We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”
Review of No.1 The Laurels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
No.1 The Laurels
Ranked #1 of 3 Henfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is a superior B&B at an excellent price. Very conveniently located close to the village centre The Laurels is warm friendly and inviting. I have stayed a number of times and been made very welcome. Malcolm is a most convivial host who cooks an awesome full English breakfast. Everything freshly cooked to order. The rooms are spacious, very well appointed, bright and clean ant the beds very comfortable. There is a residents lounge and guests are supplied with keys so they can come and go as they please. Book with Malcolm and you will not be disappointed.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 90 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

I am almost scared to write this review because the Laurels is such a gem , we often stay at the Laurels when we visit our daughter who lives in Henfield. Malcolm is so lovely and really makes you feel welcomed and nothing is too much trouble. Recently I booked my sister and my husband's brother and girlfriend to stay at the Laurels for our daughter's wedding, Malcolm made them feel very welcomed and he even drove my husband's brother and girlfriend to our daughter's reception venue. They all said " They had never laughed so much in years " and their stay was perfect in everyway. Malcolm's breakfast is always hot , beautifully cooked and he meets dietry needs of all his guests, The rooms are always presented to a high standard, excellent cleaniness and lots of lovely touches to make your stay comfortable. Infact home from home.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cath5512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The general opinion expressed in the other reviews is fully justified. This is a clean, comfortable well equipped base for say a weekend exploring Sussex and the South Downs. If it suits you not to be in a busy town then the quiet location will appeal to you. The rooms are well stocked with refreshments and toiletries.
Although it has a guest lounge remember this is not a hotel, it doesn't claim to be so you may find it cramped for a longer stay. Having said that the standard of cleanliness here puts some larger hotels to shame. My wife and I both had a cooked breakfast which we thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I really cannot add anything to the preceding reviews. I stayed in a single room , which although not ensuite, had its own dedicated bathroom immediately opposite. Everything provided, from towels, linen, to breakfast, was of an excellent standard and Malcolm Harrington the owner, was very welcoming. I would not hesitate to recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annabelle1921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Linda & Peter Mc.
We recently had an ovrnight stay at 1The Laurels. We booked a single room for for an elderly relative & we stayed in a double en suite room. (Pink room). We were very comfortable & the facilities were clean & very well cared for. We were made very welcome by Mr Harrington & we ejoyed a lovely full English breakfast before journeying on. It is a lovely place to stay & would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here recently as it was central to our visits to National Trust properties, Malcom made us very welcome and the en-suite room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good and also there are refreshments in the room. We would recommend this very good B/B and if we are in the area again will certainly stay here.

Room Tip: Any room would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaymad8449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This b&b has everything needed for a good stay: friendly and helpful owner, clean and comfortable room, good breakfast, generous refreshment supplies in room. It is convenient for visiting many attractions in East and West Sussex. We shall bear in mind for a future visit and recommend to any others in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Couple-Tadworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to No.1 The Laurels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No.1 The Laurels

Address: No. 1 The Laurels | Martyn Close, Henfield BN5 9RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Henfield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Henfield
Price Range: $76 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — No.1 The Laurels 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your No.1 The Laurels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No.1 The Laurels Henfield, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing