We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good, you will want to go again!”
Review of Mainstay Sailing

Mainstay Sailing
Ranked #7 of 25 Tours in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Grand Cayman's finest private sailing charter. Beautiful 45' Sailing catamaran and a 47’ power cat with plenty of space. The yachts offer 4 cabins all with en-suite, large sociable cockpit and deck space.Daysails are our specialty, snorkel the reef, swim with the rays, fishing, tubing, exhausting the kids! While you relax.Our rating speaks for itself.See you in The Cayman Islands.
Reviewed February 6, 2016

My family group (7 adults and 2 teenagers) had a fabulous day with Jon and Oscar on our last trip to Cayman. It was so good, we are going again in May 2016. We've already booked the charter. My adult children are still talking about our adventures of swimming with the stingrays and snorkeling with the starfish. Jon is a charming and welcoming host. We wish we could have booked a charter to Cuba! So tempting. Maybe next time...

Thank CarolAnn1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonnoGrandCayman, Owner at Mainstay Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2016

Hi Carol
Thanks so much for your shining review.
I see Cuba calls you ? If you are up for it , we are

The May trip is booked for you guys and I look forward to another fun day on the water.

Dreaming of snow in Colorado right now ! It's been years since my last ski so how about a trade :)

Cheers
Jon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"captain john"
in 8 reviews
"sailing catamaran"
in 3 reviews
"stingray city"
in 15 reviews
"starfish point"
in 6 reviews
"spent several days"
in 2 reviews
"splash pool"
in 2 reviews
"rum point"
in 5 reviews
"big fun"
in 2 reviews
"snorkeling stops"
in 2 reviews
"great trip"
in 5 reviews
"grand cayman"
in 20 reviews
"an absolute blast"
in 2 reviews
"day trip"
in 4 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 4 reviews
"took great care"
in 3 reviews
"private charter"
in 3 reviews
"feed the stingrays"
in 2 reviews
Filter

50 - 54 of 78 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2016

We had the most amazing day out on the water with Jon and Oscar! So many fantastic qualities, I could go on and on. We were three generations, and they were just fabulous and attentive to all of us. Definitely the highlight of our trip to Grand Cayman!

Thank lissyl437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonnoGrandCayman, Owner at Mainstay Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2016

Thank you for your very kind comments.
We have just finished with Spring Break , phew, and getting around to responding to our valued guests.
Cool reviews like yours make us even happier than we are , playing around on boats like big kids ! If you guys have a great time , it makes it all worth it. ...like its a real job !
Sincerely, thank you.
Jon....and that cheeky , smiley Oscar !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2016

Capt John, Oscar, and Wes all did a great job our excursion!
Our whole group had an great day!
I would absolutely recommend Mainstay Sailing to all my friends
We will absolutely be back to the Cayman Island
And we will absolutely be back to visit Capt John!

Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2016 via mobile

John and his mates Wes and Oscar were great! Just great friendly people. We swam with the stingrays, snorkeling on the reef and went to starfish beach. Coolers available for drinks or a frig for sandwiches as well as they had fresh fruit for us. Pineapple, watermelon, and honeydew, etc. We had 13 people with plenty of room. Highly recommend for your stay in the Cayman's.

Thank KelliCrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2016

what a wonderful day we had with john and oscar! beautiful boat, amazing crew! the day could not have been better. jon was a great captain, guide, teacher. oscar too! learned a lot and had so much fun. a memorable day!!! highly recommend to anyone! best day ever!!!!

Thank stephencU7400PW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mainstay Sailing also viewed

Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Mainstay Sailing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing