We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Refreshment in Paradise Away From the Crowds”
Private Pool with a View plus BBQ, Fridge, Full Bathroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private Pool with a View plus BBQ, Fridge, Full Bathroom
Private Pool in the Rain Forest Living Area, with AC, Free WIFI, HDTV
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
233 reviews
Private Pool with a View plus BBQ, Fridge, Full Bathroom
Private Pool in the Rain Forest
Living Area, with AC, Free WIFI, HDTV
Kitchen with full-size fridge, dishwasher, stove/oven, AC, WIFI
Indoor Dining Area
Kitchen, with full-size fridge, stove/oven, dishwasher, AC, WIFI
Enjoy Fresh Fruit from our Property Year-round
Master Bedroom, with king bed & ensuite bathroom
Master Bedroom with king bed, AC, Ceiling Fan
Master Bedroom
Master Suite
Master Bath, with huge Rainfall Shower
Second bedroom with Queen bed, ceiling fan, AC
Second bedroom with Queen bed, ceiling fan, AC
Third bedroom with 2 Twin bed, AC, ceiling fan, ensuite bathroom
Third bedroom with 2 Twin bed, AC, ceiling fan, ensuite bathroom
Veranda with views toward the Atlantic Ocean
Private Veranda
Veranda, perfect for breakfast, drinks, or curling up with a good book
Private Swimming Pool
Enjoy a BBQ Poolside
Swim in Our Rainforest
Our Location, in the Foothills of El Yunque National Forest
Located in the Foothills of El Yunque National Forest
View from Veranda, after the rain
View from Veranda
Sunset, viewed from the Veranda
Eco-friendly solar panels
Solar System providing 94% of our electrical needs
A Coqui Frog -- our namesake
Baby Coqui frog on a quarter
Dragon Fruit flower in our garden
Coffee growing in our garden
Fresh fruit bowl of home-grown goodies
After the rain, above our swimming pool
San Pedrito / PR Tody (Todus mexicanus)
PR Lizard Cuckoo (Coccyzus vieilloti)
Antillean Mango Hummingbird (Anthracothorax dominicus)
Bananquit (Coereba flaveola)
Sunset colors
View from the Veranda
Sunset, viewed from the Veranda
Enjoy Hiking in El Yunque National Forest
Nearby Beach in Luquillo
Nearby Beach in Luquillo
Balneario Monserrate in Luquillo
Swim with sea turtles
Fly on a Zipline Nearby
Enjoy Flyboard nearby in Luquillo
Hike nearby in El Yunque National Forest
Cool off nearby in El Yunque National Forest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Rio Grande, Puerto Rico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 233 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
FromSea2S...
Mansfield, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Refreshment in Paradise Away From the Crowds”
Reviewed October 13, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This has been a wonderful trip! Even though my husband was on a working vacation, we were both so relaxed, and had so much fun! Gwenn and Ray were great in communicating with us! They thought of everything in advance to make our stay the best possible. We love the layout of the house. There is a basket of goodies and fresh fruit from the farm. We enjoyed having a fruit testing one evening, and posted our event to Facebook for our friends to see. :) Even though Ray and Gwenn were next door, we never saw them our entire stay. They were quick to respond to e-mails though. I would recommend if you want a tour of the property to schedule in advance before coming, as they do have a life outside of renting out Coqui's. :) The property itself is enchanting! I am obsessed with the beautiful palm trees. My favorite is the big fan one by the pool. It's one of those places you don't want to leave. From the very beginning my husband and I felt relaxed. I loved hearing the coqui frogs at night! We saw several wildlife, including humming birds and tiny lizards by the pool. There was a chameleon right outside of our window, and he changed colors right in front of us. Not something you see back in Ohio. :) Evening swim under the stars was amazing, but it's just as awesome in the day too! The bottom of the pool is smooth, and there is a shower/rest room right beside it. El Verde is a good restaurant, as well as the Chinese/Sushi restaurant nearby. We were so close to El Nunque rainforest and that was a hilight of our visit. I can't say enough good things! We will stay back here again if in the area, and it's available.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool, layout of the house (almost like a ranch style), AC worked great, bed was awesome, landscaping
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlombardi...
Mary Esther, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Paradise”
Reviewed September 6, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Wow this place was amazing. I absolutely loved that it had so many amenities including a full kitchen and washer & dryer to do laundry!! It was so clean, the owners were great!! They are very detailed and knowledgeable about what to do around the area but there's plenty on their property. The pool area is perfect and oh my what a view! Be prepared to be amazed. We will be back, can't wait til next time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Best Rental, Period.”
Reviewed July 30, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I have stayed in various rentals during our travels and I must say that our experience with Coqui's Hideaway is by far the best. Ray and Gwen have thought of EVERYTHING from a basket of fruit and a Piña Colada "kit" to greet you upon your arrival right down to the fridge and bathroom/shower by the pool. Their knowledge of PR is limitless and they have binders of info inside to rental for you to use. The property is gated, safe & secure. Upon our arrival we found it to be immaculately clean and well organized. There's spices and things in the kitchen for your use, laundry facilities with detergent, free wifi, and satellite TV. The view out back off of the balcony or by the pool is amazing. Their property is well maintained and park-like where they have several types of tropics fruits growing: papaya, avocado, bananas, water apples, star fruit, and passion fruit. If you are going to be visiting El Yunque and/or the San Juan or northeastern PR areas I cannot recommend enough Coqui's Hideaway as you place to stay. You will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M
1 review
“Wonderful Stay!”
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We had a great time! Ray and Gwenn were exceptional hosts and they could give us the inside scoop on the various Puerto Rico attractions. The house was exceptional, in great shape and with a breath-taking view of the rainforest. The location is near enough to San Juan and the eastern beaches.

Overall, a wonderful experience. We plan to return and stay here again.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bbconley
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Hideaway”
Reviewed June 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My husband, 3 boys (9,9,13) and I stayed at Coqui's Hideaway this spring. The property was beautiful and exceptionally clean. There is so much great indoor and outdoor space. Every morning my son took about 100 pictures of lizards. Ray and Gwen were very helpful and so nice to our children. They even showed them how to crack coconuts on our last day. We drove around a lot but especially loved visiting the beaches in Loquillo and walking the quite safe rainforest trails. I would definitely recommend this to families with children who do not wish to stay at a resort but would like to explore Puerto Rico.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
specialed...
Jackson, Ohio
1 review
“Beautiful Spot in the Rain Forest”
Reviewed June 8, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This is a lovely place to stay. The grounds alone make the visit enjoyable. The accommodations are first rate and the land lord is available and most helpful. You will not be sorry you choose to spend your vacation in this wooded paradise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nancysg
Minneapolis, MN
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great family vacation spot in the rain forest”
Reviewed April 14, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Our family of 6 (my husband and I, our two teenage sons, and my parents) spent one week in Puerto Rico, and Coquis Hideaway was a perfect base for us. The rental process and flow of information was great; Ray was very helpful via email when I was planning our trip. The accommodations were just right for our family. The welcome basket with fruit from the grounds, the much written about banana bread courtesy of Gwen, and the makings for a perfect Pina Colada were much appreciated.

We rented the entire house, 3 bedroom / 3 bath. The house is well equipped with everything you need for a fantastic vacation.The kitchen was stocked with basic condiments, coffee, and such. Definitely check what is there before you head to Ralph's grocery store to stock up for your stay. The kitchen has everything you need to cook basic meals. We ate breakfast every morning on the veranda, and cooked dinner at home 3 or 4 nights (we picked up fresh fish in Fajardo after a snorkeling trip with the SS Tobias ). There is also a large supply of DVDs, books and magazines available for your use. Pretty much anything you need for a trip to the pool or beach (cooler, boogie boards, towels, blankets, beach bags, etc.) is also available for your use.

The pool and grounds are wonderful Although small, the pool it is perfect because it is all yours. The only kids splashing you or fighting over the hammock will be your own! The pool area has a grill, fridge, bathroom with shower, and stunning views. Every night we came back and relaxed poolside. Ray gave us a tour of the grounds, and it was great learn all about history of the property and to see just how much is growing on site (plantains, bananas, avocados, cacao, and more. )

I enjoyed going to sleep to the sounds of the coqui, however if you don't want to hear the sounds of the jungle, you can always flip on the air conditioner.

I would highly recommend staying at Coqui's Hidewaway for people who want to chill out and relax, and don't mind driving to see the sights. During our stay we visited Old San Juan, Luquillo Beach, Playa Azul, the Humacao Nature Reserve, and of course El Yunque (which is about 5 minutes away), If you want to be a beach bum and go out for every meal, this might not be the place for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, pool and grounds, cleanliness
Liked least: The beds were a little too soft for my liking.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing