We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Delicious meal!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calypso Grill

Calypso Grill
Ranked #5 of 21 Restaurants in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Delicious meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Not much to look at, but it was packed -- and we know why! Food was out of this world...great way to celebrate a special occasion.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna31522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,006
    290
    114
    40
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of the best meals on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Blackened Wahoo and Wahoo Escoveitch were both excellent and perfectly seasoned ....loved the crispy potato strands that came with the dish...restaurant a little out of the way but the view of the bay is beautiful

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hsurati1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Family said best meal of the week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

My husband and son said this was by far their favorite meal of the week. We sat outside on the deck, had a wonderful meal on a perfect but breezy day. The atmosphere as the sun went down was beautiful. It was a bit "cozy" (tables sort of close together) but it worked. As others have mentioned...you MUST try the sticky toffee pudding. It was wonderful!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JustMomRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor Springs, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Best atmosphere and food in Cayman. Sticky toffee pudding the best. Sit outside and enjoy the Grand Cayman air. Its only about a fifteen minute drive from Seven Mile Beach and well with it. A beautiful Cayman experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paxson O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
180 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Calypso Experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Our generous friend had a gift certificate for this restaurant and invited my husband and I to go to dinner with him one night. I was very pleased with the level of service we received from our waitress (and the other staff).

While we enjoyed our appetizers, entrees and desserts along with a bottle of wine...I'm not convinced that it was worth the high prices on the menu.

The location of the establishment was nice but the physical space on the outside patio was limited.

Overall, I would go back if I didn't mind splurging a bit and if I was seeking a memorable dessert...sticky toffee pudding!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beach_Addicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calypso Grill also viewed

 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
West Bay, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Calypso Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing