We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveler rating
32
8
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
32
8
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peace and quiet well appointed and comfortable the cracked conch come home grand cayman bedroom condo west end rented a car grocery store great place to stay full kitchen enjoyed our stay rum point ocean patio caribbean dock
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 43 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2018

Rating 9/10

What a wonderful week! If I could say what I already miss the most, it would be waking up to what must be the most spectacular view in the complex. We did some touring around the island, and I am not sure there is a better view. The beach is wonderfully private and was very quiet (we were visiting at the end of November).

I was travelling with my husband and we were looking for a quiet and relaxing break. This was our first trip to Grand Cayman and it turned out to be ideal for a vacation rental. Several of the local supermarkets were nicer than back in Toronto, so we were able to find anything we could want to get our days started.

Because Villas Pappagallo is at one end of the island, we were worried about the drive, but Grand Cayman is remarkably compact. The drive is only about 15 minutes and there are LOTS of signs directing you to Villas Pappagallo.

On arrival, unit 41 was spectacularly clean and remarkably spacious. It was a 30℃ day outside, and the air conditioning works well throughout. It looks like the two bathrooms were updated very recently; everything worked, and it looked great. The two-floor arrangement made it feel, somehow, more like home; with the master bedroom over the main living area, it shares the same amazing view of the pool and the beach.

The kitchen was nicely appointed and we were surprised to have a dishwasher. Having a washer and dryer was very convenient too. My husband asked me to add that the unit has the fastest internet that he has ever had in a rental--anywhere.

Lee provided us with lots of information prior to our arrival. We took her advice on car rental, dining and food shopping which meant we had more time to explore.

The one bit of advice I would give to anyone visiting is to bring water shoes if you are going to go into the ocean. Unlike other islands I have visited, there is more coral and sea-grass close to the shore. We went to several beaches and found that to be the case. We found Governors Beach the best choice for enjoying the water without any rocky surprises.

If you like Jamaican patties, we vote for the Tastee Patties available at the Tortuga Rum Factory in Georgetown. We tried several restaurants, but if you like something that is very well executed, we did not find better than across the street from the condo at Ristorante Pappagallo.

I am sure we will visit again! The combination of a truly great place to stay, and the incredible convenience of Grand Cayman made for a fantastic stay.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarilynFToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leemacneil, Public Relations Manager at Villas Pappagallo, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2018

Thank you for the amazing review Marilyn! So glad you enjoyed your stay and very happy that the villa met your expectations. We love getting positive feedback and tips that will help other guests with their visit. Sometimes we even learn something new. Looking forward to trying Tastee Patties! Looking forward to hearing from you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2018 via mobile

Welcomed by the staff after a quick text when we landed. Unit 6 is a gem!! Clean and cute! Sleeps up to 4. Tv, internet, phone (local and US), full kitchen, laundry, 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom. Highly recommend unit 6! Just steps from a private beach and pool.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Dan_Jen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leemacneil, Public Relations Manager at Villas Pappagallo, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2018

Thanks for the wonderful review! It means a lot to us to get such great feedback!
Look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018

Staying in this condo was like having our own private beach! We were one unit away from the beach area which was literally steps away. The beach was clean and very private. The greatest number of people on the beach at once was about 10. Seven of those were in our party. The beach is to the north on the end of the island so the sunrises and sunsets were both spectacular! I really hope we get to do this again! This was a condo NOT a hotel so our unit was private with a front and back sitting area.

Room tip: Go to AirBNB and find "Villa Steps from the Sand" Condominium by Mary!
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandGem417sherwood, Public Relations Manager at Villas Pappagallo, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2018

Thanks for the amazing review and so glad to here you had a great vacation! We appreciate you kind comments, and we agree that it is a special property with fabulous features.

Hope to hear from you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2018 via mobile

No one was here to check us in when we arrived at 9pm, the office was closed and we were given no contact information. Contacted the owner and they didnt do much either. You could live somewhere else.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank annie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandGem417sherwood, Manager at Villas Pappagallo, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2018

We are aware that there was an issue with this check in. We are currently investigating.

We take the the arrival process very seriously. We want our guests to have an amazing vacation and historically that has been the case.

If there has been fault at our end the guests will be compensated appropriately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2018

Our villa - #22 was 20 steps from the beach from the front and also from the bedroom. We spent almost every evening at the bedroom patio, enjoying the breeze and the ocean while in shade
Perfect vacation spot for us, far from the tourist hordes, laid back, quiet and great snorkeling off the dock

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Iliketravel101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews