We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Italian food in a hotel”
Review of Palio

Palio
Ranked #17 of 71 Restaurants in Rio Grande
Price range: $20 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Indulge yourself with superior service and exquisite cuisine in our Italian restaurant. Palio combines an intimate atmosphere within an elegant setting for an unforgettable experience.
ma
Level Contributor
95 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Awesome Italian food in a hotel”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I was honestly surprised how good the food was since we were at a hotel. We started with salads which were amazing and so fresh. I also had the mushroom soup which I couldnt get enough of. I ate the whole bowl! My husband had the filet mignon and it was great. I had the chicken marsala and it was delicious. It was really some of the best italian i had ever had. It is a little pricey but well worth every penny for a nice night out. We sat outside which was wonderful!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ninad99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    55
    46
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
322 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Some of the best Italian I've ever had”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I've got to say - an Italian restaurant in a "Grande" Resort was a bit intimidating. But .... we ended up going twice! The food was incredible. The bolognaise was some of the best I've ever had - and I make a SUPER one. The Sea Scallops were done to perfection, the flavor incredible and way too much to eat. A fine selection of wines from across the globe (including Italian) !
If there was one complaint, it was that they have problems with reservations and are always a bit optimistic regarding seating at a certain time.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Guhor1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana, United States
1 review
“Great expierence!”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

What a wonderful expierence!  Palio is great.
Even though this restaurant is in a big hotel it has the feel of a small, elegant bistro.
There is a very nice bar with a marvelous pianist at the entrance to Palio.  
The ambiance and the service is everything you could want in an upscale restaurant but the best thing about the restaurant is the food.  Everything we had was extremely fresh and tasty.  The mushroom soup was one of the best I have ever had and the cappacio was served with arugula which took it to a higher level.  The sword fish special was well prepared and really good.  
This beautiful restaurant has a dress code but I saw many men in shorts. So do not let the dress code stand on your way.  It is in a beach resort.
A special mention to our waiter, Benjamin who was very professional and clearly  proud of his restaurant.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryAnn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, took an hour to get our food.”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

The scallops with butternut squash ravioli was divine! It's too bad it took so long to get it. If the food was served faster I would have given 5 stars.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JillMNgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good, not worth the money”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Beautiful ambiance, exceptional service. Way over priced, and I've had better Italian at little mom and pop restaurants.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LucyBrownlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palio also viewed

Rio Grande, Puerto Rico
 
Rio Grande, Puerto Rico
Rio Grande, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Palio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing