We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rio Grande
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I have to admit that after reading some if the reviews we were a bit leery about this trip. But as a somewhat seasoned traveler, I feel comfortable giving this place high marks. As I write this, I am enjoying breakfast on the balcony looking out at a breathtaking view....ocean view to the east, rainforest to the west. Since arriving 4 days ago, we have encountered friendly staff and well-maintained facilities. We are checking out today, and our final tab shows no extra charges, everything is correct. We liked the location being between San Juan and Fajardo, and a stone's throw to El Yunque. We had an interesting evening out on Bio Bay on an electric boat with Baby Bay Tours. Then yesterday we toured Old San Juan. The only downsides for us was the fact that the resort food is pricey, and we would have liked some evening entertainment or live music playing somewhere. I guess we've been spoiled by cruises and all-inclusives. Also a quick thumbs up to El Racar restaurant in Fajardo, and Richie's Restaurant right here close to Rio Mar.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaimai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our goal as a team is to create memorable experiences for our guests.

Thank you for the gift of feedback. We look forward to your next visit!


Warm regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,214 - 4,220 of 7,269 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

I went here for a honeymoon in 2010. My husband and I loved it! They quickly gave me another room when I dissatisfied with my window view and beach smelling bathroom. Every about this hotel is great except, the food. I was expecting authentic Latin food to be served in such a beautiful hotel but I was sadly mistaken. Our trip was cut short by a hurricane unfortunately.i would recommend this hotel everyone that visits Pureto Rico. Two thumbs up!!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us as your vacation destination. We are so delighted you enjoyed your 3 years ago experience. I would like to sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations while dining; our goal is to exceed our guest’s experience at our Resort and provide them with a marvelous meal and a wonderful time. We have share your comments with the F&B department and in our ongoing goal of quality improvement, we created new menus which include items that are locally grown. This gives us the opportunity to provide our guests with the freshest, best quality and flavorful ingredients. We hope you come back to our restaurants soon to enjoy the items with elegant presentations in our new menus.

Hope you stay with us again,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Lovely to get away and enjoy some gorgeous warm weather with a sandy beach and tiki bar. HOWEVER, after paying so much for the room, we were a bit annoyed to be charged to park the car, to pay daily internet charges (VERY SLOW internet), and to find the staff friendly but not overly eager to accommodate. The food was mediocre (and expensive) but the location of the hotel means it's easy to get food from outside, if you do your research and know where to go. And El Yunque had some beautiful areas to explore!

Room Tip: The ocean view from the top floor was great--but the design of the hotel means you can ALSO see into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicole237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We apologize for your disappointment and will review your comments with the appropriate departments to make the necessary improvements. Thank you for the gift of feedback. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed at the Rio Mar for 7 nights during the last week of March and we would absolutely return!! Don’t believe all of the negative reviews – if you are booked here rest assured you will have a nice time. However, if you stay at this hotel repeat these words to yourself “I WILL RENT A CAR, repeat, I WILL RENT A CAR!!” I really believe this is what made the difference in our vacation. We had the freedom to come and go as we pleased and were able to sightsee on our own without having to sign up for tours – which are crowded and very expensive. Rent a car, it is very easy to drive in PR, we did the self parking and never had any issues with the garage. We spoke to several other guest at the hotel who were forced to sign up for tours b/c they didn’t have a car – and all of them said they wish they had rented at the airport. There is an Enterprise on sight, but if you go during a busy time chances are they will be sold out. There are good grocery stores 3 miles in either direction of this hotel – go and stock up on fruit, snacks, beer/wine, water….whatever you think you’ll want/need. We had a room on the 3rd floor, ocean front – the view was great. We arrived on a Monday about 4pm and there two employees checking people into the hotel – we waited about 3 seconds to be helped. The front desk was extremely pleasant, we asked for a higher floor, but no rooms with 2 queens where available (we are a family of 4). So to compensate us, they gave us an in room fridge free of charge for the entire week. As stated in other posts the rooms are very average and yes, there are small cosmetic issues here and there – didn’t bother us one bit. But I found the hotel and housekeeping to be very very clean. Our room was spotless every day and I feel like I’m fairly particular when it comes to cleanliness….I was very pleased with housekeeping. Never had any problem with water pressure. The hotel was full to capacity the week we were there, just before Easter, yet we never had a problem finding space at the pool. There are plenty of chairs and umbrellas available on the beach – we had 4 days of calm water and 2 days of rough water. The prices for food at the hotel are expensive – particularly the coffee shop next to the hotel. We knew that we’d eat mostly off site for many of our meals. We did order a few food items from the Tiki bar which is next to the pool/beach. Burgers, chicken stripes, etc. We found the prices to be reasonable here and the food was decent. They do offer $5 happy hour drinks everyday – but outside of that, drinks are expensive. Other than the Tiki bar, we did not eat at the hotel. PR has so many great restaurants and the hotel is very close to the kiosks that we knew we’d eat off site. We found this location to be perfect for us – central. 30 minutes to OSJ (sightseeing), 5 minutes to the rainforest (hiking), 20 minutes to Fajardo (biobay and snorkeling tours). The hotel offered fun stuff for my kids to do, they are 8 and 10. I gave this hotel a 4 star rating b/c I felt like it would be misleading to give it 5 stars based on standard room accommodations. This isn’t the Ritz – so don’t expect it. But I would rate everything else 5 stars…the grounds are stunning, the pool is large, the beach is very clean, every employee we encountered were great and the location was perfect for us. We had a GREAT time at the Rio, but repeat these words “I WILL RENT A CAR!” Have a great time in PR, we truly enjoyed the island.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay. We are pleased that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay and nearby attractions. Here is a tip for your next visit: Rio Mar has a Water Sports Hut located at the beach which offers a variety of motorized and non-motorized rental equipment. Also, each day at our resort offers a variety of enjoyable, complimentary activities like; beach volleyball, float races, basketball, bingo, merengue lessons, water aerobics, nature walks, fitness walks, yoga and much more! For more information, please visit http://www.wyndhamriomar.com/recreation/beach_sports.html or, if you are already at the property, go to our Concierge Desk.

We look forward to your next visit!

Regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We spend 3 nights and it was an overall good experience. The place is beautiful and everything is really close (the beach, pool, restaurants).

We got a garden view room and the view was excellent! You could see the rain forest from the balcony an it was beautiful. The room was outdated but it was ok. The tv had interference and the picture was not clear. It was also blocked so you could not connect your camera or any other device. This I think its a hassle if you have kids.

The service was bad. You had to wait a lot for the front desk attendant to assist you because they were really slow. They were not enough waiters pool side and you had to wait a lot for your order. If you ordered drinks it was another story because that was fast.

Other thing that bother me a lot it was the adult pool. They had a medium size pool that no one used. The people there were getting a tan and reading cheap novels and maybe two persons were in the water at any given time. What bothers me is that it was a private place off limits to guest that like me had kids. My kid is two years old and he approached the pool and he was seen like an outsider. People at the pool was giving us the look. Like saying "you need to get out and take your son with you". It was not friendly and it really bother me that the resort feel the need to accommodate all those fat cats. It was the only thing that is making me not wanting to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andyanthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay. We are
pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We do apologize however, regarding your
disappointment with various service issues. This is certainly not indicative of an
uncompromising experience and we have taken the liberty of sharing your comments
with the appropriate departments.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon, so that we may treat you to a flawless vacation experience next time.

Thank you for the gift of feedback, and the opportunity to respond to your concerns.

Warmest regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights and we tremendously enjoyed it! The property it sits on is huge! Golf and tennis, but we loved the resort, pools, beach and the restaurants!
Iguana feeding - go check it out, they have a "preserve" which cares for these reptiles! You can feed and pet it!
Pool - a simple water slide with an adult pool that helps when you want to take a breather from the noise! Two hot tubs, cabanas for rent, tiki bar. Beach is right there and you can walk out to it. Waves are stronger though but explore it bec on the far side of the property you can walk / wade to a sand bar and get you to the mouth of a river!
Restaurant- the hotel has a cafe which is the most affordable- but wait is long do plan on standing there for a while. Don't go if you're in a hurry! Pricey but the only quick food ( explore outside the hotel for food - ask concierge to help) we chose to stay in and ate at Palio semi formal but amazing taste! We ordered from the appetizer menu and it filled us up! Petite osso bucco and the tomato and mozzarella ! Tiramisu!
Probably the most affordable resort in the area if you're going to splurge. Very close to El Yunque forest!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLAbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our goal as a team is to create memorable experiences for our guests. Thank you for the gift of feedback. We look forward to your next visit!


Warm regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spent four days at Rio Mar and had a great time. It was a great location for excursions. Only ten minutes from the rainforest! We had a rental car so it was easy to get around (self parking was $15). The resort was beautiful and clean. Everyone we encountered at the resort was very nice and helpful. The beach was clean and never very crowded - and we were there during spring break. Food was a little pricey, but not more than a high end hotel in Chicago. We got the breakfast package, so that helped a lot. We filled up in the morning and ended up eating only one other meal a day. The only improvements needed are the slow service at Iguana's restaurant (but it could have been an off night) and the noise in the rooms. You can hear pretty much everything going on in the hallways and in the next room-nothing earplugs can't fix. Other than that, it was a perfect vacation. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Karen,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and it gives us tremendous pleasure that our dedicated staff made you feel so welcome. We look forward to your future stay with us!

Kind regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
4.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
21.6 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
8.6 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
17.8 mi away
InterContinental San Juan
InterContinental San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
2,798 reviews
79.9 mi away
Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort

Address: 6000 Rio Mar Boulevard, Rio Grande 00745-4661, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range: $215 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between El Yunque Rainforest and a mile stretch of secluded beach, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa is Puerto Rico's most exotic beach, golf and spa resort destination. 500 magnificent acres with spectacular ocean, rainforest and lush tropical views serve as backdrops to 400 newly renovated guestrooms and suites and an exclusive renovated 48,000-sq.-ft. Oceanfront Conference Center. Located on the N.E. Ecological Corridor of Puerto Rico's shoreline, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar is a haven for fun, sun and forging memorable experiences. The new guestrooms exude traditional Puerto Rican architecture and feature thoughtful indigenous touches. The resort boasts two championship golf courses & tennis center, Mandara spa, 10 lounges and restaurants with award-winning cuisine, an exciting casino, two nature reserves and a guest experience program that encompasses the beauty and nature of its magical surroundings. And since Puerto Rico is a US Commonwealth, no passports or visas are required for US Citizens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Mar Beach Resort And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Resort
Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel Rio Grande
Wyndham Rio Grande
Rio Del Mar Puerto Rico
Rio Grande Wyndham
Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Westin Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Wyndham El Yunque National Forest
El Yunque National Forest Wyndham
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing