We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful house and garden”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Thorpe Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Delightful house and garden”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Very classy style throughout. Wonderful quiet location. Bedroom felt very private and it was great to also have the option of sitting in the lovely lounge overlooking the garden. Plenty of off road parking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BritsAbroad27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    21
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
113
13
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This excellent B& B was just the ticket for a business trip being a short drive from the A14 with easy access to Cambridge. The house is situated in a quiet residential area and our hosts, Stewart and Nicky could not have been more welcoming and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable, equipped with everything you might need and wifi which is essential for the business traveller. Continental or English breakfast (including a delicious Eggs Benedict option) can be selected for an additional cost. An excellent pub restaurant a short walk away completed our requirements. Certainly tempted to return for a leisure visit to the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sisteriris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay as I was in the Cambridge area on business. Lovely house, excellent facilities and a warm welcome from Stewart. Highly recommended for business or leisure. The village itself is very attractive with easy access to main routes including the Cambridge Park & Ride. Local pub "The Cock" recommended and kindly booked by Stewart: quaint pub with well regarded restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had a very pleasant overnight stay at Thorpe GH in a beautiful part of Cambridgeshire. The accommodation was excellent, food similar and friendly hosts. Hemingford Grey is a lovely village location and within easy reach of Huntingdon & St Ives

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takeley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2013

a very relaxing stay in a well designed and modern house. There are some beatiful meadow walks from the door and a couple of good pubs within strolling distance. The hosts were attentative and made us very welcome in their home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Thorpe Guest House is a stone’s throw from the River Ouse and a pleasant walk or few minutes by car along leafy streets with thatched cottages to the historic and picturesque town of St Ives. Cambridge is quite close as are a number of other delightful towns in Cambridgeshire.

Stewart and Nicky our welcoming, attentive and caring hosts catered for every possible need. They were genuinely interested in our journey and they themselves were interesting people.
Their modern airy home has a dedicated area for breakfasts and a guest lounge looking on to the garden. Tea and coffee facilities, a bowl of fresh fruit, lollies, games, books and magazines all added to the make your selves at home feeling. Our large, tastefully decorated bedroom also had tea and coffee facilities and plenty of storage space and a sparkling new en suite. All guest areas are on ground level and off street parking is a plus.

The continental breakfast surpassed expectations providing for a range of tastes. An historic pub a short stroll away provides excellent meals.

We have no hesitation in recommending The Thorpe as a base for discovering the area or a one night stop. To all travellers and any fellow Australians we say “This one is a little beauty!”

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton-in-Kendal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Tony Laurence is an excellent and most interesting host. The house is spacious and the bedroom we used most comfortable - especially the beds. Breakfast was enjoyable, with an excellent view over the garden. Chatting with Tony was a fun part of the experience of being there - he is a very interesting guy with a lot to offer even in casual conversation. His plans to use the internal space to extend the number of rooms was quite imaginative - I hope he achieves his aims.

The house is located in a quiet and quite pretty village, near to but sufficiently away from the motorway. We spent a most enjoyable evening in the local pub-restaurant a mile or so from the house. Not at all expensive for the meal we had. Well worth a visit.

We would certainly visit again and perhaps for 2/3 days to have an opportunity to explore the countryside around - very flat compared with Cumbria where we live but attractive nonetheless.

Jon Taylor

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonty34_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemingford Grey
4.5 mi away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
#4 of 9 in Huntingdon
625 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Old Bridge
The Old Bridge
#1 of 9 in Huntingdon
459 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sandford House Bar and Hotel
6.1 mi away
Premier Inn Huntingdon (A1/A14) Hotel
3.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#6 of 9 in Huntingdon
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thorpe Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thorpe Guesthouse

Property: The Thorpe Guesthouse
Address: 6 The Thorpe, Hemingford Grey, Huntingdon PE28 9DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon > Hemingford Grey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hemingford Grey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thorpe Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thorpe Guest House is situated in the beautiful peaceful riverside village of Hemingford Grey close to both St Ives and Cambridge. The house offers modern luxury en-suite accommodation with plenty of room to relax and unwind. Residents will enjoy exclusive use of the Garden Lounge where they can rest, read, watch TV or catch up on their day’s business. Whether for business or pleasure we hope you will enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Thorpe Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing