We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for top glass food”
Review of The George Hotel

The George Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Restaurants in Henfield
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The restaurant staff are committed to providing a quality fo cuisine that exceeds ordinary expectation and they excel at producing great food with a unique twist. We serve great local, seasonal food, organic wines and fabulous real ales in warm and welcoming surroundings.
Horsham
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very good value for top glass food”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Five of us had Saturday lunch here. It didn't start well when a glass toppled off the tray on to our table when the waitress was delivering drinks and smashed into a thousand pieces! It was such a mess we had to move to another table.

However, after the drama we had an outstanding meal. Quality really was very high but prices were very reasonable.

I had ox cheek casserole, which was amazing, although I was surprised that it was not served with vegetables.

If you enjoy quality food but don't want to pay through the nose I would certainly recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    7
    5
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Oh dear!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

The dreadful dismissal of The General Manager Barry, could well have been the worse decision ever made by whoever made it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sapperat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not very impressed”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Poor quality for the money, ham was inedible in ham, egg & chips. Another time, service was very poor given that there were only four people in the restaurant.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosyjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
1 review
“Mother's Day celebration”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I booked myself, three daughters and two grandchildren into the George for a Mother's Day celebration. We were met by the friendly manager who immediately brought over two Easter eggs for the children. The starters were tasty and enjoyable and the mains all were delicious, big portions and homemade Yorkshire puddings were a bonus. The ice creams could have done with more chocolate sauce and maybe a wafer but the sticky toffee pudding was very enjoyable. On the whole we had a very good meal with friendly staff and we would definitely eat there again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Dreadful, by George!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Passing by and looking in it looked warm and welcoming - how wrong that turned out to be. Since we had an appointment to see a property in a nearby village we ordered sandwiches thinking to have a quick but pleasant lunch. With time to look around I began to notice just how grim and grimy the place really was. We waited 25 minutes and still no sign of food. The waitresses were playing with each other in a very unprofessional way. Someone appeared from the kitchen in a T-shirt also looking unprofessional, the fire was allowed to expire; no one came to explain, apologize or offer more drinks. We inquired twice what had happened and eventually after about 40 minutes the food arrived - but it certainly wasn't worth the wait.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Venetia020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George Hotel also viewed

Henfield, West Sussex
Henfield, West Sussex
 
Henfield, West Sussex
Henfield, West Sussex
 

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing