We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay again...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rio Grande
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My experience was over all good. I enjoyed the beach and the facilities of the resort. My only complaint was the food at the Marbella Restaurant. Too pricey and the food wasn't good. Better to have a dinner out of the resort.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Petra,

It’s great to know you had a good time at our resort and an honor to have you as our guest. As a team, we work to create memorable experiences for our guests. We look forward to welcome you back soon!

I would like to sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations while dining; our goal is to exceed our guest’s experience at our Resort and provide them with a marvelous meal and a wonderful time. We’ve share your comments with the F&B department and in our ongoing goal of quality improvement, we created new menus which include items that are locally grown. This gives us the opportunity to provide our guests with the freshest, best quality and flavorful ingredients. We hope you come back to our restaurants soon to enjoy the items with elegant presentations in our new menus.

Thank you so much for your review,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,969 - 3,975 of 7,250 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel is beautiful. The views of the Atlantic Ocean and the rainforest were magnificent. The staff was most helpful. We received a complimentary bottle of wine for our anniversary. This resort is excellent whether you want to just relax by the ocean or pool. It is also exciting if you want to sight see or gamble. It's a great getaway, I suggest the upper floors for the best views.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify if you want ocean view or rainforest view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Rosalie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa. We are definitely gifted to enjoy such beautiful and privileged location. I appreciate your stay in such a special occasion.

Thank you so much for your review,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Rio Mar features an expansive soft-sand beach, beautifully landscaped grounds and an attractive interior. It was quiet and peaceful when we stayed there recently, and that's what my wife and I wanted.

We did get off to a rough start as our first room smelled musty, which no doubt is why the AC was turned up so high. Our second room, facing the west and a "drying" afternoon sun, was much better. Still, it was virtually impossible to keep dry towels. Must be the tropical locale between the ocean and a rain forest.

Food and drink were too pricey. Refrigerators are not standard in the rooms, so we couldn't lay in foodstuffs and drinks requiring same.

We didn't play on either of the resort's highly touted golf courses, but we'll assume they live up to their billing. Younger clientele looking for water sports offered by the resort may be disappointed. No parasailing or scuba diving/snorkeling or sailboat rides were available from the beach, although the concierge desk could probably fix you up somewhere nearby. Beach chairs and umbrellas are complimentary.

One other constructive complaint: If you walk the beach toward the east, you'll eventually run into a great deal of trash washed ashore. We don't know if Wyndham owns the undeveloped property along that stretch of beach, but a regular cleanup would be in order!

So Wyndham can do better. Except for the staff. They were outstanding!

Room Tip: Rooms facing west seem to be "dryer".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovinlifeFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review. We are glad to hear our staff provided such friendly service during your stay. As a team, we work to create memorable experiences for our guests. We apologize for the room inconvenience; I will share your feedback with my operations teams with a strong commitment to make the needed improvements.

We look forward having the honor to serve you again in the near future!

Sincerely,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Hotel setting was lovely. Room was very nice. It was disappointing that the adult pool was closed for repairs, and there was no advance notice of this. Also, parking garage was often closed with an indication that it was full, when in reality, there was plenty of parking. The overflow parking lot was well away from the building and at times, no attendant was available to allow us to leave the parking lot.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the gift of feedback. We apologize for the Internet inconvenience, but
we already address this concern and are glad to announce that we already have free
Wi-Fi throughout the entire property, including rooms, golf courses, pool and beach.

We hope you stay with us again,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

It was a pretty good resort over all but we had some issues with our booking that started our trip off on the wrong foot. We paid for an upgraded room and not only was that not available but we were downgraded to a lower floor "garden view" which was of the parking lot. They did give every one in our party $100 resort credit which was nice since every thing there is pretty pricey! I agree with other reviewers that it is in need of an update but it's a nice enough resort for a long weekend. There is a Cuban place at the entrance of the resort drive that is awesome! Best cuban sandwich I ever had.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. As a team, we work to create memorable experiences for our guests.

Thank you for sharing your experience related to our food prices. We have themed restaurants that are priced according to what we serve there, but we also have less expensive options available for the enjoyment of our guests. ERL with its casual, family friendly atmosphere is the perfect place for a quick bite, light meal or grab and go snack and is open from 6am – 2am every day. We also have Iguana’s Pub for everything from chicken wings and nachos to Caesar salads, steaks and local food options with the pricing of any sports bar. Iguana’s Pub serves breakfast on weekends, so guests have at least three breakfast options at the Resort. I am pleased to announce that we now have all day, everyday happy hours at both the Tiki and the Lobby Bar.

Thank you so much for your review,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
4.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
21.6 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
21.2 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
20.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden at Palmas del Mar
8.6 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar

Address: 6000 Rio Mar Boulevard, Rio Grande 00745-4661, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range: $206 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between El Yunque Rainforest and a mile stretch of secluded beach, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa is Puerto Rico's most exotic beach, golf and spa resort destination. 500 magnificent acres with spectacular ocean, rainforest and lush tropical views serve as backdrops to 400 newly renovated guestrooms and suites and an exclusive renovated 48,000-sq.-ft. Oceanfront Conference Center. Located on the N.E. Ecological Corridor of Puerto Rico's shoreline, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar is a haven for fun, sun and forging memorable experiences. The new guestrooms exude traditional Puerto Rican architecture and feature thoughtful indigenous touches. The resort boasts two championship golf courses & tennis center, Mandara spa, 10 lounges and restaurants with award-winning cuisine, an exciting casino, two nature reserves and a guest experience program that encompasses the beauty and nature of its magical surroundings. And since Puerto Rico is a US Commonwealth, no passports or visas are required for US Citizens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Mar Beach Resort And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Resort
Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel Rio Grande
Wyndham Rio Grande
Rio Del Mar Puerto Rico
Rio Grande Wyndham
Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Westin Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Wyndham El Yunque National Forest
El Yunque National Forest Wyndham
Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing