We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great but worth a visit”

Plaka Greek Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 66 Restaurants in Ivanhoe
Price range: $23 - $38
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Converted from an old car yard and established in February 2006, Plaka resembles a typical old style restaurant that would not look out of place in any city, small country town or island in Greece. Seating 120 people in comfort, Plaka offers a great experience for large groups or private functions. If it's a quick bite or a relaxed all night dinner, Plaka is perfect for the occasion, accompanied with an ouzo or two, Mythos or Fix beer. Wine is also available by the glass or bottle and stocks local varieties and the most popular imports. With large corner windows and a huge courtyard out front for alfresco dining in the warmer months, you and your guests will be very impressed with the atmosphere, service and quality Plaka offers. Plaka has set the new benchmark for traditional Greek cuisine!
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Not great but worth a visit”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

After reading a variety of somewhat contradictory reviews this was my experience.

Service - friendly but at times disorganised and i could see the potential for slow service at times. It is a family style restaurant and perhaps too many would be chiefs and not enough well trained indians.

Food - very nice overall but not great. Greek salad was great, beans a little too cooked, lemon potatoes a little undercooked and lacking in flavour. Meat platter - the souvlaki skeweres were the best, the cutlets were fatty, the bistekia a little dry and the Gyros a little dry and tough.

Atmosphere was appropriate for a greek restaurant with an OK outdoor area and great big windows for those inside. Tables were well spaced.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    24
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
224 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Good family restaurant”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We enjoyed our evening at this restaurant.

The food was good as was the service. We were able to park close by.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

I was quite excited to this restaurant for a lovely family dinner but was very dissapointed shortly after I arrived. The service started okay but then meals were forgotten, and we had to wait up to an hour and half for 2 meals, one being a kids meal which looked like it came out of a packet, not even the child attempted to eat the chicken! We asked about both several times but the staff were not very helpful. Lastly there's no value for money at all, I had to order a side and was still hungry! Step up your game!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gmnigro93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great eatery”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

As a local we go to Plaka on a regular basis and find it to have great home made Greek food and wonderful friendly service. It is a fantastic place to with family, friends or just by yourselves.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Greek food.”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Wonderful Greek food for good value price. We found it a little noisy but there were a few large groups celebrating birthdays on the night we were there. The service was very good with the exception of our drink waitress who knocked over a full glass of beer on our table.
We would definitely go back for the food regardless of this small accident.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oztravellers5054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaka Greek Restaurant also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Plaka Greek Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing