We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not recommended” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Henfield
Henfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Nov 2013 They accepted a booking for 3 business persons knowing full well that there was no chef on site. Admitedly the booking was B&B, but had they said it would be necessary to go to the local pub for an evening meal, we would have taken advantage of the local B&B at £50 each instead of the George's £76!
Dec 2013 A businessman staying B&B for 4 nights did not have his room cleaned or bed made for the latter 2 days. The hotel's response - "Oh yes - the housekeeper called in sick."
Needless to say, we will not be using The George Hotel again. However, we will continue to support local business by using The Laurels and Prospect Cottage B&Bs in Henfield instead.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Equibod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    18
    15
    18
    12
See reviews for
22
35
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

What a terrible disappointment. Room cosy and charming, service definitely not. There was confusion about breakfast entitlement. When I turned up for breakfast as agreed, place was in darkness and all doors were locked. I was effectively locked in corridor. Not a good feeling. Got no breakfast and had to go to important meeting hungry and annoyed. I was phoned by junior member of staff twice asking me for payment, incorrectly, on both occasions. One lovely member of staff, others inexperienced and untrained.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JanD852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at The George Inn. The staff were pleasant and always made an effort to talk to people keep everybody happy. even though the staff are young they are enthusiastic, happy and pleasant and which it made it a very relaxing environment, i have stayed in many hotels where the bar staff didn't like one and other and arguing with management in which made it very uncomfortable but The George Inn was the total opposite everybody was friendly. although there was not a massive number of people in the bar i don't believe it is the hotel that is at fault as up and down the country people are choosing to stay in as the price of alcohol is constantly rising but it still had its locals in to help support it.
Rooms 10/10
Bar/Restaurant 9/10
Staff 10/10
I would most certainly recommend my friend and family to go there and will defiantly be staying again in the near future and for any other work we have in the surrounding area

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Dempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

This could be a very nice hotel...but it's not very well run.
the staff are very young and lack customer service experience or motivation.
The owner is apparently absent and is happily allowing this hotel to be run into the ground.
The rooms are overpriced for what they are and are lacking a few essentials such as fire exit intructions, soap in the bathroom to wash your hands and glasses to either drink water or rinse your mouth after brushing teeth. You get as much in a travelodge or premier inn where you're paying half the price.
On a two night stay we had one breakfast due to a technical hitch of some kind in the kitchen.
and on the morning when we did get breakfast we wished we'd eaten somewhere else.
The lack of thought, knowledge, motivation and/or customer service from the staff was quite astonishing.
A young lady wearing a onesie (essentially bedwear) greeted us each morning and served us breakfast wearing such.
we were quite astonished to find out this was the manager and that writing any form of comment will most likely never see anyone who cares.
All we can really do is write this review and hope that others take note before staying there.
We may have caught them on a bad weekend but the total lack of customers in the pub downstairs leads me to believe this business will not last long and I can only hope that this hotel is under new management the next time we visit henfield.
The hotel has wonderful potential to be an excellent place to stay but I would recommend new staff, a new breakfast chef, stocking the bar, cleaning the rooms properly and getting new matresses.
I may well be back next year to buy the place, it's a great shame what you're doing in that lovely old inn with so much obvious history.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

What a lovely little hotel and very reasonably priced. Perfect if you're looking to stay just outside of Brighton. Comfortable rooms and with good facilities. The bacon at breakfast deserves a special mention!

Helpful?
Thank SebCoombs
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Steyning
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

After waiting to be served for over 20 minutes... I may add the bar was empty. Finally got served.. The menu is VERY limited and there is not a childrens menu or any starters. The food it says is made fresh but one has to ask about the lasgne. The decor is nice and looks as though it has been redecorated in the last 7 years but the disabled toilet was disgusting.. in the cornersthere was built up grime and the floor wasfilthy. The feces caked on the side of the loo was horrid. The loo roll.was put up high on the window ledge,,,no holder...great for a disabled toilet.. The tables and chairs in the restaurant were dirty and food left on the seats.. what do the staff do?? Where are they? No wonder the place was dead!! The food came and it was rather pleasant.. the veggies were fresh! Dont think I would go back though..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night on a business trip
hotel is clean and tidy nice rooms
staff very nice
Foxy in the morning Is very helpful and cooks a good breakfast and is cheerful and funny
Peter is a blast he is a real gem of a chap
would recommend staying here to anyone

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pbarker1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henfield
3.6 mi away
The Castle Inn Hotel
The Castle Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bramber
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Hickstead
The Hickstead
#1 of 1 in Bolney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Burgess Hill Hotel
9.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Birch Hotel
BEST WESTERN The Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haywards Heath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
5.9 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: High Street, Henfield BN5 9DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Henfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Henfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The George Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is a pleasant Tudor/Victorian Hotel with open fireplaces. The oldest beams in West Sussex with a fantastic history. Rumours are that a ghost is still here! It is ideal for keen hikers and cyclists alike situated near to the Downs Link. All our rooms have en-suite showers. We boast a good home cooked menu serving lunch and dinner. A traditional English breakfast is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Henfield, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing