We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New years eve rip off”
Review of The Vojan

The Vojan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $34
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: If you think you know everything about Indian restaurants, think again. A quiet revolution is taking place at The Vojan. Award winning Head chef Forid Ali has created a menu that will ignite your senses, combining fresh and intriguing flavours (drawn from his culinary heritage) with a modern twist. Vojan is a destination restaurant, but loyal local patrons still regularly enjoy their very own dining gem. The large, chic interior successfully incorporates a series of dining rooms on a succession of stepped levels. Each one is gracefully lit and enclosed, in part, byhewn-slate feature walls. Vases brimming with arching white lilies and tables set with crisp white linen create a natural yet sophisticated air. The spacious restaurant seats 200 diners, but the architecture and lighting evoke intimacy at every table. One of the dining rooms opens onto a contemporary private garden, which is perfect for parties. We offer a great diary of entertainment, ranging from Tribute Acts, Bollywood Evenings and Disco Nights - Friday and Saturday evenings, a fantastic Cooking Club, where you can come along and learn to cook with our chefs in our kitchen, Business Networking monthly Group and much more.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We returned to this Indian restaurant on New years eve 2013, having had a good time on NYE 2012. Unfortunately, its gone downhill faster than an Olympic skier, and it was clear this is all about the pure greed of the owners.
Some of us managed to get the welcome drink, others didn't. The food was very average and not a lot of it for the £50 a head charge. The same story with the desert as the welcome drink, only 8 for 10 people turned up.
No NYE count down etc, just a few fireworks, that started a couple of minutes early.
What really narked here was on being presented with the bill they conveniently forgot to deduct the deposit and tried asking for the additional payment although we had included a decent tip. Interesting to note only small expensive bottles of Cobra available.
Basically I had a few poppadum's, a Chicken tikka masala with rice and 6 beers. My wife (along with some of the other wives) wasn't drinking and it worked out at £160 a couple.
What I would suggest about this place is that if you are thinking of going....don't.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Johnboyholidaykid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Public Relations Manager at The Vojan, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Hi Johnboyholidaykid,

Thank you for your time to write a review for us.

We has so much good feedback from our NYE nights and we have people coming back year after year. We are always fully booked very early into the season.

We are so sorry you felt it was not good value, we do ensure everyone get's what they ask for and require, but sometimes people move around on a very busy evening like NYE so we are sorry if you say some people did not receive their welcome drinks or deserts.

As for the mistake on the bill, we are sorry about that, we are sure it was a genuine mistake, we do not intentionally make mistakes like this, we have lots of extra staff on NYE and there must've been a mix up for which we take full responsibility and we are glad that you were not overcharged in the end.

Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for The Vojan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 126 of 181 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

I visit the vojan on many special occasions, never fail to please me with the fantastic service and outstanding quality of food cooked to your perfection. Never tried mussels but first experience with vojan has got me in love with it. Here at the vojan im never scared to try somethig new as all dishes on the menu are amazing. If you have never tried this place dont miss out n go for it. Im in love with this place. Fav indian by far.


2  Thank Kayrul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Public Relations Manager at The Vojan, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Hi Kayruk I,

Thanks for writing this sparkling review for us, it means a lot that people are taking their time to support us and we rally appreciate it.

See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

What's going wrong? Well over rated. Rude service . Not worth the money . Been a customer for many years eating in and take always. But this night was a great disappointment . Less food than a normal buffet. They said its a 4 course meal, entertainment ,drinks and fireworks £50 per head. It was much less than a Sunday buffet for just £9.95 ,small drop a bubbly and fireworks by the main road. Disco started late and no count down to new year. Never again and would not want other people to waste their money .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Public Relations Manager at The Vojan, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Hi Michelle W,

We are so sorry you have had to write this review, we are sorry you have experienced a bad time and can only apologise and hope you can read the many reviews that are positive and come back and see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Having been a loyal regular customer, both for take away and eating in for over 8 years, tonight will be the last time we put anymore of our money in this restaurants direction. Xmas eve table at 5.30 with 4 (understandably) excitable children, and only one other customer in the restaurant, we was told, very rudely, to keep the noise down. The staff have always been quite unfriendly but I have never seen anything like this before. Absolutely no need for it especially given the time of year and also the time we were in the restaurant. It is a massive shame the waiters have such attitude as the food has always been great. We will take our custom elsewhere now to somewhere that actually appreciates its clients.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank GoonerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Public Relations Manager at The Vojan, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Hi GoonerUK,

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time here, we do endeavour to ensure great service, and that you did not experience this is a shame.

Please come and give us another try, we have so many lovely reviews about how we are with children and families, we try and make sure they have dishes to suit 'little' palates.

Lots of us here have children ourselves and understand their needs, we can only apologise.

Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Vojan has always been my go to Indian restaurant. Not having been for over a year I wondered if the elements that have always drawn me would still be noteworthy ; they were. Excellent food, efficient and friendly service all at extremely reasonable prices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DavidDCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Public Relations Manager at The Vojan, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Hi DavidDCL,

Thanks for an articulate and glowing review!

Nothing more we can say except see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vojan also viewed

Chipping Ongar, Ongar
 
Chelmsford, Essex
 

Been to The Vojan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing