We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait!”
Review of Tim-Buc-Tuu Diner - CLOSED

Tim-Buc-Tuu Diner
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had to wait a bit for our snapper, but were amazed when we got an entire fresh fish, deliciously prepared. Great little roadside stop.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna31522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    74
    20
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, ma
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Looks aren't everything”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This tiny purple building sitting on a busy street that never seems to have any cars around appeared to be some place even the locals avoid but we were wrong. A conversation with a local patron piqued our interest as he said it was his favorite place on the island to eat. We decided to take a chance and found a real gem.

The food was incredible. Everything on the menu is based off of: chicken, beef, pork or seafood. It is served in several variations: with or without veggies, curried, as a fried rice or as a wrap. Some items even offer different sauces. Four of our party tried something different from one another. Two kids picked the same beef and pepper dinner (and one of them is an extremely picky eater!). Everyone one of us went home full and satisfied.

Our choices that day: curried grouper, pork and vegetables with BBQ sauce with white rice, same thing but as a wrap and with a salad, curried chicken with vegetables made spicy with white rice, two orders of pepper steak with vegetables over white rice.

I'd give the place five stars if it were a little nicer looking.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelinfl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Matilda, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Ordered carry out from this restaurant today and really enjoyed the curry grouper...great flavor and reasonably priced.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank cindym123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Local Food churned out quick”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Great homemade bread. Otherwise standard rice, noodle, meat selections. They do not taste fresh made daily, but a home recipe with a reheat taste. The menu looks huge but it is essentially the same thing listed several times with each meat option. Decent but not great.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank trekingrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delivery Delight”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We knew we wanted to eat here based on the reviews, but we decided to try the free delivery instead. Lemon Garlic Snapper was outstanding as was the Pepper Steak.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BGaines823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tim-Buc-Tuu Diner also viewed

West Bay, Grand Cayman
West Bay, Grand Cayman
 
West Bay, Grand Cayman
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing