We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little River Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Little River Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Little River B&B and Inns
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Peaceful night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here while on our Echidna walkabout great ocean road tour. Owner was friendly but not intrusive. Lovely old building the owner rescued from demolition. Lots of historical significance. Nice restoration, very comfortable lodging. Great food next door at the pub. Had coffee on the porch listening to all the beautiful birds, then a great breakfast before 2nd day of our tour.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place has a lot of history behind it, something you see well illustrated on the inside. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and well presented and the self service around the place makes you feel like you are at home. Close to You Yangs park which has great walking and biking tracks as well great views from Flinders Peak. The owners are very helpful.

Room Tip: The Bluestone Room -Spacious bedroom and bathroom with fire place
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Willxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We expected a warm welcome and great room! We had been travelling around Western Australia for two weeks from UK.Then we headed for Victoria, we landed at Melbourne airport, collected the car and arrived at Little River B and B in the dark (approx 6pm) with heavy rain.
This is where are expectations were partly dashed! A note on the outer door with our surname saying the key was in our door, the Bluestone Room. We entered and sure enough it was beautiful with a stylish ensuite, just what we wanted!
In the reception area was a note to help yourself to tea and coffee but wash up after you.
This we did. We were hungry, unfortunately the pub next door was closed (Sunday). I saw another guest and asked about getting a meal. He thought I might be the hostess as he'd not seem anyone either. He advised us to go to the next town and we ended up having fish and chips. Back in the reception a note said breakfast would be put out for the morning. Indeed it was, bread to toast and cereal all DIY and of course get your drink and don't forget to wash up!! This was well short of a normal big breakfast expected of a B and B. We spoke to another couple who were perched on bar stools eating their DIY breakfast and sure enough it wasn't to their expectations either! One comment was a very expensive hostel, $150AUD was the most expensive place we stayed in Australia with by far the worst service.

Room Tip: If you want to be welcomed by a hostess forget this place, we met no one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 49Pam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya F, Owner at Little River Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Admittedly we are relaxed in our approach to meeting guests (notes are common) but we usually see everyone! We just missed you on the night that you arrived (I saw your car go out the gate to get fish and chips). We're sorry that we didn't catch up with you and please accept our apologies. Based on feedback from many of our guests they really enjoy our relaxed attitude to checking in as it gives them the privacy and flexibility to arrive in their own time without added pressure to get here.....

I actually spoke with the other guest as you were leaving and he advised me where you were going etc. He knew who the hostess was as he has been with us for a very long time so I'm not sure how you would have gotten the impression that he didn't know who we were....

With regards to dishes - there is no requirement to do them yourself - there never has been nor will there ever be. I'm not sure how your impression came about with this however it certainly isn't a requirement of ours. We're sorry that you were under this impression.

Breakfast is advertised as a continental breakfast and it is DIY so that guests have the flexibility to choose when they would like to have it and not within a specified time period. This allows our guests to feel more relaxed as time is not pressing upon them once again.

We're sorry that you didn't enjoy your time here at the Little River BnB but thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

The room was beautifully appointmented with a very comfortable bed, excellent heating and an impressive bathroom. After reading other reviews we had highly anticipated clean crisp linen and clean fresh towels. After staying at a variety of other budget accomodation options around Victoria during the previous week this was to be a little bit of luxury. We were however confronted by an unacceptable standard of hygiene. The toilet was far from clean, with it apparent that if cleaning was conducted, it did not extend beyond the actual toilet bowl. We had prepared to put this incident behind us after a quick sanitisation. The makeup stains on the hand towels and highly suspicion skin crawl inducing stain that was found on one of the bathroom towels however pushed us to write this review.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitepaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya F, Owner at Little River Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Thankyou for your feedback. It is NOT NORMAL for there to be an issue regarding cleanliness at our B & B - it is a major concern to us to have received feedback like this. Our procedures and processes in place would normally prevent this type of issue occurring and we're not sure what has happened here..... We PRIDE ourselves on cleanliness and presentation and guests who have stayed with us in the past would attest to this I am sure. We apologise that your stay was ruined by this - had we known of the issues WHILE you were staying with us we would have upgraded you to another room and rectified the situation.

Once again, thakyou for the feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little River, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

From the outside you expect not to find such nice rooms on the inside! Beautiful rooms, bathrooms, cozy and very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josschrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

In a small town not far from Melbourne. You Yang Park nearby for wildlife or hiking. Comfortable clean rooms. Nice owners.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wildlifeship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
10.2 mi away
Mansion Hotel & Spa at Werribee Park
10.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Werribee
14.0 mi away
Quality Suites D’Olive
Quality Suites D’Olive
#2 of 2 in Point Cook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Werribee Park Motor Inn
15.4 mi away
Quest Sanctuary Lakes
Quest Sanctuary Lakes
#1 of 2 in Point Cook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
14.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little River Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little River Bed & Breakfast

Property: Little River Bed & Breakfast
Address: 16-18 Flinders Street, Little River, City of Greater Geelong, Victoria 3211, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > City of Greater Geelong > Little River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Little River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Little River Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Little River Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing