We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great family house”
other travelers have booked this property
Street view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Street view
Blue skies and blue water seen from the living room window
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Street view
Blue skies and blue water seen from the living room window
Diving the North Wall at 90ft.
Island resident
Always time for more diving
View of Georgetown at the south end of Seven Mile Beach
Beach diagonally across the street from Tiki House
Yes, the water IS this blue!
The pier at the public beach
Sunset on the beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
West Bay, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SME60
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family house”
Reviewed January 5, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We had a wonderful stay at Tiki house. The location on the north end of Seven Mile Beach is very nice - the beach was fabulous for sunning, swimming and snorkeling. The house was clean, tidy and well stocked with towels and kitchen needs. The layout of the house is fun and quirky. We had poker games in the game room and we barbecued in the lovely flowered patio area. The owner was easy to communicate with and his instructions where clear and thorough. I would definitely stay at Tiki house again.

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2017
I am delighted that our guest had a wonderful stay at Tiki House and am most appreciative of his sharing his experience with Trip Advisor. A good part of our business is repeat, and we look forward to welcoming he and his family back soon!
Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter A
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Protect your belongings”
Reviewed December 17, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

The location (away from the tourist spots) and proximity to the ocean and places to eat make this a desirable location. During the booking the owner was very responsive.

However, we experienced issues with a local resident who kept coming on to the property by entering a gate. We had to contact the owner day one to say this individual was asking for food and for alcohol. He told us his property manager had notified the police. The next day we received an email which said the police had contacted him and he should not be coming back onto the property. The second night he returned while we were eating dinner and knocked on our door. We did not answer the door but witnessed him through the window. A few minutes after he left, our daughter remembered she had left her phone on the table outside. The vagrant had stolen her phone, credit card and drivers license.

The police and property manager were contacted . We were told they knew this individual and that he had never stolen before and they would find him. We followed up before we left the island and were told they couldn't locate him.

Great home but I wouldn't recommend this place. The owner clearly knew this was a problem and did nothing to warn us in advance. When we wrote him to express our disappointed he chose to not respond.

If you do decide to go watch your personal belongings and bring ear plugs as the home sits on a very busy road and you will hear cars going by all night long.

Following are the emails between my wife and the owner..
Kathy
Mark spoke to the police about the guy.
if he comes onto the property they can arrest him for trespassing.
hopefully he will not be back

i hope that all else is going well with your stay at Tiki House.
let me know of any issues
rob

Robert White
Owner of TikiHouse
TikiHouseCayman.com
Hi Robert. All is great love the house scared of the driving! But this evening we were having wine on the patio and a man came by and asked for food. We said sorry we are just having a glass of wine...... and he did move on. But then just now at 7 he came back to the door as we were inside finishing dinner and knocked and wanted liquor and asked if we'd buy him some.
..... not sure if we should be concerned. Grandma and my daughter not feeling so comfortable. Do we call someone if he returns????
Thanks kathy

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 25, 2016
I am sorry that the guest's daughter either misplaced or had her phone taken.
The guest indicated that on the first night of their visit, they were enjoying cocktails in the garden and a person came onto the property and asked them for food and liquor. They did not give him anything and he left without incident..
I responded to our guest that I know the gentleman who came up to them. He is a special needs person that I have known for some time and who is completely harmless. I related to her that I usually chat with him for a bit, give him a bottle of cold water and send him on his way. I also indicated to her that if he made them nervous , he had no right to be on the property and to tell him to leave, and if he refused to do so,, to call 911.
The guest did not respond to my message.
The next night the guest indicated that he came by again while they were inside and knocked on the door. They did not answer. She related that he left and at that point her daughter indicated that she thought she had left her phone on the table in the garden out by the gate to the road. It was not there when they went out to look... They do not allege that they saw him or anyone else take it.
I told them to call the police . I also had our terrific on island manager come by that evening as well. He met with the officer and our guest .
The gentleman was located and he denied taking the phone . I believe personally that he is mentally incapable of theft. As no one witnessed the possible theft of the phone left out at night on the table by the gate to the road, there was nothing more that anyone could do.
I believe that the message to this incident is, that while Cayman is paradise, one still needs to keep their wits about them whether they are staying at the Ritz Carlton or beautiful Tiki House by the sea.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tdawson89...
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
“The Best Vacation Spot”
Reviewed October 8, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Our stay at the Tiki House was phenomenal! We first booked this place in March to stay for a week and unfortunately our trip was shortened by our inability to depart from Denver on time because of a blizzard. Our host, Rob, was gracious enough to extend an invitation for us to return for another stay at the TikiHouse in October. We loved the TIkiHouse. It is very roomy and comfortable. The place was clean and welcoming when we arrived. It is in walking distance of good restaurants and across the street from the best snorkeling beach on the island. We explored the whole island, but found that this part of Seven Mile beach was the best place to stay. It is away from the crowds and touristy areas, but easily accessible to all attractions. Thanks, Rob, for being the best host ever!

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the host, Rob, being so accommodating
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2016
Trudy
I am delighted that you and your family had a wonderful experience
and look forward to welcoming you back to Tiki House on your next visit to the island.
Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pscowenho...
Goshen, Connecticut
1 review
“R-A-T-S! Literally rats.”
Reviewed September 27, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

R-A-T-S! Literally rats. We booked a 10 day stay at the Tiki House but ended departing for another rental after 5 days but more on that later. The Tiki House is a tolerable rental. The location provides good access to seven mile beach [although you do need to drive everywhere as the beach across the street is less than appealing], the house itself is a decent size, with a good layout and comes with a well-stocked kitchen. But do not be fooled. The house is worn. The house is musty. When we arrived one of the beds was broken [the owner did nothing to address when informed], the chairs in the courtyard are torn and rusted, and the upstairs floor is nothing more than a cheap laminate that has soft spots. The house was well stocked with towels but did not have beach chairs or a cooler as advertised. While the house is proximate to SMB it is located a a bend on a fairly busy road [keep in mind we were there in the slow season] meaning you will hear traffic at most hours and have to deal with a difficult driveway entry / exit. The house is not what we envisioned when we booked, however, we would have stayed through our reservation given the money we spent however we were forced to leave due to an infestation of rats. Rats were present at the outset of our trip but by the middle of our stay were running through courtyard, overhead trullece, and on the roof of the buildings making it impossible to use the outside living area. We were lucky to find an inexpensive rental on the water that was beautifully appointed saving our vacation. Rob, the owner of the Tiki House refused to refund any of the money for the unused days.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2016
It is truly tragic when someone comes to paradise and is unhappy from the moment they arrive.
The most telling comment in this review is that they found lower priced accommodations. Their actions lead me to believe that they found these accommodations on-line before their arrival to Tiki House and were looking for any reason to get out of their obligation to us.
Any reason is certainly what they came up with.
In reference to their major theme, rats, when they called us about this "infestation," our property manager met with the professional pest control company at the property immediately. Pest control found no evidence of rats either inside the home or on the grounds. They set traps and monitored them daily for the week; not a single rodent was discovered. Obviously, the guest mistook the long tails of the resident Cayman iguanas, often found in trees throughout the island, for rodents.
Further example, illustrating their motive to break their reservation, is borne out by the constant flood of phone calls and e-mails sent literally from the moment of their arrival with complaints. We explained that, as much as it would be our preference, we have never provided or ever stated in our listing perishable items including coolers, beach chairs, etc. Each contact ended with direct statements that if we gave them their money back they would not file a bad review.

Mark, our manager of many years, as always went above and beyond in his effort to make their stay enjoyable. He personally purchased and delivered a grill to the property even though we have never provided one because of issues with upkeep and safety to the property and our guests. As mentioned, the house has a fully equipped kitchen and many wonderful dining choices nearby. Mark also directed them to places locally where they could purchase in inexpensive cooler for the beach.

Tiki House is officially licensed as a guest house by the Government of the Cayman Islands Department of Tourism. As such we are subject to rigorous inspection by the fire marshall, the building codes compliance official, and the department of tourism inspector. Ironically, these annual inspections were completed during the week just prior to the arrival of these guests. Tiki House, as usual, passed with flying colors. Issues such as broken beds, rusted chairs, mildew smell, and soft wood floors are all issues that these inspectors would have noted and required that we address in order to be licensed.

History is the best context. Tiki House is rented over 30 times a year. None of these items were brought to our attention by any of our prior guests. Our previous guest departed Tiki House just a few days before the complainant's arrival. Nothing out of the ordinary was reported. Tiki House is rented over 30 times a year. In fact, a search of our reviews on the Trip Advisor site shows nothing but five stars and positive comments.

We are proud of our Cayman home and congratulate our outstanding management team for delivering a consistently terrific guest experience.

I will only respond directly to the mendacious comments of the of this reviewer by wishing them best of luck in their future travels elsewhere.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glen l
1 review
“Had a Great time!”
Reviewed April 25, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We rented a car which you need if staying in this house. The house was clean and everything worked. The house is across the street and a little bit up the block from where you can swim or snorkel. our only complaint is they could have left some saran wrap garbage bags dish soap and other things needed in the kitchen that you may not want to buy a full package of just to leave there. The groceries were expensive enough. The store is right up the block which was convienent.. The lizard poop on the patio did have to be cleaned each day but a broom and hose for water is right there. We really had a great time

Date of stay: April 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amy m
Portland, Maine
1 review
“what a wonderful home!!”
Reviewed February 21, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Our experience with Tiki House was perfect from the very beginning. Robert, the owner, was almost immediately responsive, from the initial request through to the couple of questions we had prior to departure. Tiki House is clean, comfortable, and well appointed for every family comfort. The beds are comfortable and there was plenty of room to unload suitcases and hang clothing in the closets. The kitchen is well stocked and user-friendly. Over the course of a week we made most of our meals in Tiki House and lacked for nothing. The appliances are new. We made use of the local, large grocery store that is a very short drive or an easy walk away. The washing machine and dryer completed the list of conveniences. Tiki House is less than a two minute walk from the beautiful Caribbean, with lovely rolling waves, a clean beach, and a reef that was perfect for new snorkelers. There is a lovely restaurant on the beach where you can enjoy a nice dinner outside. The location of Tiki House is ideal if you don't want to be in the middle of the most touristy parts of the island. Renting a car allowed us to explore the island, enjoy the parts we wanted to experience, and feel like we were coming "home" to our lovely patio under the bougainvillea at the end of the day. We highly recommend Robert and Tiki House and would definitely stay there again if we have the opportunity.

Date of stay: February 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2016
thank you so much amy for the good words. we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you all on your next visit to the island
rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neal m
1 review
“pass on this one”
Reviewed February 18, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Had to clean patio just to enter the house, HUGE iguana problem, bedrooms are small, and house was NOT cleaned. Location is good . Water pipe broke and flooded house (not owners fault) which at least cleaned the floor!

Date of stay: January 2016
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2016
tiki house has an on island manager who is avaialble to our guest 24 hours a day. we have no record of this guest contacting our manager nor did they contact us regarding cleanliness issues. it is difficult to respond a month after the fact. tiki house recieves rave reviews from almost all of our guests and our cleaning team is first rate.
the green iguanas are certainly huge, most of our guests find them charming. i am sorry that this guest was offended by them
rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing