We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the price!”
Review of Calypso Grill

Calypso Grill
Ranked #5 of 21 Restaurants in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth the price!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was the best meal we had in Grand Cayman! The lobster bisque is delicious. Also you must try the sticky toffee pudding! I would highly recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,087
    310
    123
    42
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food and ambiance!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We love this restaurant and especially their deserts. You will need a reservation and if you go in flip flops and shorts you will feel under-dressed. Be prepared, everything on the island is pricey and the Calypso Grill is no exception.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not to be Missed”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This restaurant is delicious in terms of food and ambience. It is one restaurant we never miss when in Grand Cayman. Both lunch and dinner are excellent. Service is always outstanding and the food is some of the best on the island. The sticky toffee pudding is the best I've ever had!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gailmy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good Atmosphere and Views - Ok food”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The atmosphere, views, and staff make it worth making the treck to go to Calypso Grill. The restaurant's location requires driving to get there, but there were plenty of taxis around and it was not an issue finding transportation back to the hotel. The food is overpriced and not the reason I would suggest the restaurant to someone, but the restaurant's setting is special.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Solid restaurant”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

great food but service seemed a little off the night of our most recent visit as it took a few minutes to be seated even though there were plenty of empty tables. It was actually a little awkward for both us and the hostesss, apparently she was waiting for approval from someone about here we were to be seated. I gather locals/regulars dominate the restaurant and we neither (last trip to GC was 2004)...unfortunately it was hard for me to get by the slow start. Food and drink was as good as we remembered and if you're on North Seven Mile Beach and like fine dining Calypso should be on your GC bucket list.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank red16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calypso Grill also viewed

 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Calypso Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing