We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect getaway from Brussels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Landgoed Altembrouck
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fouron-le-Comte
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I really have nothing bad to say about this place. The landscape is amazing, the house beautiful and the food out of this world. The staff is also very friendly and attentive.

Although we were the only one with a child (2 years) it was not a problem although the restaurant is not really child friendly.

Highly recommendable!!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank LHARAVTHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wimclaessen, Owner at Landgoed Altembrouck, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your friendly review. Word of mouth is the best way to get promoted. It was a pleasure for us to look after you.
Till we meet again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 143 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

Another reviewer listed the restaurant service as clueless. This was true for us in summer 2012. But the hotel was also sub-par. Room was musty with many flies; shampoo was not replaced and we stayed four nights. Breakfast food selections were limited and FLIES were all over the meats and cheese. Front desk was unfriendly and info from them was inaccurate. Finally, our bill was incorrect in inexcusable ways. We ate dinner only once (who would go back!) but they charged us for another pair of dinners. They "upgraded" our room upon check-in and then charged us for the more expensive room. They added breakfast charges to our bill even though it was included. Our bill was 600 euros more than it should have been. Afterward, they still owed us 190 euros and they have not answered any emails about the promised refund (they said "trust us, we'll refund your money"). We have now taken this to our credit card company. How much of a disaster can one place be???

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Rooms and location are great. Restaurant however is a disaster! Clueless staff, one hour waits between dishes, mix up in orders. People walked out!! Gordon Ramsey or Herman den Blijker: this a nice one for your programme!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank els132000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2009

We spent 2 nights in early december 2009 in this really beautiful chateau. It makes for excellent walking in an English-like country side with Maastricht a 20' busride away.

The renovation was being undertaken with style and taste. Nothing too fancy; all in proper measures.

The diner (they call it 'private-dining') was very good, and the Wagyu meat truly excellent. Never had a taste before of this Japanese 'mother of all meats' but it surely matched its reputation. For the meat alone I would come back...

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark-Almere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2009

I surprised my wife for her 50th birthday with a stay and private dinner with friends and family at Altembrouck, one of the best kept secrets in Belgium, just over the Dutch border, near Maastricht, Liege and Aachen. The owner of Altembrouck, Wim Claessen, who also lives there, has been working over 14 years now to build up this beautiful resort which is now rapidly becoming one of the hottest gastronomy hotspots in this area. Our friends from Holland (Amsterdam area- three hours to the North by car) enjoyed the personal introduction and tour of the resort given by the owner himself, and the excellent Japanese Wagyu meat, also known as 'Kobe' beef (this cattle is held at Altembrouck and in Wales, UK which deleivers to Harrods in London) prepared by the ex-chef of Michelin-star restaurant Beluga in Maastricht. The rooms are also excellent and it is great to wake up, open the window and see the black swans swimming in the lake or white horse in the stable and the beautiful small and quiet valley surrounding Altembrouck. Also the breakfast here is great: all local, organic produce. And finally the staff is very friendly and does everything to make sure you have a great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicolaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

Beautiful characteristic hotel in in wonderful surroundings with excellent personal service.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robertoflowerdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Altembrouck and the environment is very friendly, pure, unspoiled and untouched. It 's more or less "story telling" ...an experience...Altembrouck breathes out "freedom"....and you still feel and taste the luxury, as well inside as outside.

Ever taste a pure piece of Wagyu meat? in one word...excellent and surprising!

The landlord has written on his businesscard 'Farmer'...how typicly!

I am sure you hardly can't get this enywhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarthaMaastricht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fouron-le-Comte
1.3 mi away
Hotel Blanckthys
Hotel Blanckthys
#1 of 2 in Fouron-le-Comte
146 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Klein Zwitserland
Hotel Klein Zwitserland
#2 of 8 in Slenaken
149 reviews
3.0 mi away
Parkhotel het Gulpdal
Parkhotel het Gulpdal
#6 of 8 in Slenaken
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Slenakerhof
Hotel Slenakerhof
#1 of 8 in Slenaken
125 reviews
11.8 mi away
La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie
3.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Slenaker Vallei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landgoed Altembrouck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landgoed Altembrouck

Address: Altenbroek 4, Fouron-le-Comte 3798, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Limburg Province > Fouron-le-Comte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fouron-le-Comte
Price Range: $122 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Landgoed Altembrouck 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amidst its own private estate with a 14th-century castle, this impressive hotel offers style and grandeur. The luxurious rooms provide a breathtaking view. Benefit from free internet and free parking. The country estate of Altembrouck offers large green grounds with ponds, gardens and fields. Spot deer, badgers and wild boars, right from your luxurious accommodation in the wings of the castle. Official international supplier of Kobe beef, the Altembrouck estate serves this rare and tasty meat from the Japanese Wagyu cattle of the on-site farm. In addition to this unique culinary experience, you can also enjoy dishes of special Kurohitsu lamb and Hungarian Mangalica pork. You can wake up each morning with organic chicken eggs, freshly baked bread and traditional delicacies from the charcutier. Altembrouck makes use of an advanced ecological heating system, where the residual wood from the on-site forests and orchards is processed. Even the waste water is biologically purified in our reed land. With its large conservatory, historical rooms, coach house and underground reception in vaulted cellars, this hotel is truly one of a kind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Landgoed Altembrouck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landgoed Altembrouck Belgium/Fouron-Le-Comte, Limburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing