We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Serious Overhaul”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rio Grande
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My wife and I are currently staying at the Rio mar for a couple days. The grounds are ok and lobby is starting to show its age. As soon as we stepped into elevator, dust everywhere and looks like the metal has not been polished in awhile. Our floor look worn out and the carpet in the hallway smelled musty and again worn and discolored. The room: dust, dust, dust. the curtains looked like they have not been cleaned or changed since they opened. Carpet dirty. Woke up this morning sneezing like crazy. We are going to let front desk know to have room cleaned and vac. since it looks like it has not been. Lucky we are only here for 2 more days. Whoever the housekeeping Mgr. is, needs to look at the work being done as well as maint. mgr. invest in tiled floors vs. carpeting in rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dr214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamEXEC, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our resort. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short in our deliverance of housekeeping service during your stay with us. Your observations and feedback are appreciated and being addressed with our staff as we are committed to continuous improvement.

We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope you will visit with us again.

Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,042 - 4,048 of 7,253 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2013

Overall experience was good. Would recommend to family and friends. Good for tourists and families with children.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Darlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Darlene,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed our beautiful beachfront location
during your stay on this special occasion. As a team, we work to create memorable
experiences for our guests.

We look forward to your next visit,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

enjoyed our 3 nites in April, 2013. Friendly staff, manicured grounds, nice secluded beach, well appointed rooms and close to Fajardo bioluminscent and ferry, Luquillo food kiosks along Rt 3, El Yunque rainforest and Old San Juan. As much as we like to explore and try all options, we will have a hard time coming to PR and staying anywhere else. We did stay one night in Isla Verde, San Juan. San Juan was fine for a day, but Isla Verde was too crowded, too much like a city location for our tastes.

We only had breakfast at the resort, travelled out for other meals, to save money and sample the local flavor.

Room Tip: you'll need to be on floor 6 or 7 to really see the ocean over the palms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 41081Hml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the attractions nearby. As a team, we work to create memorable experiences for our guests.

We look forward to your next visit,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank Dunia M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The property looks beautiful. But to get to the property it is difficult. I car rental places give vague directions, There is little signage until you get very close to the property. The cleaniness of the hallways is poor. The rooms are very nosiy. The beds are below every other hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank Nikolai M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Nikolai,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our beautiful beachfront
location. We apologize that the rooms were not what you expected. Rest assure we are
working to make your future stay more comfortable and pleasant.

We look forward to your next visit,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank Amarilys H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
8.6 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
1,000 reviews
4.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
21.5 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
79.9 mi away
Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa
17.8 mi away
InterContinental San Juan
InterContinental San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
2,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort

Address: 6000 Rio Mar Boulevard, Rio Grande 00745-4661, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range: $193 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between El Yunque Rainforest and a mile stretch of secluded beach, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa is Puerto Rico's most exotic beach, golf and spa resort destination. 500 magnificent acres with spectacular ocean, rainforest and lush tropical views serve as backdrops to 400 newly renovated guestrooms and suites and an exclusive renovated 48,000-sq.-ft. Oceanfront Conference Center. Located on the N.E. Ecological Corridor of Puerto Rico's shoreline, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar is a haven for fun, sun and forging memorable experiences. The new guestrooms exude traditional Puerto Rican architecture and feature thoughtful indigenous touches. The resort boasts two championship golf courses & tennis center, Mandara spa, 10 lounges and restaurants with award-winning cuisine, an exciting casino, two nature reserves and a guest experience program that encompasses the beauty and nature of its magical surroundings. And since Puerto Rico is a US Commonwealth, no passports or visas are required for US Citizens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Mar Beach Resort And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Resort
Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel Rio Grande
Wyndham Rio Grande
Rio Del Mar Puerto Rico
Rio Grande Wyndham
Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Westin Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Wyndham El Yunque National Forest
El Yunque National Forest Wyndham
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing