We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great eatery”

Plaka Greek Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 66 Restaurants in Ivanhoe
Price range: $23 - $38
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Converted from an old car yard and established in February 2006, Plaka resembles a typical old style restaurant that would not look out of place in any city, small country town or island in Greece. Seating 120 people in comfort, Plaka offers a great experience for large groups or private functions. If it's a quick bite or a relaxed all night dinner, Plaka is perfect for the occasion, accompanied with an ouzo or two, Mythos or Fix beer. Wine is also available by the glass or bottle and stocks local varieties and the most popular imports. With large corner windows and a huge courtyard out front for alfresco dining in the warmer months, you and your guests will be very impressed with the atmosphere, service and quality Plaka offers. Plaka has set the new benchmark for traditional Greek cuisine!
Granada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great eatery”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

As a local we go to Plaka on a regular basis and find it to have great home made Greek food and wonderful friendly service. It is a fantastic place to with family, friends or just by yourselves.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    24
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Greek food.”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Wonderful Greek food for good value price. We found it a little noisy but there were a few large groups celebrating birthdays on the night we were there. The service was very good with the exception of our drink waitress who knocked over a full glass of beer on our table.
We would definitely go back for the food regardless of this small accident.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oztravellers5054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
77 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very good traditional food with great atmosphere”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Plaka is a great family restaurant serving fresh, consistent food which is very good. It's very reasonably priced and the place is always buzzing with families but equally they make anyone feel welcome. The meat dishes are always beautifully cooked and succulent. The staff are very friendly and knowledgable and nothing seems to worry them - they just get on with it even when the place is packed. We have eaten here at least 4 times now and will continue to go back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sabinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, reasonable prices”
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Our first visit to Plaka was great. The food was beautiful and reasonably priced. Loved how we could book online and not have to wait til they opened to make a reservation. Plenty of parking. We will be back.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Naomi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, comfortable and pleasant ambience, no parking worries.”
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We took our Japanese friends to Plaka and they were delighted with the food and the experience. I was able to view the menu on the restaurant's website and wrote out what I thought would be an interesting mix of starters and dishes. When we got there I ran it past one of the owners, of what I believe is a family run business. He was very helpful and polite to me and to our guests. The restaurant was full and this must be a testament also to the excellent food and service. So many Greek restaurants are located in "hard-to-park" areas in the inner suburbs but there was no problem finding parking near this restaurant. The food was really good but what stood out for me was the friendly and helpful staff. Thank you from Litsa and Greg

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LitsaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaka Greek Restaurant also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Plaka Greek Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing