We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Amazing day trip with Captain Jon and Oscar

This is our third time to book a trip with Mainstay Sailing and once again, Jon exceeded our... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
abswiltex
,
Midland, Texas
Amazing!!!

There were four of us on the catamaran for a four hour tour. All I can say was it was amazing!!! Al... read more

Reviewed January 24, 2019
dianep510
,
Dalton Gardens, Idaho
via mobile
Read all 82 reviews
  
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveler rating
82
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain john sailing catamaran starfish point stingray city sail home big fun splash pool grand cayman day trip rum point highlight of our trip an absolute blast hour tour feed the stingrays took great care great pictures private charter
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 82 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2016

We had the most amazing day out on the water with Jon and Oscar! So many fantastic qualities, I could go on and on. We were three generations, and they were just fabulous and attentive to all of us. Definitely the highlight of our trip to Grand Cayman!

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank lissyl437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonnoGrandCayman, Owner at Mainstay Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2016

Thank you for your very kind comments.
We have just finished with Spring Break , phew, and getting around to responding to our valued guests.
Cool reviews like yours make us even happier than we are , playing around on boats like big kids ! If you guys have a great time , it makes it all worth it. ...like its a real job !
Sincerely, thank you.
Jon....and that cheeky , smiley Oscar !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2016

Capt John, Oscar, and Wes all did a great job our excursion!
Our whole group had an great day!
I would absolutely recommend Mainstay Sailing to all my friends
We will absolutely be back to the Cayman Island
And we will absolutely be back to visit Capt John!

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2016 via mobile

John and his mates Wes and Oscar were great! Just great friendly people. We swam with the stingrays, snorkeling on the reef and went to starfish beach. Coolers available for drinks or a frig for sandwiches as well as they had fresh fruit for us. Pineapple, watermelon, and honeydew, etc. We had 13 people with plenty of room. Highly recommend for your stay in the Cayman's.

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank KelliCrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2016

what a wonderful day we had with john and oscar! beautiful boat, amazing crew! the day could not have been better. jon was a great captain, guide, teacher. oscar too! learned a lot and had so much fun. a memorable day!!! highly recommend to anyone! best day ever!!!!

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank stephencU7400PW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2015

We booked a full day trip with Jon aboard the Enchantress, a beautiful, top notch catamaran for our last full day in Grand Cayman. Jon was very helpful and accommodating, even going as far as picking us up at Kaibo since we were staying on the East End. He was willing to tailor the day to what we wanted to do, he made some great suggestions and we decided to spend the majority of the day snorkeling and sailing.

We started off by trolling (Jon pulling us on a rope behind the catamaran) for conch. Oscar, Jon's first mate, then proceeded to make conch ceviche, which was out of this world! We went snorkeling at 3 different places along the barrier reef where there was not a sole around us. Our last stop was at the Stingray City sandbar, where Oscar brought out squid so that we could feed the stingrays. We finished the day off by sailing back to Kaibo thoroughly exhausted and relaxed at the same time.

Jon and Oscar were both gracious and helpful the whole time. They made our last day of vacation a truly memorable one! I could not recommend this trip enough to anyone who would like to spend a lovely day out on the water.

Date of experience: November 2015
1  Thank Magnolia22Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews