We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant”

Osetra Bay Restaurant and Lounge
Ranked #9 of 21 Restaurants in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Caribbean, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Relaxed and pleasant waterfront restaurant with both indoor and outdoor lounges. Beautifully prepared fresh seafood, steaks and pasta with Caymanian/Caribbean flavors and ingredients. Suitable for families with children.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We tried Osetra Bay on a rainy, windy night that was less than ideal for waterfront dining, but were still quite comfortable indoors with the view. Upon arrival, we were a bit disappointed that the tasting menu which we had expected to order had been discontinued for the off-season. However, the staff stepped up and made everything right. They suggested that we wanted to order an assortment of dishes that they would be happy for us to share them as separate courses, to arrange wine pairings for each and to pour split glasses for us as well. The result was essentially a fantastic custom tasting menu. We enjoyed everything, but the wahoo ceviche was particularly delicious and the cheese plate was delightful. The wine pairings were fabulous (Thank you sommelier from Bulgaria! Wish we'd gotten your name!) We didn't make it back on this trip, but will visit again next year!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gregeisenhauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    47
    17
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Totally enjoyable.”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Dining at Osetra Bay is a totally enjoyable experience. The atmosphere has a trendy vibe to it, but ultimately the experience is very relaxing given the skill of the staff. The food rivals the best restaurants in New York City. The amuse bouche is a work of art.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bluewater90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perhaps the finest restaurant in the Caribbean!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The restaurant describes itself as "World Cuisine, Caribbean Flair" and indeed it is! Young Chef Joseph Watters (superbly trained in Paris including one 2 and one 3 star Michelin restaurant) and our host Ivan (I didn't ask for his last name but he's very gracious) oversee a restaurant of impeccable quality and creative genius. I have visited many fine restaurants in my 25 years of vacationing on some 12 Caribbean islands and Osetra Bay Restaurant is perhaps our finest finest experience. From the moment we arrived we knew this restaurant was going to be a delightful and special place. Beautifully appointed and with excellent and ample staff our entire dining experience was wonderful! Starting with an amuse bouche which was so creatively and beautifully presented that no description I could offer would sufficiently describe the sheer fun of it...let alone the delightful tastes! The taste of every course was superb from the Diver Scallops on puree appetizer to Chef's special salad (with poached clams and shaved scallops laced in delicate and very fresh lettuce leaves and mango) to Wahoo filet and perfectly done steak with wine reduction, sauce bernaise and a "scaffolding" of thick-cut pomme frites which Chef Joseph told us he called "pont-pont potatoes" reminiscent of the construction of Pont Nuef....each dish was excellent and delicious and classically served (we loved the special service! and yes, it may have been a bit over the top but elegantly so!). The surprise intermezzo of rosemary lime sorbet and lovely final tray of little desserts added beautiful touches to an evening by the sea. Just fantastic! A place to return to over and over!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bern2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
176 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Fine Dinning at it's Best”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

5 Star, Fine dinning on the North Sound waterfront. From the time you start walking into the restaurant you will be blown away by all the detail of a 5 Star experience. Awesome serve, food and waterfront ambience. Go early, just before sunset and then enjoy the caribbean stars above your table.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JayDive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Culinary Experience”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband and I have travelled the world and dined in some of the finest restaurants. The meal and experience we had tonight was at the very top of our list. Very congenial, friendly staff who were extremely attentive. My husband likes his filet mignon prepared "Pittsburgh" and he sad it was "perfect" and rivaled the best steakhouse. There was a beautiful view as we looked over the water and then later the stars. It was obvious that the chef took great care and thought toward every thing from the bread to the final dessert course. We will definitely return and highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osetra Bay Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
West Bay, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Osetra Bay Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing