We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay (Golf & Spa Package)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Rio Grande
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
169 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nice Stay (Golf & Spa Package)”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Purchased the golf and spa package that included breakfast. The value of our package was great. The golf courses were solid. We liked the river course better than the ocean. To be honest, only two holes come close to the ocean. I was very impressed with the food. We could have dined at the Italian restaurant every night. For lunch we had salads at the Tiki Bar and Country Club, quite good. The spa itself is average but the Balinese massage was amazing. The rooms were average and the walls are paper thin so bring ear plugs. The beach is top notch. Overall a very nice 4 night trip.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rabs22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our goal as a team is to create memorable experiences for our guests. Thank you for the gift of feedback. We look forward to your next visit!


Warm regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,173
    2,384
    1,376
    699
    383
See reviews for
2,465
2,347
113
688
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Me and my fiancee stayed at this hotel for 10 days and were very impressed by the whole resort including the hotel, location, the pool & beach and the staff. Everything was perfect and I could not have asked for anything more, right from the very first day when our room was upgraded to an ocean suite to the very last day. My fiancee had organized a surprise marriage proposal for me on the hotel grounds near the beach with the help of the hotel staff and thanks to them it turned out to be such a special moment that we will cherish forever. Everyone were very helpful and welcoming and the hotel itself is amazing!!! Also food at one of the hotel’s restaurants ‘Palio’ was the best I had ever tasted!!! Overall it was an amazing and a very relaxed stay and we will definitely be coming back here again, absolutely loved it!!!

Room Tip: Ocean Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our goal as a team is to create memorable experiences for our guests. Thank you for the gift of feedback. We look forward to your next visit!


Warm regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

After looking on-line and reading lots of conflicting reviews about several options, we chose the Rio Mar based on recommendation from friends who had lived in PR. We had a great time - enjoyed the resort and went on two excursions. The resort is only about 45 minutes drive from the airport - but feels like you are in the middle of nowhere.

The beach is beautiful and although not owned by the property - is virtually a private beach as access to it is difficult if you are not staying at the Rio Mar. We had sun and 80 plus degree weather everyday.

The two excursions we booked at the hotel were the ATV 'tour' of the El Yunque rain forest and the Bio-luminescent Bay over on Viaques island. Both were very unique experiences and my husband and I really enjoyed them. The ATV tour is really 'next' to the rain forest as the park allows only hiking. We did our tour on a morning when it rained - and we highly recommend going in the rain/mud - it was a blast. The Bio Bay tour was really cool - once you get to the Bay - just be prepared for an interesting but fun journey to get there.

On Friday night we ate in the main restaurant and saw a flamenco show - which was brief - three numbers - but the band and dancer were awesome!

The outside spaces were immaculate - the beach, adult pool and tiki bar were our favorite spots.

All the staff we met were friendly and helpful.

We experienced one issue with our room key that took about 20 minutes to resolve - something to do with the electronic card system that day as there were a few people with the same issue.

Also our room was nice but could have used a coat of paint and one or two of the light fixtures replaced (the type of wear and tear we expected for a tropical environment) but otherwise was clean and a great view of the ocean. We paid for 'ocean front' and it was - beautiful view and sound of the waves and coqui at night.

In terms of prices for drinks and food - expect to pay resort pricing. The couple we rode in from the airport with had stayed here several times before and asked the driver to stop at a convenience store at the turnoff from the main highway. They stocked up on water and alcohol for their week-long stay. We did not as we were only staying for a couple days. The prices were about what I had expected for a resort like this - you won't get $4 beers here.

Overall we had a great time together here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mrsgeegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our goal as a team is to create memorable experiences for our guests. Thank you for the gift of feedback. We look forward to your next visit!


Warm regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmdel, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The moment we arrived at the grand entrance of the formerly Westin Hotel we realized that we were in good hands. From the friendly Frank who greeted us from our taxi to the Lobby Embassador Richie R., we always felt that the resort had done everything possible to help us enjoy the culture of their island country. We rented a car in the hotel for a day to visit Old San Juan and Luquillo, and got free overnight parking. The Chilean seabass at the La Estancia Restaurant was out of this world. We met quite a few nice, interesting people at the poolside and became friends. Hotel guests are polite and friendly; they go there to relax in the paradise. We got references from friends and used Highlander Tours for our rain forest and bio bay tours at a low price with a (almost) free trip to the airport for each tour. Our guide Alex drove us to Luquillo for lunch and let us played next to the La Maserate Beach at no additional cost on the way back from the rain forest. A nearby restaurant called Hacienda Carabali served excellent charassco steak and fish. The sand at the resort is not as white as other islands but the water is still turquoise and the beach is very clean. We have been to many Caribbean islands but we like P.R. the best so far. We enjoy the easy plane ride and that we do not need passports. We will definitely go back to this resort and visit the white-sand Fleminco Bay next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
4.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
22.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
6,946 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
21.5 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
3.2 mi away
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 6000 Rio Mar Boulevard, Rio Grande 00745-4661, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between El Yunque Rainforest and a mile stretch of secluded beach, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa is Puerto Rico's most exotic beach, golf and spa resort destination. 500 magnificent acres with spectacular ocean, rainforest and lush tropical views serve as backdrops to 400 newly renovated guestrooms and suites and an exclusive renovated 48,000-sq.-ft. Oceanfront Conference Center. Located on the N.E. Ecological Corridor of Puerto Rico's shoreline, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar is a haven for fun, sun and forging memorable experiences. The new guestrooms exude traditional Puerto Rican architecture and feature thoughtful indigenous touches. The resort boasts two championship golf courses & tennis center, Mandara spa, 10 lounges and restaurants with award-winning cuisine, an exciting casino, two nature reserves and a guest experience program that encompasses the beauty and nature of its magical surroundings. And since Puerto Rico is a US Commonwealth, no passports or visas are required for US Citizens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Vacatia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel Rio Grande
Rio Mar Beach Resort And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Resort
Wyndham Rio Grande
Rio Del Mar Puerto Rico
Rio Grande Wyndham
Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Westin Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Wyndham El Yunque National Forest
El Yunque National Forest Wyndham
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing