We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Beautiful

Went last year and can’t wait to return, very pretty place. Lovely cafe where we had tea after... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
parkers97s
Passion + Knowledge = World Class Garden!

Pauline and Paul McBride offer fabulous guided tours around their garden. I took my non-gardening... read more

Reviewed September 30, 2018
Mark D
Read all 205 reviews
  
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveler rating
160
36
5
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
160
36
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews for sale home made cakes tea room unusual plants flower beds tea shop plant shop delicious homemade buy plants lovely tea enjoyable afternoon totem poles well worth the visit plenty of seats lovely cafe next year my mum
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 205 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2017

This is a great garden with an unusual layout and fantastic planting. Intriguing sculptures complete the layout. Garden and plant shop are integrated. Unfortunately, the gardens sit in an otherwise featureless landscape.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank RichardTol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2017

Plenty of parking. £7 entry fee. Easily accessible with paths meandering through the swaths of plants. A wide selection of cakes. We thought that £15 was expensive for a sandwich, two waters , one apple juice and a scone . The cashier added it up in his head and there was no receipt.Plenty to enjoy with younger children. Unfortunately we were dived bombed by wasps and having some jam pot traps for them would have made it more pleasant. Various events are held through out the year and obviously seasonal changes will always make the garden always enchanting.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank ShariWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2017

The gardens here are simply stunning - huge borders - so wide visitors are encouraged to walk amongst them as well as past them. There is plenty of space and its been used very well - huge drifts of plants informally distributed with repeating patterns to enhance the impact.

Really lovely for a walk around and through on a summer afternoon.

The cafe is a delight - casual and relaxed with huge slices of cakes and never ending pots of tea. Staff positively encourage you to come back for a top up of hot water.

A delight - we wish we'd visited sooner!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank nji1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017

I try to visit regularly as the garden itself changes and the ever varying weather adds a different perspective each time. So much colour with the grasses swaying in the breeze. Awesome. The garden will be ten years old in 2018 so watch out for the celebratory events. I have to wait for a whole year for the next plant fair! Can console myself with the home made cake I suppose and their home grown plants.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank hellebore_queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017

No traditional flower beds here, instead impressive swathes of planting. The expansive beds offer walk-throughs to admire many hundreds of the same plant grouped together. There no 'rooms' as such and few trees - a wide-open environment under big skies and with views of the South Downs. A nicely informal cafe with plants for sale alongside. A very popular plant sale is held every year in early September - check website for details and for opening times. The garden is closed for several months over the winter period.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank sussexrowmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews