We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Eve 2013/14”
Review of The Vojan

The Vojan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $35
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: If you think you know everything about Indian restaurants, think again. A quiet revolution is taking place at The Vojan. Award winning Head chef Forid Ali has created a menu that will ignite your senses, combining fresh and intriguing flavours (drawn from his culinary heritage) with a modern twist. Vojan is a destination restaurant, but loyal local patrons still regularly enjoy their very own dining gem. The large, chic interior successfully incorporates a series of dining rooms on a succession of stepped levels. Each one is gracefully lit and enclosed, in part, byhewn-slate feature walls. Vases brimming with arching white lilies and tables set with crisp white linen create a natural yet sophisticated air. The spacious restaurant seats 200 diners, but the architecture and lighting evoke intimacy at every table. One of the dining rooms opens onto a contemporary private garden, which is perfect for parties. We offer a great diary of entertainment, ranging from Tribute Acts, Bollywood Evenings and Disco Nights - Friday and Saturday evenings, a fantastic Cooking Club, where you can come along and learn to cook with our chefs in our kitchen, Business Networking monthly Group and much more.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

What's going wrong? Well over rated. Rude service . Not worth the money . Been a customer for many years eating in and take always. But this night was a great disappointment . Less food than a normal buffet. They said its a 4 course meal, entertainment ,drinks and fireworks £50 per head. It was much less than a Sunday buffet for just £9.95 ,small drop a bubbly and fireworks by the main road. Disco started late and no count down to new year. Never again and would not want other people to waste their money .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Public Relations Manager at The Vojan, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Hi Michelle W,

We are so sorry you have had to write this review, we are sorry you have experienced a bad time and can only apologise and hope you can read the many reviews that are positive and come back and see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 140 of 193 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2013

Having been a loyal regular customer, both for take away and eating in for over 8 years, tonight will be the last time we put anymore of our money in this restaurants direction. Xmas eve table at 5.30 with 4 (understandably) excitable children, and only one other customer in the restaurant, we was told, very rudely, to keep the noise down. The staff have always been quite unfriendly but I have never seen anything like this before. Absolutely no need for it especially given the time of year and also the time we were in the restaurant. It is a massive shame the waiters have such attitude as the food has always been great. We will take our custom elsewhere now to somewhere that actually appreciates its clients.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank GoonerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Public Relations Manager at The Vojan, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Hi GoonerUK,

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time here, we do endeavour to ensure great service, and that you did not experience this is a shame.

Please come and give us another try, we have so many lovely reviews about how we are with children and families, we try and make sure they have dishes to suit 'little' palates.

Lots of us here have children ourselves and understand their needs, we can only apologise.

Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Vojan has always been my go to Indian restaurant. Not having been for over a year I wondered if the elements that have always drawn me would still be noteworthy ; they were. Excellent food, efficient and friendly service all at extremely reasonable prices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DavidDCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Public Relations Manager at The Vojan, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Hi DavidDCL,

Thanks for an articulate and glowing review!

Nothing more we can say except see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

I've always been a fan of the vojan. Food is consistently good and prices acceptable.

What isn't acceptable is to be waiting two hours before the main course is served.

I am writing this in the restaurant and we are still waiting.


They've just started serving us.

In the end they reduced our bill to compensate us but the whole thing was pretty painful.

Shame really. It's hard when a retardant is busy but when you've got two under tens and a baby with you you'd hope you would get some service.

Can't help but feel let down.

At least they acknowledged the issue and apologised.

Puts you off a bit though.

1  Thank Mrcellular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Public Relations Manager at The Vojan, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Hi Mrcellular,

We are so sorry you experienced slow service, we do ensure that our food is still the same standard whether we are busy or not, we have lots of capable staff and a very streamlined way of working in our kitchen, but even so it did not work for you and for that we can only apologise and hope you will return. We hope you appreciated the compensation on the bill.

See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Went with the family to the Vojan for the 1st time this week, it certainly won't be the last. The food was lovely, excellent value too. Service was friendly and good. A very enjoyable evening indeed

1  Thank Anniepops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Public Relations Manager at The Vojan, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Hi Anniepops,

Thanks for writing a review for us. We are really glad you enjoyed it and look forward to serving you again soon!

:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vojan also viewed

Chipping Ongar, Ongar
 
 
Chelmsford, Essex
Billericay, Essex
 

Been to The Vojan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing