We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Plantation Village Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman(West Bay)(Great Value!)
$175
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shangri-La Boutique Bed & Breakfast(West Bay)(Great Value!)
$447
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa(Seven Mile Beach)
$467
$425
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunshine Suites Resort(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
$263
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Caymanian Vacations(Grand Cayman)(Great Value!)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman(Seven Mile Beach)
$861
$784
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$509
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$412
$369
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
$231
$171
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveler rating
43
36
19
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
36
19
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstime sharescreened in porchseven mile beachsouthern endfree kayaks and bikescoconut joeslow keycamana baymain officecondo unitground floorcayman dollarslocal callsdish soapgeorge townpaper towelspublic bus
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 109 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2011

I stayed at Plantation Village July 2011. While the price is better than some other resorts and having a full apartment with kitchen was very useful, I was less than impressed by my stay overall.

First off, the customer service is virtually non-existent. The front office is only open from 9am to 4pm during the week and much less on the weekend. If you are out and about during the day and need something taken care of when you get back in the evening you are out of luck. The housekeeping service came in during our stay and did a terrible job. The towels were not changed and there was still sand all over the floor.

The location of Plantation Village is on the very edge of seven mile beach. From what we learned while there, the beach had erroded when they dug out the harbor. As a result, the water just off the beach is all rock and the sand is very course, made up of small rocks and shells. It is only a short walk a couple of units over to get to nice sand, but the chairs on seven mile beach are all reserved for guests of the particular hotels and condos.

On one of the mornings we woke up to the sound of garbage truck dropping the dumpster over and over; another morning to leaf blowers and lawn mowers. I'm sure some people were already out and about by the time the racket started (right around 9am) but I like to sleep in a little when I'm on vacation in an island paradise.

To top off the stay, we returned back from dinner and a few drinks Friday night. We were on our way up to our unit, enjoying the evening, when we were confronted by the security guard who yelled at us for being a disruption. While I don't think we were overly bousterous, we apologized and went to continue on our way to the unit. Much to our surprise, the guard started interrogating us about what unit we were staying in and who we were. He then lectured us about how it has to be absolutely silent at night. He told us he needed to write a note to management regarding our noise and told us one of us needed to sign it. We were furious. Our pleasant evening was turned into a nightmare.

I do want to mention that the other visitors and perminant residents were very friendly. When we were not able to get the grill to start, someone stopped and helped get it going for us.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pazmobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

My family of six spent a week in GC at Plantation Village Beach resort. It was a nice place with a good location. Close to downtown, shopping centers , food markets, etc.... Although the resort is not a luxury one, but it's very clean and roomy. I got a three bedroom, 2 baths and a screened sunny room. Not too bad. The beach is a little bit rocky but we can still swim and snorkel. The staff is nice. It's my second time in GC and at Plantation Village. I like the place, it's quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trip reader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Our family group of six recently stayed at Plantation Village Resort for a week. Our primary focus was on scuba diving. The location of the resort is good - a car is still needed to get around, but just about everything you needed or wanted to do was within a few minutes drive.

The resort itself was clean and the grounds were well-maintained. The beach, although narrow, was uncrowded and had umbrellas and chairs available at no charge. There are two pools - on eat the beach and a larger on in the center of the complex. We found the pools to be overtaken by noisy families with screeching children for much of the day, but who goes to Grand Cayman to sit at the pool? We preferred the beach.

The condos were adequately furnished and fairly large. The only real complaint we had was that the entire staff, with the exception of maybe one person, was either unhelpful, indifferent, ignored us, or were downright rude. The office closes at 5:00 so if you need anything at all after that time, you are out of luck. There is no housekeeping whatsoever. You take out your own trash and have to go to the laundry room to haggle with the mean women there to get fresh towels. Normally, at a resort, we get one day of cleaning in a week and every day the housekeeping staff makes the beds, takes out the trash, and leaves fresh towels if you want them. Not here. We had to go to the office for tp, kleenex, soap, etc. Sort of like a self-service resort. I am really not sure why they have anyone at the front office anyway.

We did a timeshare exchange and this was our only choice on this side of the island, but if I were able to choose any resort, there are several others in the area that looked nice and definitely had to have better service.

Room Tip: Almost all of the rooms were spacious with a good location and a nice screened in porch.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelslugbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

If you are looking for a "resort" vacation, do not stay here. This is basically a condo complex with two pools. There is not a restaurant nor even snack bar on site. There is no bar by the pool, so it is BYOB. The condo itself had a nice space but was a bit run down. The entire resort appears to need a renovation. Around the pool nearest the tennis courts, in one area there was a broken lounge and a broken table. These should be replaced and the area used more efficiently. Behind the office, which is the view one sees from the pool, were piles of 5 gallon containers, and other "stuff" that made the area unsightly. Not quite the view that one would want to experience at a resort ! As for the staff, I would have to agree with other reviewers. The staff was not that friendly nor helpful except for Jennifer and the night security guard. On the positive side, this complex is on the beach and has a nice beachfront, but lacks enough lounges to accomodate the guests. The nice thing is that two doors down is the Marriott where one can get a good meal and a nice drink.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Stayed here over the Christmas holiday when our other hotel did not pan out. The rooms are kept clean and the ladies in the office are delightful. They hosted a rum punch party one night with great food and drink. The beach just a few steps to the right of the hotel was like walking on sugar. The pool and grounds are kept immaculate. Loved this place and would go back.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RGS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews