sun and forging memorable experiences. The new guestrooms exude traditional Puerto Rican architecture and feature thoughtful indigenous touches. The resort boasts two championship golf courses & tennis center, Mandara spa, 10 lounges and restaurants with award-winning cuisine, an exciting casino, two nature reserves and a guest experience program that encompasses the beauty and nature of its magical surroundings. And since Puerto Rico is a US Commonwealth, no passports or visas are required for US Citizens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Vacatia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Mar Beach Resort And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Resort
Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel Rio Grande
Wyndham Rio Grande
Rio Del Mar Puerto Rico
Rio Grande Wyndham
Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Westin Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Wyndham El Yunque National Forest
El Yunque National Forest Wyndham
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing