We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful resort but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rio Grande
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful resort but could be better”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Rio Mar features an expansive soft-sand beach, beautifully landscaped grounds and an attractive interior. It was quiet and peaceful when we stayed there recently, and that's what my wife and I wanted.

We did get off to a rough start as our first room smelled musty, which no doubt is why the AC was turned up so high. Our second room, facing the west and a "drying" afternoon sun, was much better. Still, it was virtually impossible to keep dry towels. Must be the tropical locale between the ocean and a rain forest.

Food and drink were too pricey. Refrigerators are not standard in the rooms, so we couldn't lay in foodstuffs and drinks requiring same.

We didn't play on either of the resort's highly touted golf courses, but we'll assume they live up to their billing. Younger clientele looking for water sports offered by the resort may be disappointed. No parasailing or scuba diving/snorkeling or sailboat rides were available from the beach, although the concierge desk could probably fix you up somewhere nearby. Beach chairs and umbrellas are complimentary.

One other constructive complaint: If you walk the beach toward the east, you'll eventually run into a great deal of trash washed ashore. We don't know if Wyndham owns the undeveloped property along that stretch of beach, but a regular cleanup would be in order!

So Wyndham can do better. Except for the staff. They were outstanding!

Room Tip: Rooms facing west seem to be "dryer".
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovinlifeFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review. We are glad to hear our staff provided such friendly service during your stay. As a team, we work to create memorable experiences for our guests. We apologize for the room inconvenience; I will share your feedback with my operations teams with a strong commitment to make the needed improvements.

We look forward having the honor to serve you again in the near future!

Sincerely,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,261
    2,410
    1,400
    704
    390
See reviews for
2,545
2,384
118
698
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,346)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina, Usa
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Hotel setting was lovely. Room was very nice. It was disappointing that the adult pool was closed for repairs, and there was no advance notice of this. Also, parking garage was often closed with an indication that it was full, when in reality, there was plenty of parking. The overflow parking lot was well away from the building and at times, no attendant was available to allow us to leave the parking lot.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the gift of feedback. We apologize for the Internet inconvenience, but
we already address this concern and are glad to announce that we already have free
Wi-Fi throughout the entire property, including rooms, golf courses, pool and beach.

We hope you stay with us again,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

It was a pretty good resort over all but we had some issues with our booking that started our trip off on the wrong foot. We paid for an upgraded room and not only was that not available but we were downgraded to a lower floor "garden view" which was of the parking lot. They did give every one in our party $100 resort credit which was nice since every thing there is pretty pricey! I agree with other reviewers that it is in need of an update but it's a nice enough resort for a long weekend. There is a Cuban place at the entrance of the resort drive that is awesome! Best cuban sandwich I ever had.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. As a team, we work to create memorable experiences for our guests.

Thank you for sharing your experience related to our food prices. We have themed restaurants that are priced according to what we serve there, but we also have less expensive options available for the enjoyment of our guests. ERL with its casual, family friendly atmosphere is the perfect place for a quick bite, light meal or grab and go snack and is open from 6am – 2am every day. We also have Iguana’s Pub for everything from chicken wings and nachos to Caesar salads, steaks and local food options with the pricing of any sports bar. Iguana’s Pub serves breakfast on weekends, so guests have at least three breakfast options at the Resort. I am pleased to announce that we now have all day, everyday happy hours at both the Tiki and the Lobby Bar.

Thank you so much for your review,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We spent five nights in a beach view room. It was spacious and well maintained. The grounds are beautiful and the beach was very clean. There were plenty of chairs and umbrellas available on the beach and at the pool. (The Wyndham has recently purchased and will be closing it for awhile to update and remodel. Think that will happen this fall.) We ate several of our meals at the resort. The oriental restaurant had very good choices and we enjoyed our meal. We ate several of our meals at the Marabella. We don't gamble, but did put a few dollars in the slot machine and were rewarded with about $140.00--dumb luck! There is a nice gift shop for incidentals, but items are pricey. Enterprise has a booth in the lobby. I reserved on line so paper work was already completed. There is a $15.00 parking fee. The resort gives you credit for one night's parking if you reserve from Enterprise. The covered parking does fill up quickly so we did have to park in the open lot further from the building, but it was really not big of a deal.

We enjoy getting away from the resort. The activity desk gave us suggestions and provided instructions about how to get there. We had our own GPS, but you can rent one with the car. I would suggest that you do this. We had wonderful maps and directions, but the GPS was a must!!! Trust me!!!

We were very satisfied. We took advantage of some good deals available through our travel agent. You must also realize that the rainy season is coming. In fact, we got rained on several times, but then the rest of the day was great. Take your raincoat, umbrellas, and mosquito spray. Go for a relaxing, good time.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the beach view. The beach front would be great as well, but we were satisfied with our a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jabdab_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa. I am delighted to host your trip to Puerto Rico. I'm glad your encounter with the property was very positive. We look forward to host you again in the near future!

Thank you so much for your review,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
22.5 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
4.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
18.0 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,231 reviews
21.2 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
21.5 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort

Property: Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
Address: 6000 Rio Mar Boulevard, Rio Grande 00745-4661, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between El Yunque Rainforest and a mile stretch of secluded beach, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa is Puerto Rico's most exotic beach, golf and spa resort destination. 500 magnificent acres with spectacular ocean, rainforest and lush tropical views serve as backdrops to 400 newly renovated guestrooms and suites and an exclusive renovated 48,000-sq.-ft. Oceanfront Conference Center. Located on the N.E. Ecological Corridor of Puerto Rico's shoreline, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar is a haven for fun, sun and forging memorable experiences. The new guestrooms exude traditional Puerto Rican architecture and feature thoughtful indigenous touches. The resort boasts two championship golf courses & tennis center, Mandara spa, 10 lounges and restaurants with award-winning cuisine, an exciting casino, two nature reserves and a guest experience program that encompasses the beauty and nature of its magical surroundings. And since Puerto Rico is a US Commonwealth, no passports or visas are required for US Citizens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Mar Beach Resort And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Resort
Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel Rio Grande
Wyndham Rio Grande
Rio Del Mar Puerto Rico
Rio Grande Wyndham
Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Westin Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Wyndham El Yunque National Forest
El Yunque National Forest Wyndham
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing