We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great shame”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Henfield
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This could be a very nice hotel...but it's not very well run.
the staff are very young and lack customer service experience or motivation.
The owner is apparently absent and is happily allowing this hotel to be run into the ground.
The rooms are overpriced for what they are and are lacking a few essentials such as fire exit intructions, soap in the bathroom to wash your hands and glasses to either drink water or rinse your mouth after brushing teeth. You get as much in a travelodge or premier inn where you're paying half the price.
On a two night stay we had one breakfast due to a technical hitch of some kind in the kitchen.
and on the morning when we did get breakfast we wished we'd eaten somewhere else.
The lack of thought, knowledge, motivation and/or customer service from the staff was quite astonishing.
A young lady wearing a onesie (essentially bedwear) greeted us each morning and served us breakfast wearing such.
we were quite astonished to find out this was the manager and that writing any form of comment will most likely never see anyone who cares.
All we can really do is write this review and hope that others take note before staying there.
We may have caught them on a bad weekend but the total lack of customers in the pub downstairs leads me to believe this business will not last long and I can only hope that this hotel is under new management the next time we visit henfield.
The hotel has wonderful potential to be an excellent place to stay but I would recommend new staff, a new breakfast chef, stocking the bar, cleaning the rooms properly and getting new matresses.
I may well be back next year to buy the place, it's a great shame what you're doing in that lovely old inn with so much obvious history.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for The George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 104 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

What a lovely little hotel and very reasonably priced. Perfect if you're looking to stay just outside of Brighton. Comfortable rooms and with good facilities. The bacon at breakfast deserves a special mention!

Thank SebCoombs
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

After waiting to be served for over 20 minutes... I may add the bar was empty. Finally got served.. The menu is VERY limited and there is not a childrens menu or any starters. The food it says is made fresh but one has to ask about the lasgne. The decor is nice and looks as though it has been redecorated in the last 7 years but the disabled toilet was disgusting.. in the cornersthere was built up grime and the floor wasfilthy. The feces caked on the side of the loo was horrid. The loo roll.was put up high on the window ledge,,,no holder...great for a disabled toilet.. The tables and chairs in the restaurant were dirty and food left on the seats.. what do the staff do?? Where are they? No wonder the place was dead!! The food came and it was rather pleasant.. the veggies were fresh! Dont think I would go back though..

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank debbie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night on a business trip
hotel is clean and tidy nice rooms
staff very nice
Foxy in the morning Is very helpful and cooks a good breakfast and is cheerful and funny
Peter is a blast he is a real gem of a chap
would recommend staying here to anyone

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbarker1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Too expensive for very basic room. it smelled of smoke and whilst I appreciate that hotels cannot prevent visitors from smoking they could open the windows or use the air con to freshen the room. All staff were friendly but struggling to keep up, breakfast was ok if limited, bar was a nice place for a drink as was the courtyard.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LSA_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a very disappointing stay, on arrival we were greated by a young lady who yawned all the way through check in. We were then asked if we wanted breakfast at 8.30 am or 9.00 am and if we wanted continental or full english breakfast. Seeing that we were staying over a weekend i would have thought there would have been a bit more flexibility with breakfast times and we have never been asked on arrival what we wanted for breakfast the next day, when i asked the young lady why it was needed on check in, we were told the chef likes to get things prepared ahead !!!

We were shown to our room which one could only describe as a closet, you would have had trouble passing it as a single room let alone a double. There was no where to put out your toiletries in the bathroom, the shower had mould in it and the room was generally run down and did not warrant the £95.00 we paid, we have stayed in some lovely hotels for nearly half the price and the flexibility of decent breakfast times.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abby635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Nice welcome, nice place to stay, I have been generous in my rating as average is unfair, especially for the price. I believe that it has new management, and I feel they are finding there way to better things. Worth a try.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank groovyepsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henfield
4.4 mi away
Travelodge Hickstead Hotel
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel
5.9 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Castle Inn Hotel
The Castle Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bramber
368 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Hickstead
The Hickstead
#1 of 1 in Bolney
486 reviews
9.1 mi away
Best Western The Birch Hotel
Best Western The Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haywards Heath
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: High Street | West Sussex, Henfield BN5 9DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Henfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Henfield
Price Range: $114 - $644 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The George Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Hotel is a16th century former coaching inn, boasting a fully stocked bar, freshly prepared meals and high quality accommodation with free WI-FI and parking. Now a Grade 2 listed building, the Hotel retains many of its original features, with a cosy interior and open fires. Whatever the occasion guests can always expect a friendly warm welcome and a memorable stay, each of our en-suite guest rooms is comfortable and well maintained. Over the last two years the George Hotel has had extensive works carried out by its new owners to sympathetically restore the building to its former glory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Henfield, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing