We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views”

Osetra Bay Restaurant and Lounge
Ranked #9 of 21 Restaurants in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Caribbean, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Relaxed and pleasant waterfront restaurant with both indoor and outdoor lounges. Beautifully prepared fresh seafood, steaks and pasta with Caymanian/Caribbean flavors and ingredients. Suitable for families with children.
Miami
Level Contributor
604 reviews
340 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Stunning views”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

The location of this place is incredible! The views of the ocean makes the experience calm and serene. The food is good but not the best I've had. The service is adequate.

Helpful?
Thank AJCC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    47
    17
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Are you kidding me?”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Seriously, this is one of the worst restaurant we have EVER eaten at. From beginning to the end, just everything about this restaurant screams WORST! .... from the service to the food. There were 6 of us dining, and we all had something we couldn't eat. We had the most obnixious waiter, combined with the food ... and then the bill came. We had conch fritters that were so salty no one could eat them, sea bass at $52 US that could have just as easily been another type of fish since it was covered with sauce that tasted like canned gravy. Someone at our table ordered a wine by the glass that wasn't up to the $20 par, sent it back, was given attitude by the waiter, and never taken off the bill.
Don't waste your money, too many places on the island to go that are great! Would recommend Brasserie for example, phenonomal food/service!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suebthetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany, Connecticut
Level Contributor
104 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Superb from beginning to end”
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Stopped in with no reservations and were warmly greeted. Asked if we minded waiting so that they could set a waterside table for us. In less than five minutes we were seated at a prime spot with a view and gentle breezes.
The menu is both cosmopolitan and traditional to please a wide range of palates.
The white linen clad staff are personable and efficient without being rushed.
If you need an relaxed but elegant dinner spot that is sure to please and impress add Osetra Bay to your list.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DavidPF80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top Shelf Food & Service!”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Just came back from a trip to the Caymans and had the pleasure of dining at Osetra! In fact, we enjoyed is so much that we went back two days later and had another meal. That said, the place is amazing! It sits right on the water and as you first enter the front entryway, it feels like you are walking into a sexy/swanky hotel in Las Vegas or Hollywood, CA. All the tables sit right over the water/beach and it's open air dining... We thought that the mosquitos might be an issue, but none of us got bitten.

The food was amazing and between the two visits, there were even different menu changes, indicating that they routinely change up the menu and offerings. I had the fresh local Yellowtail and it was one of the best meals I have ever had.

I had my 6 year old son with me and when we first walked in, my first thought was that this was not going to be good and was concerned that we had made a mistake by bringing our son. I couldn't have been more wrong! They have a kids menu and even brought him a dessert at the end of his meal.

Of special mention were the manager, Ivan, and our server team, Alex and Alix...

Top Shelf dining experience! Absolutely amazing!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mbasciano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best of the Best”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

By far the best food, service, ambience, location, on the island. The tasting menu has been replaced with an a la carte menu, which not only gets the palate juices flowing but explains the source of the poultry, meat, fish etc. If you want to go out for one special dinner on your stay, or you are on island then this is it...

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank S12MMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osetra Bay Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

 
West Bay, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Osetra Bay Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing