We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy and welcoming pub with nice food”

The Drummond at Albury
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Albury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Loxwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cosy and welcoming pub with nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

I hadn't been to the Drummond in about 14 years and whilst it has been renovated and upgraded it has retained all it's olde worlde warmth and charm. The seating is well laid out with nooks and crannies throughout the pub. My friends and I had a really leisurely pre-Christmas lunch this year. Two of us had the smoked haddock risotto which was delicious and huge. Others at our table had a slate platter of antipasti which was very fresh, and the Albury trout (the lake is next door), which was beautiful, on a bed of smashed potatoes and with bright green broccoli on the side (not grey as in some food places!). All in all, a really good meal, reasonable value at £25 a head with a glass of wine and a coffee each.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicola F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    72
    23
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic pub..... food almost there”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed the night here with my girlfriend on a Saturday evening. Accomodation was exceptional. Lovely four poster bed. Room had plenty of character and very clean.
Pub has very nice decor, wonderful fire place, packed full of leather... a real old school but still classy feel to it that so many pubs fail to pull off. The food was almost there. I had a lovely charcuterie board to start with heaped with some delicious meats and pickles. I had the rib eye steak for mains. Meat was perfectly cooked and the chips were good. However the creamy garlic sauce was so strong that it probably would have made a frenchman cough, which is a shame because it was so nearly the perfect meal. Im willing to give the chef the benefit of the doubt though as the rest of it was bang on. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would highly reccommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“"I highly recommend it and will definitely be returning"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

The pub is gorgeous and comfortable inside, the atmosphere, décor and open fire gives the place a lovely ambience.
I have eaten here many times and I’m always going back, the food is consistently great both in quality and quantity… The service is good and locals friendly. The menu caters for all tastes. I can recommend the delicious baked camembert, studded with garlic and thyme, and the local trout which was cooked perfectly and very tasty.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank woo925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is a hidden gem. A beautiful old English pub that serves first class food. The staff can't do enough for you. Would certainly recommend the journey for the experience, it's such a pity it's so out of the way.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Christening meal for the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Twenty adults and five children for a sit down three course meal plus drinks (of course). Sunday lunch time in a very busy pub and everything was great. Food was excellent, service could not be better and on top of this the bill was very reasonable. I recommend The Drummond for any occasion and will certainly return myself.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Drummond at Albury also viewed

Shere, Guildford
 
Shamley Green, Guildford
 

Been to The Drummond at Albury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing