We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, reasonably priced local food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Heritage Kitchen

Heritage Kitchen
Ranked #7 of 21 Restaurants in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Local Cayman food at it's very best. Recommended by all who have eaten there. Written up as the place to go to in the Cayman Islands by the New York Times.Heritage Kitchen lies snuggled next to Boggy Sands Road in West Bay, serving some of the best local food.Fresh fish fry, fritters and fish tea are some of the most popular dishes.Diners eat at wooden tables outside the tiny restaurant or can sit on the sea wall a few feet away and watch the waves.The restaurant is behind the Heritage shopping centre at the four-way stop.Open Wed/Thu until 8pm,Fri/Sat until 10 pm and Sunday until 8 pm which is our Barbeque Day!
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good, reasonably priced local food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We found Heritage Kitchen on our quest for reasonably priced local food while vacationing in Grand Cayman. We ordered the barbeque ribs, barbeque chicken and coconut grouper for take-out. Each meal came with rice & beans, fried plantains, potato salad and a half cob of corn; and was way more than enough food for our family of four. The coconut grouper was just ok but the barbeque chicken and ribs were excellent. We'd love to go back just for the ribs but they're only available on Sundays.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nittany92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    94
    24
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
130 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Darn good food and EXCELLENT value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

This restaurant is located going north from seven mile beach and right on the street before the Esso gas station and Timbuktu restaurant which is on the right. ( on the way to Turtle Farm) We tried the different grouper platters and thought we had simply found a taste of heaven. My husband was kind enough to get out and order because it was excruciatingly hot that day, but the food was beyond belief (off the hook as the saying goes) In addition there is a lovely view of the water behind you as you park facing the restaurant. The owner and her staff were quite friendly and you could taste the love she has for cooking in her food! It is definitely a MUST GO while visiting the Cayman islands!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Redreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“best $10 you will spend in GC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Left the cozy confines of the ritz one afternoon to try this place. So glad we did. The setting is nothing spectacular, nor was it expected to be. But the coconut grouper was delicious. I am not an onion eater, so I scraped those off. The remaining blend of the salty group and sweet coconut was fabulous. No onions next time. The salad is nothing to write home about, but that was expected. The little roll is good, although a bit of yeast bomb in your stomach. The lady working the window was a sweetheart. Has to be one of the best bargains on the island.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lrr720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best Food Value on Seven Mile Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Awesome food! For example, Cayman Style Grouper for $10 (Cayman $)! Enough to feed two people if you're not too hungry. The women who work here are warm, funny, and willing to tease just enough to make you laugh. On our most recent trip, we ate here three times. If you're staying on the north end of SMB, it's a no brainer to eat here. Also, they have a great BBQ on Sundays with chicken and ribs. Be advised, they're closed on Monday & Tuesday.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SnorkelRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville Florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Outstanding food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We ate here twice because we liked it so much! We had the same thing twice which was the coconut grouper. It was outstanding! It comes with rice and a small garden salad with plantains. There is limited seating under a tent or they have a few picnic tables in the shade. The view is so pretty. It is right on the beach and the water is a gorgeous blue. This is a wonderful quick lunch spot. The lady who served us was super nice and friendly. I wish I could have the recipe for the fish!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank northfloridafolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage Kitchen also viewed

 
Old Man Bay, Grand Cayman
West Bay, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Heritage Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing