We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Rio Grande
Write a Review

6,958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,143
    2,368
    1,371
    698
    378
See reviews for
2,439
2,329
110
685
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The Rio was not the best spot to stay in. Had a lot of cons and really little pros. First it's really far from everywhere so you do need a rental car if not the trip can turn way more expensive than you probably expected. Second the dinning is TERRIBLE me and my wife went to eat at the Italian restaurant and they would not let me in with a HAT I spoke to the manager and he was really rude and unapropriate. Third the food is really expensive and so are the cocktails. Fourth the casino only has 2 black jack tables open at a time max so expect to wait a little while before sitting on the table. The only good things are the rooms were clean and the view was beautiful from our room. Which we payed extra to get a beach view.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vegasgeorgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We apologize for your disappointment and will review your comments with the appropriate departments to make the necessary improvements. Thank you for the gift of feedback. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Let me start by saying I traveled here in October 2010. This was our first time in PR and we wanted to stay somewhere secluded but close to San Juan. The Rio Mar was perfect!
We rented a car & stopped @ Walmart just a few miles from the resort to pick up some bottled water and a few snacks. When we arrived at the resort they upgraded us to a suite with an ocean view! It was beautiful! There was a mini fridge which did help with costs since bottled water was $3. The resort was huge and the grounds were perfectly manicured. We spent most of our time at the private beach, but there was 2 pools and a huge waterside for the kiddies. We ate lunch at the Tiki Bar while we sunbathed. The burgers were good and the mojitos were small. The rain forest is a 6 min drive from the resort. Great for hiking and checking out the waterfalls and wildlife. The ride to el yunque was an adventure! We saw the barrios and lots of locals. The sights were breathtaking. The next day we traveled to Olde San Juan for breakfast and sightseeing. There was lots of traffic,so leave early or it'll take you an hour during rush hour. We ate at Shimas in the resort twice for dinner. The food was amazing! The banana tempura was delicious, especially @ midnight on the beach with the hubby. The jacuzzi was open late & we were alone for hours. The best part of our trip was the charter boat to Culebra. The hotel arraigned the catamaran for us for $99 each person. We had unlimited piña coladas and daiquiris while we snorkeled in crystal blue water with larger than life coral. The next night we kayaked through the BioBay. The week we spent there was the best vacation we ever took. Rio Mar you will always have a special place in my heart !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phillyshopgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our goal as a team is to create memorable experiences for our guests. Thank you for the gift of feedback. We look forward to your next visit!


Warm regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

To begging with the negatives, you need a car if you are going to stay at this resort, it is quite far from most locations, so expect to to drive everywhere. Parking is at least $15.00 a night and their are also sort fees, so be prepared for both additional fees when you receive your bill. The next negatives about this resort is dinning. The only options we could find is formal and expensive dinner dining. If you want a drink and a sandwich or an appetizer, you will not find it at this resort. Go down to Don Pepe, great place for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and they have great prices on drinks--and very good mojitos !!!Also a bar with live entertainment or some type of entertainment would be a nice touch as well, that was not available, while we where staying. My last negative is the gym. It is extremely small, the equipment was nice, but they only cleaned the console portions of the cardio equipment, the portions where you run on was filthy, on all of the machines, and a number of the elliptical machines squeaked- clanged and banged. The gym was too small for the size of the resort.
The positives- Beautiful location, mountains, the beach, and golf course, very very beautiful setting !! Excellent staff !! Everyone was so helpful, nice and professional , love resorts where employees are treated well - they treat there guests well !! The resort is nice without being too prestige. You walk outside to a beautiful fountain area, to beautiful pools, with a wonderful adults only pool !! -- it was raining and cold when we visited, so we did not get into the pools. The beach was beautiful, again too chilly to jump in, and the beach bar was great !!
The room was good sized with great sheets and mattress, great water pressure in the bathroom and loved the toiletries in the bathrooms, great items !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank basildogpuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our goal as a team is to create memorable experiences for our guests. Thank you for the gift of feedback. We look forward to your next visit!


Warm regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I left the kids at home and went on vacation! This was our "Babymoon" before our 3rd child. I booked the trip through Costco Travel and we really enjoyed the trip. Our room was clean, comfortable, and quiet with a pretty view of the ocean. It wasn't that much more to get the view and I'm glad I did it. Weather was beautiful the week we were there, but the wind kept the ocean waves pretty high. Not a lot of people in the ocean. We were there for 5 nights and only left the property one day. Here are some of the things we liked and some things that could be improved.

We liked:
*Beautiful property. Close to the rain forest too which was fun to visit.
*Soft sand on the beach. Pretty beach.
*Friendly staff. Never had a rude waiter or anything like that. All very helpful. When I was unexpectedly told I couldn't do the bio-luminescent kayak excursion (not hotel's excursion company), they helped us find a walking tour of the lagoon/lighthouse which turned out to be pretty darn cool! I was delighted I still got to see the bio-luminescent water.
*Nice pools that were not overcrowded. Pool just for adults. Got a chair every time!
*Not overrun with kids. I have kids and like kids, but we were there for grown up time and this worked for us.
*The food was good. Did not get any food poisoning or anything like that. We only ate there.
*Workout center was decent. It's in the basement so no windows, but the televisions on the treadmills were good for passing the time and they had several more machines and some weights.

Things that could be better:
*Get the black birds OUT of the Marbella restaurant! There were a few in there and it is really gross to see them pooping in food areas.
*Make the restaurant times more clear. We showed up at 10:30 for a very late dinner and were told it was closed. Our flyer said 11PM was the closing time.
*Hot water was 95% dependable, but that other 5% was pretty chilly.
*The front desk almost always seems to have a wait. This wasn't overly problematic for us, but I think the other reviews that cite this as a problem might be accurate.

Other tips:
*You can drink the water in Puerto Rico and if you want to avoid spending lots of money, avoid the resort's bottled water as it's very expensive ($7 for a large bottle). I had no problems. I'm pregnant too.
*Excursions tend to be expensive so car rental is worth checking out to go some places on your own. Be warned though that Puerto Rico lacks road signs. It's pretty tough to get around without very good directions. Arrive in the daylight if you are not getting a transfer from the airport to the hotel.
*My Verizon smart phone worked there just fine except no data access. I used the lobby wi-fi which was not ideal (or secure), but acceptable.
*Food tends to be pricey. It was good, but plan on spending around $20/person for each meal. That would be a bare minimum at dinner. We had a good brunch and dinner and that helped keep it reasonable. We also followed the specials that the hotel posted.
*We had a food/beverage credit for $100 from Costco. It was not applied. However, when I called and spoke to someone, it was handled promptly.
*If you want to watch your movies, you will need to bring a portable DVD player and connect it to the TV. You can rent movies via the hotel, but they were pricey in my opinion.
*We arrived on a Monday and left on a Saturday. We noticed service was much faster during the week than on the weekend. It wasn't bad on the weekend, but the staff was less stressed during the week with thinner crowds.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our goal as a team is to create memorable experiences for our guests. Thank you for the gift of feedback. We look forward to your next visit!


Warm regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brookfield, wi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I was here on business from Feb 1 thru Feb 3. Resort is beautiful and room was very nice. I had a view of rain forest and the sound of the frogs was wonderful at night. The only complaint I have is that the cost to eat in the restaurants at this resort was EXTREME. My suggestion to anyone that stays here is to rent a car during your stay and go to outside restaurants where the food is much cheaper and is much tastier than what they serve at the resort. I can't even imagine how much it would cost a family of 4 to stay and eat at this resort for an extednded period of time. 42.00 each person for the buffett dinner and the choices are limited...

Room Tip: The view of the beach is beautiful but if you enjoy the sounds of nature the rain forrest room is wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pajama-grandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our goal as a team is to create memorable experiences for our guests. Thank you for the gift of feedback. We look forward to your next visit!


Warm regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
22.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,878 reviews
4.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
17.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
20.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden at Palmas del Mar
8.6 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 6000 Rio Mar Boulevard, Rio Grande 00745-4661, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between El Yunque Rainforest and a mile stretch of secluded beach, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa is Puerto Rico's most exotic beach, golf and spa resort destination. 500 magnificent acres with spectacular ocean, rainforest and lush tropical views serve as backdrops to 400 newly renovated guestrooms and suites and an exclusive renovated 48,000-sq.-ft. Oceanfront Conference Center. Located on the N.E. Ecological Corridor of Puerto Rico's shoreline, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar is a haven for fun, sun and forging memorable experiences. The new guestrooms exude traditional Puerto Rican architecture and feature thoughtful indigenous touches. The resort boasts two championship golf courses & tennis center, Mandara spa, 10 lounges and restaurants with award-winning cuisine, an exciting casino, two nature reserves and a guest experience program that encompasses the beauty and nature of its magical surroundings. And since Puerto Rico is a US Commonwealth, no passports or visas are required for US Citizens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel Rio Grande
Rio Mar Beach Resort And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Resort
Wyndham Rio Grande
Rio Del Mar Puerto Rico
Rio Grande Wyndham
Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Westin Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Wyndham El Yunque National Forest
El Yunque National Forest Wyndham
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing