We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable break but pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rio Grande
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We went through a CheapCaribbean package that worked out well for us - 3 days and 4 nights. Resort is in a beautiful location about 45 minutes from San Juan. It is across from the rain forest and 30 minutes from the bioluminescence bay. Overall, we enjoyed our trip.

We ate at the hotel restaurants. The only one we would recommend is the sushi restaurant. The breakfast buffet was a bit lacking in quality, but had lots of options. The Estancia - the Argentinian steakhouse was a disaster for us - not recommended for the staff or the food. We had an unbelievably great dinner and lunch at the Richie Restaurant just outside the hotel complex – there is a shuttle – highly recommend. The Red Snapper stuffed with shrimp, lobster and calamari was superb and the staff were amazing.

While everything was nice, the high cost of food and drink at the resort( i know resort prices are high but really.. $7/beer- 10oz or $10 for wine or drinks (small glass with short pours)) for average quality was a bit disappointing. The room service was ok - it was 4pm before they made up our room for the day on the days we stayed there, but on check out day they were at our door at 10am. As to the resorts 2 pools and beach – we would recommend (fyi pools close at 9pm). There were always enough chairs and towels. So, while there are a few picky things here, our trip was very nice.

Just make sure to rent a car even though it is $20/day to park, so you don’t get stuck - we spent a half day in old San Juan and that was enough and we enjoyed going on the bio kayak trip ($55-65 if you drive yourself or $95 if need transport). Driving was easy in PR and the beach time was just lovely. We both agreed we could go back, but we would plan to eat off-site.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first or second floor unless you want people walking by and being able to look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyMDGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our goal as a team is to create memorable experiences for our guests. Thank you for the gift of feedback. We look forward to your next visit!


Warm regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,395 - 4,401 of 7,252 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

It was our first trip to Puerto Rico and our travel agent recommended this resort. The photos on the internet looked too good to be true but they were spot on. A beautiful resort -- great pools, beach, restaurants and amenities. Really close to El Yunque rainforest, which was a great guided hike. Has that "remote, rural" feel since you're not in San Juan, even though you're only 40 minutes away. Thought the food was mostly reasonably priced, but the drinks are expensive -- $11 each for the frozen drinks. Neat to see the iguanas. Our 8 year old daughter loved it, as did we. We enjoyed five wonderful days.

Room Tip: Avoid the far east side (pool area) if you want more peace and quiet. Sixth and seventh floors are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TALarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our goal as a team is to create memorable experiences for our guests. Thank you for the gift of feedback. We look forward to your next visit!


Warm regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

If you like that all-inclusive beach resort where all you need to do is throw back rum drinks and someone else is paying for it, the Rio Mar is for you. Don't get me wrong. Beautiful grounds and a staff that is friendly and means to serve, but it was a really mixed experience for me. The hotel is 15 miles outside of San Juan. New highway isn't on the Garmin. Neither were the road changes around the airport. The rooms are ample, clean and nicely furnished. Tech required IT assistance b/c the cables were worn out - but friendly, personable and competent. Noise is a huge problem if you stay in the west wing near the casino. The torch singer finished her set just after midnight Saturday. I could hear her clearly despite the foam earplugs. Doors are heavy and fire rated and slam shut explosively. It is not (at all) an exaggeration to say I could hear the folks next door use the facilities - and I knew them (creepy). Arrangements also include daily tips for the maid and bellman. They are added automatically to your bill. The maid i understand. BTW tips are taxed in PR so you support both the local and regional economy simultaneously - how efficient. Food was crazy-expensive. Our fixed-price dinner that started out at $32 was finally billed at $85/person. 18% gratuity is added to everything - no exceptions. So, lovely, friendly, but if you choose this facility do so eyes-open.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the inconveniences, we will review your comments with the appropriate departments to make the necessary improvements.

Thank you for sharing your experience related to our food prices. We have themed restaurants that are priced according to what we serve there, but we also have less expensive options available for the enjoyment of our guests. ERL with its casual, family friendly atmosphere is the perfect place for a quick bite, light meal or grab and go snack and is open from 6am – 2am every day. We also have Iguana’s Pub for everything from chicken wings and nachos to Caesar salads, steaks and local food options with the pricing of any sports bar. Iguana’s Pub serves breakfast on weekends, so guests have at least three breakfast options at the Resort. I am pleased to announce that we now have all day, everyday happy hours at both the Tiki and the Lobby Bar. Also, most recently we launched our Savory Savings where we offer different promotions on every day of the week. Such as Wine Wednesdays offering 50% OFF wine bottles in all our restaurants, Shimas Tuesday offering ½ priced Sushi & Sake, Early Bird Special from 6pm-7pm offering 3 course prix fixe menu at Palio, and Iguanas Pub Crazy Wednesday offering 20% off all food for lunch and dinner. These are just a few of the most recent initiatives we have put in place with our guest in mind and hopefully help show the value we offer to our valued guest.

Thank you for the gift of feedback. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We JUST returned from a week at this property.

We checked in last Sunday very late. The desk person told us our Expedia booked reservation asked for 2 queen beds (i had the reservation in my hand and it clearly indicated king bed) and she then said, we really dont like dealing with Expedia reservations. (funny considering that without Expedia, we would never have found the hotel)

She then offered us an "upgrade" to a king and the first room shown us smelled of mildew BUT it had an "ocean" view, wow. The second room was 2 queen beds and the bathtub was badly peeling. My wife was somewhat upset (crying) and i went back to the desk. THEN we were offered a very nice room facing the ocean with a very large balcony. THIS room was never meant to be a bedroom, it was a living room between 2 adjoining bedrooms in a suite. Lets analyze this, NO headboard, no outlets in the bathroom which only had a stall shower, outlets in the room all needed to be tightened ( the engineering person said the maids always rip out their vacuum and loosen the plugs) understandeable but why was it my job to tell them, why didnt THEY check the room out?

Watch out for the sugar ants, they destroyed a very expensive box of dark chocolates wrapped in a plastic bag but not sealed...

The carpetting needs a major overhaul and the place needs an investment to upgrade the infrastructure itself. Too many things, "NOT WORKING"

The grounds are magnificent, the people that work at this property COULD NOT BE NICER...everyone was very helpful. This would indicate that Wyndham treats everyone great, good sign!!!

Food on premise is mostly fried and inconsistent. we went to a top restaurant and the first night GREAT and the second night, we walked out after the appetizers were served cold. We were told the regular chef was off...do you get a discount when the chef isnt working?

The object of this hotel seems to be that it must be a very inexpensive venue for conference/conventions and it is also a way to get people to buy Wyndham timeshares ( they were constantly pushing them with breakfasts etc) BUT at least give someone a round of golf for spending 90 minutes of vacation time to listen.

Suggestions for this hotel since they do read our comments;

See my notes above
Put out a daily newsletter with events and put it under the guests doors each day
Add a breakfast location rather than just the ONE place or waiting on a 30 minute line to get a bagel and coffee

Room Tip: check out the room before you accept it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank APrefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We apologize for your disappointment and will review your comments with the appropriate departments to make the necessary improvements. Thank you for the gift of feedback. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here for five nights for a conference. Service at checkin, checkout and from valet was excellent. The grounds are beautiful and the resort is convenient to the rain forest. Be aware that if you do not have a car you will be stuck eating only at this resort. There is no where else to go within walking distance. The food and drinks here are pricey. An entree at the "sports bar" still costs $25. Dinner at the sports bar was average. Dinner at the sushi restaurant was very good. Wanted to try the tiki bar but it closed early at night. Rooms are spacious and beds are comfortable. Be aware that there is no carpeting, just tile in the rooms. The conference area was nice. Conference food was average to below average.

Room Tip: Worth the extra money for a view of the beach. Our view looked over a tar roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jwillstp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our goal as a team is to create memorable experiences for our guests. Thank you for the gift of feedback. We look forward to your next visit!


Warm regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
4.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
8.6 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
1,001 reviews
21.5 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
79.9 mi away
Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa
62.7 mi away
Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort

Address: 6000 Rio Mar Boulevard, Rio Grande 00745-4661, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range: $192 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between El Yunque Rainforest and a mile stretch of secluded beach, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa is Puerto Rico's most exotic beach, golf and spa resort destination. 500 magnificent acres with spectacular ocean, rainforest and lush tropical views serve as backdrops to 400 newly renovated guestrooms and suites and an exclusive renovated 48,000-sq.-ft. Oceanfront Conference Center. Located on the N.E. Ecological Corridor of Puerto Rico's shoreline, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar is a haven for fun, sun and forging memorable experiences. The new guestrooms exude traditional Puerto Rican architecture and feature thoughtful indigenous touches. The resort boasts two championship golf courses & tennis center, Mandara spa, 10 lounges and restaurants with award-winning cuisine, an exciting casino, two nature reserves and a guest experience program that encompasses the beauty and nature of its magical surroundings. And since Puerto Rico is a US Commonwealth, no passports or visas are required for US Citizens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Mar Beach Resort And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Resort
Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel Rio Grande
Wyndham Rio Grande
Rio Del Mar Puerto Rico
Rio Grande Wyndham
Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Westin Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Wyndham El Yunque National Forest
El Yunque National Forest Wyndham
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing