We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and interesting day out”

Epping Ongar Railway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Epping Ongar Railway is a volunteer run heritage railway which operates steam and diesel hauled trains through 5.5 miles of picturesque rolling countryside and through Epping Forest, along the former London Underground Central Line. We run a variety of special events through the year, including Peppa Pig, 1940's, Halloween Ghost Trains, Santa and Mince Pie Specials. Please check our website for opening times and fares information. over 6 miles of the former London Underground Central Line.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fun and interesting day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Found the attraction on tripadvisor and bought tickets on line before going to Ongar. Parking was no problem on the BH monday. Very nice and well kept platform and ticket office. Very well kept steam engine pulling a good number of carriages. Very smooth ride down to north weald, good fun watching engine moving from back to front. Time for a quick ride with a diesel pull to end of line at Coopersale and back before getting vintage bus to Epping. Time for a look around and then lunch. Caught the faster 339 bus back to North Weald, and train back to Ongar. Both trains had their first class carriages available. Tuck and souvenir shops at station, not big but adequate. Finished off day with walk around ongar. Overall an enjoyable day out on very well maintained vehicles and also nice to see quite a number of vehicles being restored to what looked to be very good condition.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    92
    22
    15
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chipping Ongar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Back In Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of taking a ride on this old railway, It was a very nice experience lovely and quaint, it felt as if you had gone back in time, outside the actual station there was a pile of old brown suit cases which made it even more authentical !! we got off the train at North Weald to have a Pub Lunch and then we came back to Ongar on the old Double Decker Bus it was super !!

I do appreciate a lot of work has gone into the restoration of this railway but my gripe is it was quite expensive,it was a treat for my hubby because it was our wedding anniversary but we couldn't afford to do this very often, and we live local

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EOR-GM, General Manager at Epping Ongar Railway, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Many thanks for visiting Epping Ongar Railway and we are delighted that you had a great visit as you stepped back in time with us at our award winning railway.
We normally offer THREE heritage experiences on each day we are open, and our tickets are like a heritage travel-card, you can travel on ANY of the transport experiences, as many times as you like, all day long!
We hope you will come back and visit us again soon, supporting the good work of the volunteers as we work to preserve our transport heritage for future generations.
Regards, EOR General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An ok afternoon out for the family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Was an ok afternoon out with the family and great I would imagine if you are a train enthusiast. Very dedicated volunteers looking after, and restoring the engines. For a family I thought it was expensive but worth it even if its just a one off.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Russell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent way to spend an afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Not much to add to what's already been written other than to say that we spent a great afternoon on the bus & trains despite not being enthusiasts. The effort that has been put in to getting the machinery and station buildings to their present state is clear to see and we were amazed at the number of staff (presumably all volunteers), all of whom were unfailingly polite and courteous.

I would thoroughly recommend this as a great way to spend a serene morning, afternoon or day in the countryside. There is a picnic area at Ongar and a buffet car at North Weald so I would recommend combining this with a look around Epping and Ongar. We also visited the tea rooms in the back of Mr Grumpy's sweet shop in Ongar which I would also highly recommend.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank westhamtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We had a very pleasant time. The staff were very friendly and helpful but a little over priced. They had an Easter egg hunt which my 7 year old son greatly enjoyed.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Epping Ongar Railway also viewed

 
Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex
 

Been to Epping Ongar Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing