We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CHRISTMAS CELEBRATION”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bull Inn

The Bull Inn
Ranked #7 of 20 Restaurants in Henfield
Price range: $1 - $32
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza, British, Pub, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located just north of Henfield, this traditional style pub welcomes the whole family (including the dog!) and is a must visit for fans of Pizza!This pub is certainly a must visit if you enjoy pizza. With over 20 different varieties of freshly baked gourmet toppings, plus the chance to design your own, all tastes will be well catered for. The portions are also very generous, with the large 12" pizzas being large enough for 2 people, or 1 very hungry person! Pasta, salad, burgers, BBQ wings, ribs & chicken also feature on the menu if pizza doesn't take your fancy, plus the children's menu is also extensive. Don't forget the specials board too!The spacious & beautiful beer garden is an ideal space to dine al fresco during the summer months or just to relax & enjoy a cold pint of beer, glass of wine or soft drink in. There is also a children's play area which the kids can enjoy whilst the parents sit back & rest. In the winter, the log fire helps to keep the insides of the pub cosy.There is also a skittle alley & function room available for adult and children’s parties, gatherings for family and friends, club and business meetings, christenings, weddings and wakes. Mother and toddler groups can also be accommodated during lunchtimes. Complete with its own music system, private garden and patio area and can be hired as room only, or with the skittle alley and buffet menu.
Haywards Heath, West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“CHRISTMAS CELEBRATION”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

A group of us went to The Bull for a Christmas lunch but I was disappointed. I had hoped to have the Christmas set meal but the vegetables were not to my liking and as no alternative was offered I decided to opt for the spare ribs from the normal menu but they arrived only luke warm and the chips were rock hard. My Husband had the Christmas set meal and enjoyed his salmon and thought his meal was good value for the money.

Although there were only a few customers in the restaurant at the time the waitress failed to ask if we would like any more drinks or enquire if we were happy with our meals.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    67
    26
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mixed bag”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

A group of 10 of us went on a Sunday (pre booked) and were seated quickly and drink orders taken and delivered promptly. Unfortunately is was raining pretty hard and the rain came through the beams near one of our party and she got pretty damp! We were unable to be moved as the restaurant was full which was a shame as our party member just got more soggy! The food was okay, seeing as it's supposed to be a 'pizza pub' the pizza's weren't actually anything to rave about, they were just okay. One of our party had the salmon which was overlooked and the potatoes which came with it, undercooked. Another member had the chilli which was apparently very good. The puddings were also rated as good by those that had them. A mixed bag over all, good service and okay food.

Helpful?
Thank Jellytot83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“VERY OVER RATED”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Had lunch here with family. Found the service very slow considering it was quiet. We ordered pizzas but quite honestly they were poor. The base wasn't a pizza dough the edges were burnt and the quality of the ingredients were below average. Those that ordered fizzy drinks all complained that they left a funny taste in the mouth. Also the place could also do with a big clean the entrance to the pub is filty cobwebs and dirt everywhere and inside dead wasps everywhere. Had visited as locally it has good reputation but personally thought it was poor value for money and the food is very over rated

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JSmith75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
159 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Very impressed with the food on offer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

This pub is a few miles north of Henfield and to be honest if I hadn't been recommended to it I might have given up looking for it as it wasn't where I expect it to be! It is well worth a visit, the list of pizza choices is endless and puts pizza chains to shame with their generous and varied toppings. They also offer gluten free pizza bases which is a bonus. If you don't fancy a pizza the salads are wonderful. They also have a daily specials board. I had the brie and bacon salad which I thoroughly enjoyed. My daughter had the chicken and bacon salad which looked equally good, the rest of the family had a variety of pizzas which they enjoyed. The portions are very generous and if you can't manage to finish you will be provided with a doggy bag.
I will definately recommend The Bull to friends and it won't be long before I go back again. Go on treat yourself you won't be disappointed.
Ps if you are a Harveys fan,they serve it here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SussexJudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The poorest food I've experienced for a long time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

You would of thought leek and potato soup would be homemade and full of leeky flavour. How you can serve something so tasteless and stodgy is beyond me. My view is it was a packet mix as there were lumps of congealed flour stuff, also feels like it was MSG laden.
Other thoughts, fries that were stuck together suggesting they were reheated. Light airy bread for a ploughmans, and there was most definetly not a wide selection of real ales(but they do Harveys which was fresh so a positive) I could go on.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank m s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bull Inn also viewed

Henfield, West Sussex
Henfield, West Sussex
 
Henfield, West Sussex
 

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing