We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wow!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osetra Bay Restaurant and Lounge

Osetra Bay Restaurant and Lounge
Ranked #8 of 21 Restaurants in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, International, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Relaxed and pleasant waterfront restaurant with both indoor and outdoor lounges. Beautifully prepared fresh seafood, steaks and pasta with Caymanian/Caribbean flavors and ingredients. Suitable for families with children.
Grand Cayman
2 reviews
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

What a great experience! The food, service and atmosphere were exceptional. A must-visit restaurant. We will be returning to Osetra upon our next visit to Grand Cayman. Milan from Bulgaria was our waiter and was very knowledgeable about the food, provided great service and was very friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    45
    17
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We tried Osetra Bay on a rainy, windy night that was less than ideal for waterfront dining, but were still quite comfortable indoors with the view. Upon arrival, we were a bit disappointed that the tasting menu which we had expected to order had been discontinued for the off-season. However, the staff stepped up and made everything right. They suggested that we wanted to order an assortment of dishes that they would be happy for us to share them as separate courses, to arrange wine pairings for each and to pour split glasses for us as well. The result was essentially a fantastic custom tasting menu. We enjoyed everything, but the wahoo ceviche was particularly delicious and the cheese plate was delightful. The wine pairings were fabulous (Thank you sommelier from Bulgaria! Wish we'd gotten your name!) We didn't make it back on this trip, but will visit again next year!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gregeisenhauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Totally enjoyable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Dining at Osetra Bay is a totally enjoyable experience. The atmosphere has a trendy vibe to it, but ultimately the experience is very relaxing given the skill of the staff. The food rivals the best restaurants in New York City. The amuse bouche is a work of art.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bluewater90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perhaps the finest restaurant in the Caribbean!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

The restaurant describes itself as "World Cuisine, Caribbean Flair" and indeed it is! Young Chef Joseph Watters (superbly trained in Paris including one 2 and one 3 star Michelin restaurant) and our host Ivan (I didn't ask for his last name but he's very gracious) oversee a restaurant of impeccable quality and creative genius. I have visited many fine restaurants in my 25 years of vacationing on some 12 Caribbean islands and Osetra Bay Restaurant is perhaps our finest finest experience. From the moment we arrived we knew this restaurant was going to be a delightful and special place. Beautifully appointed and with excellent and ample staff our entire dining experience was wonderful! Starting with an amuse bouche which was so creatively and beautifully presented that no description I could offer would sufficiently describe the sheer fun of it...let alone the delightful tastes! The taste of every course was superb from the Diver Scallops on puree appetizer to Chef's special salad (with poached clams and shaved scallops laced in delicate and very fresh lettuce leaves and mango) to Wahoo filet and perfectly done steak with wine reduction, sauce bernaise and a "scaffolding" of thick-cut pomme frites which Chef Joseph told us he called "pont-pont potatoes" reminiscent of the construction of Pont Nuef....each dish was excellent and delicious and classically served (we loved the special service! and yes, it may have been a bit over the top but elegantly so!). The surprise intermezzo of rosemary lime sorbet and lovely final tray of little desserts added beautiful touches to an evening by the sea. Just fantastic! A place to return to over and over!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bern2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
149 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Fine Dinning at it's Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

5 Star, Fine dinning on the North Sound waterfront. From the time you start walking into the restaurant you will be blown away by all the detail of a 5 Star experience. Awesome serve, food and waterfront ambience. Go early, just before sunset and then enjoy the caribbean stars above your table.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JayDive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osetra Bay Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

 
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Osetra Bay Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing