We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good spot for lunch”
Review of Chez Pujol

Chez Pujol
Ranked #17 of 46 Restaurants in Port-Vendres
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A good spot for lunch”
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

With fish as fresh as it comes, excellent service and a great spot by the harbour you can't beat this restaurant: it will satisfy you with fixed price menus or a la carte at lunchtime. Just sit outside and enjoy!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank doversole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    122
    62
    44
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fish-lovers Paradise!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Just got back from a super holiday in Port Vendres with lots of happy memories! The first night we walked the gauntlet of all the harbour-front restaurants (as you do!) and eventually decided on Chez Poujol. My daughter and I were in fish heaven with St. Jacques and anchovies etc (gorgeous).....the big problem was my partner who will not eat fish of any description (he was looking rather glum by now!!)....However much to his delight there was a very passable entrecote steak on offer, which of course he chose.
The service was good and if you are a fish lover, the food excellent. Our main question is why were the wines so horrendously expensive?

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arataP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“lovely menu on side of harbour”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Fish fish fish as fresh as possible!

Wonderful fish soup Sardines and Creme catalan at harbourside restaurant on a sunny day who could ask for more.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mintmoocher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great fish, very friendly service”
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We had an excellent dinner Chez Pujol yesterday. My husband had oysters to start which he said were delicious. We then shared a large dorade which we selected from the restaurants own fish shop and which was cooked encrusted in salt and prepared for us in front of our eyes. Delicious dinner all round enhanced by the very efficient and friendly service by Denis.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarrotCakeMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Good simple seafood served with friendly style”
Reviewed May 1, 2011

For a final fling after a week in Banyuls-sur-Mer, four of us went for dinner, hoping for and getting a real seafood feast. The E35 menu beckoned (actually, the E45 beckoned but we decided to restrain ourselves for some reason!), but before we got to choose we were presented with a bowl of tapenade and some bread - a surprising touch in such a straightforward establishment.
Seafood platters for starters were de rigeur - prawns, mussels, boulots (whelks), oysters aplenty - enough for a main course for some.
I followed this with a Perillade Catalane (mixed fried or grilled seafood - monkfish and a couple of other local tasty but unidentifiable fish) while others had a grilled skewer of scallops, prawns and monkfish served attractively hanging over a plate of couscous, stuffed tomoato, rice etc....
Desserts were the usual round of ice-cream etc - perfectly OK but nopthing ot write home about.

Coffee was follwed by a freebie pink fizz offered by the waither 'because of your good humour'.
Our waiter was brilliant - passable English yet he picked up our abilities in French (ranging from almost none to getting fluent) and rarely used his English, He really was VERY good, being there when we wanted him and not when we didn't - deserved his substantial tip.

A good evening on the side of the harbour - nice fnish to a great week in the area.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeoffR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Pujol also viewed

Collioure, Pyrenees-Orientales
Collioure, Pyrenees-Orientales
 
Port-Vendres, Pyrenees-Orientales
Port-Vendres, Pyrenees-Orientales
 

Been to Chez Pujol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing