We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place to stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Henfield, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Christine...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed February 27, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This is a one bedroom accommodation but spacious and very comfortable, Marilyn was very welcoming and there if needed but not intrusive even though the cottage is attached to the main house. The welcome pack was a lovely touch and most welcome after a long drive. So many lovely touches in the cottage, flowers to welcome you, toiletries in the bathroom, everything you would need in the kitchen, lots of books and dvds. The cottage is within walking distance of the village which has plenty of individual shops which have everything you would need. A lovely place which I hope to return to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 28, 2016
Thank you Christine for this review. We hope to see you again!
Kindest regards,
Marilyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeborahMa...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“WOW! What a find.”
Reviewed December 17, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Highly recommend.
Lychgate Cottage is in wonderful settings and close to all amenities.
It is very well equipped. The owners Marilyn and Anthony are a delightful couple who made our stay a real pleasure. We felt completely at home.
We will certainly be returning next year.
DEFINITELY!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality and surroundings
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 19, 2015
Thank you so much for the review. It was a great pleasure to meet you both. We wish you a good Christmas and a prosperous 2016. Look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage in super location”
Reviewed August 14, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My wife and I stayed at Lychgate Cottage for a week in August. The property is ideal for a couple, well appointed and modern. The location is ideal and it is a pleasure to walk down the lanes onto Henfield High Street.

The owners are very helpful and provide a generous welcome pack. We will definitely return.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2015
Thank you for the generous review; it was a delight to meet you. We look forward to seeing you again.

Anthony and Marilyn Jones
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcs_11
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A perfect gem!”
Reviewed July 28, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A new listing in the beautiful village of Henfield just 12 miles from Brighton. The property was designed as a granny flat and is attached to the owner's house, so the furnishings and equipment all first class and top quality.
Though only one bedroom, all the rooms are a good size with large amounts of storage space throughout the property.
The property is just a three minute walk from Henfield centre, which has an excellent supply of independent shops including two good supermarkets, a post office, banks, restaurants and a small museum. There are numerous walks in and around Henfield and the local countryside, and the South Downs and Devils Dyke are only a few minutes drive away.
The owners couldn't do enough to welcome us and make our stay in Henfield a memorable one, including a welcome basket of local goodies on our arrival and a bottle of wine to celebrate the arrival of our first grandchild in Brighton during the week.
An excellent holiday home for two people, we cannot recommend it highly enough and will certainly be coming back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apersson1
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“highly recommended”
Reviewed July 26, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Everything you could want from a holiday cottage. Cosy and comfortable, extremely well equipped, spotlessly clean, great location. Marilyn provides a welcome pack, and gives all the extras which make this cottage special - home made jam and marmalade, basic provisions (even salt and pepper grinders, herbs growing outside kitchen door!!). Pretty courtyard for al fresco eating. Location couldn't be better with the village shops and pubs minutes walk away, and direct access to the plethora of paths, twittens and cycle routes into the surrounding scenic areas.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans Pete...
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2017
Thank you for the nice review. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we hope we may meet again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing