We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the wrong-sided drive!”
Review of Calypso Grill

Calypso Grill
Ranked #5 of 21 Restaurants in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Worth the wrong-sided drive!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

It was a harrowing experience driving from Seven Mile Beach to the Calypso - on the wrong side of the road AND on the wrong side of the car!!! - but it was worth it. I had the red snapper and it was fantastic. The service is just as good as the food - our waitress took time to share her story about how she ended up on Grand Cayman from Austria. Although the sun sets on the other side of the island, sit on the outside deck of possible. There was only one disappointment - no parrots were seen!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gleno51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,054
    307
    120
    42
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best restaurant we tried on Grand Cayman!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Calypso Grill looks fairly mundane--like an old shack almost--when you walk up to it, but once you get inside it is wonderful! The food (try the oysters moscow!) and service were top-notch, and the atmosphere looking out on the harbor through their French doors is as good as it gets on Grand Cayman.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank afwmeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You must go...”
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Food, setting, and service were all a "10". We will eat at Calypsos every time we visit. Eating outside was a delight but it would be fine eating inside as well as the decor is elegant. Don't get hung up angling for a sunset meal as the restaurant is east-facing on the water and you won't actually see a sunset, but it is awesome eating outside no matter when.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service in a fun setting”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I ate at Calypso Grill with my wife and friends a couple of weeks ago. It was our first time to the restaurant and we were all impressed with decor and view. It is set in Morgans Harbor which is a lively setting with small boats taking tourists out to swim with stingrays and also local fishermen bringing their fresh catches straight to the door.
I had the fish of the day over the house salad which was perfectly cooked and also tried the fish and chips which was delicious. Our waiter Fabio was excellent and thoroughly explained the menu. He also made me the best Mojito I have ever had. We will definitely come back when we next return to Cayman.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This place was very upbeat and fabulous. The atmosphere was eclectic and the food was fresh and gourmet. Love the shrimp!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VinoVixen1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calypso Grill also viewed

 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Calypso Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing