We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$699
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$493
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunshine Suites Resort(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Caymanian Vacations(Grand Cayman)(Great Value!)
$134
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman(Seven Mile Beach)
$809
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort(Seven Mile Beach)
$494
$439
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
$300
$211
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
7 Mile Beach Resort and Club(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
$300
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$300
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (590)
Filter reviews
590 results
Traveler rating
221
211
88
39
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
211
88
39
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseblue iguananorth soundfree shuttlefull kitchenseven mile beachking suiteshuttle servicegrand caymanpool barthe hotel offersjet skigreat pooloff the beaten pathrental carwasher dryeron site
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
480 - 485 of 590 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Brought the family to Grand Cayman and stayed at the Holiday Inn Resort for our spring break. This property is not on seven mile beach and we knew that prior to booking. For those that complain and don't do your homework prior, shame on you!

The property is about 2.5 miles off of the main highway and is very well marked with directional signs. The resort itself was very quiet being on the north shore. No vehicle traffic and no people running around on 7 mile beach. The resort was great with most all of the rooms having either an oceanview or pool view. Rooms were very spacious especially if you have a 1 bedroom suite or larger. Staff was always very friendly and helpful. There was managers happy hour on Monday nights and also had free kayaking 2 days a week which we took advantage of. We had lunch/dinner several times in the restaurant and the food was great. There was a few specials every evening from fish to tacos to salads. Pricing was very reasonable compared to the other restaurants in the Cayman Islands and the kids eat free in the restaurant if staying at this property. There was a large pool that wasn't ever very crowded and could have been a little better picked up in the late evening hours. Tables/chairs were out of place and towels/dishes still on the tables late evening before the pool closed. The beach at the property was very rocky, but they did have a long dock that you could walk out which was extremely peaceful. Only issue was with the roosters that were residents of the property. They did start singing very early in the morning, but the staff had said they were going to be relocated the day after we departed.

All in all we had a great time in Grand Cayman and at this property. As a IHG Platnium member, I would definitely recommend and look forward to our next visit to the Holiday Inn Resort!

Room Tip: One bedroom suites with an oceanview or partial oceanview are great!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bbade514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

To begin with, they are very misleading with their advertising in saying they are in 7 Mile Beach. They are not! I had an "oceanfront" room, which was a man made beach that was probably 200 feet wide at best. Enough for some small water sports, but definitely away from everything. It takes 30 minutes to walk to town and the level of service is atrocious. This was an old abandoned timeshare project that Holiday Inn took under their flag. The hallways all smelled moldy and the rooms although spacious were just not up to par. The gym in literally one treadmill and a broken Pilates machine. Not worth staying here at all!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miami2London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Miami2London,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate to see you did not fully enjoy your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Renovated less then 1 year ago. rooms look fresh with microwave, frig, pull out couch, king bed, small balcony
Friendly & helpful staff.
FANTASTIC local valet man.
LOTS of watersports.
Beach is not the best & you will need footwear

Room Tip: ocean view but inside rooms would be better
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rh55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed here on business, and wanted a quiet stay away from the hustle a bustle.
Hotel was quiet, rooms quite large and adequate. My room overlooked the pool, I would have to agree with a previous review not to get a room looking outward from the complex, waster ground is to the North, a gold course to the south where if you had a room looking onto, you'd have a safety net immediately outside your balcony.
That said, the staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant staff were friendly too.
The hotel is away from the West side main area, and looks out the the North Sound of Grand Cayman facing into the North Easterly winds, so the small hard beach really cannot be swam in.
In conclusion, good for quiet stays, but average hotel on what is an excellent island vacation

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Spongeandcustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Spongeandcustard,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and appreciate your compliments regarding our staff being friendly and helpful. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We started with a timeshare years ago to take our extended family. Since it is on the Sound it is cheaper, not having a swimming beach was not a big deal for us. The units are decent in size and fully furnished so most of our meals are made by us saving money. As the years went by there were promises of a bigger pool and shore improvements. With the recession only the shore got any real attention.

Try to get a room on the ends toward the Sound or viewing the pool. The south side faces a golf course and a net. The north side faces an undeveloped area that looks bad.

We were very hesitant about the ownership changes and especially Holiday Inn. However, the infusion of money has improved the property.

If you are staying a week and intend to dive it is a great spot, with its own dive operator on site. If you plan to drive to Seven Mile beach and Rum Point it works well.

It is not on Seven Mile beach, so avoid it if that is what you want. Consider it if you want a less expensive vacation stay.

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing north or south.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Svidas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Svidas,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews