We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid this restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Matthew Flinders Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chadstone
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Avoid this restaurant”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This is really a restaurant review , but most travellers would not go here, unless they were staying at the hotel, because of the suburban location.. This place is a very large family-oriented pub restaurant. I had to go to the restaurant for a family function. It must have been the noisiest pub in Melbourne. Behind us were a group of children shouting out the lottery numbers on the TV screen . I had to cover my ears until the parents mercifully took the kids away. The noise dies down after a while.
My meal (atlantic salmon with potatoes and asparagus)was quite good , but most of my family members could not finish theirs, because of the lack of quality.. The share plate was very generous . However, the veal pasta dish was too cheesy and creamy, the gourmet sausages were too fatty to eat, the chicken parmigiana was awful, the coffee was too cold and the dessert slice was still frozen.
Service was reasonably quick, except for our friends who arrived a bit later.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RuthStellaBowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    11
    15
    17
See reviews for
16
9
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trafalgar South, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

I am staying here for a conference, and this is my second night (Saturday), so I don't know about noise.

The standard room is large enough and it has a surprising large robe area instead of a wardrobe. The bathroom is reasonable, but the basin has a timed push tap which is awkward if you want to do anything, and takes ages to warm up. I assume this is a water saving device due to the propensity of drought in Australia. The down side to this feature is that it takes so long and so much water before you get warm water that you waste water getting it warm. The best thing to do is use it after a shower, when the water is already to the room.

The bed was not made, the pillows were where I left them and the blankets and cover simply pulled up and loosely tossed over the pillows.

Upon turning down the bed the night before, I had to brush dead bugs off the sheet.

The coffee table in the room is dangerously loose.

The power points don't operate when I plug in my lap top, but operate for the toaster. Don't know what's going on there, but it was very odd.

"Continental" breakfast is 3 packets of cereal and four slices of white bread.

Packets of butter and margarine are in the fridge, and I left them out of the fridge to soften while at the conference. When I returned they'd been thrown away and not replaced. Bizarre behaviour.

It felt as if everything is rushed and hurried, with only a cursory nod to room service of the most basic kind.

I have put the chain on the door each night. The bed is comfortable, the heating good, and I'd probably stay here again if I was attending a conference due to its location, but I'd bring my own breakfast supplies.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank cagfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chadstone hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Melbourne
Level Contributor
121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

The Management seems to have a very inflexible attitude to their meals. In a case of a customer with severe food allergies, they cannot provide vegetables that have not been pre~prepared with butter and even when ordering the most expensive steak cannot substitute the accompaniments. Will not be going there again.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank yeti5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

OK, it's basic and fairly noisy, as the rooms are across from the Nightclub....but saying all that, the bed was comfortable (probably well worn in) and the shower was a joy....I have paid a lot more for a lot worse over the years. For the experienced traveller, with the ability shut the noise out, it's a comfortable, cheap, clean place to put your head....and the staff are pretty friendly too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Watt5y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2011

I stayed here for a course recently. Upon booking in the staff did warn there would be some noise from a nightclub on two nights of my stay. They were not exaggerating. I stayed in a ground floor room of this motel (it is not actually a hotel) and the noise was unbearable with the music from the nightclub playing until 3.30am both nights. I was also able to hear every noise from the room next to me including an argument and a drug deal. Needless to say I made sure the chain was on my door. If you want to be able to get any rest don't stay here.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCD2114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloela, Australia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

I stayed at the Matthew Flinders for 3 nights so that I could attend a course at the nearby Waverley Basketball Centre.
This hotel is just across the street from Holmesglen Railway station which is on the Glen Waverley train line in south east Melbourne.
When I booked the room, the staff member (Nerryllie ?) was very helpful and even emailed details of which train ticket to buy and how to get to the hotel from the train station.
The motel block is on the same site as the hotel which has a restaurant. I didn't try the restaurant. Also on site is a Nando's chicken outlet and directly across the road is McDonalds. Across the other intersection is a strip of shops that included a hairdresser, a couple of mini markets, a hot bread shop, a newsagent and a few Korean and other Asian restaurants. There were also buses that ran along the main road that the hotel was located on. The huge Chadstone Shopping Centre is alos within walking distance, depending on how fit you are feeling and how much you like walking alongside a busy road.
I am a married woman, but was travelling on my own in this instance. I had an upstairs room (no lifts) and I managed to get my suitcase upstairs okay by myself.
I stayed on Saturday, Sunday and Monday nights. I had been told that there would be a disco on one of the nights so was expecting lots of noise. There was a bit of shouting from patrons, but once I turned on the air con and tv, it blocked the sound out a fair bit.
A continental breakfast was provided in the room each day and for me it was quite adequate. There was bottled juice, bread for toasting and cereal. Jug and toaster are in the room and a small fridge too.
Even though the carpet was a bit stained, I felt the room was clean and I thought it a satisfactory place to stay for $275 for the 3 nights.
Bathroom was clean and good water pressure and hot water readily available.
I felt safe staying there by myself and the location worked well for me as I was able to walk everywhere I needed to go and was able to catch the train and skybus back to the airport with no trouble.
Checkout was quick and easy, with my account ready when I got to reception.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Qldgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2008

I stayed here as it is opposite a conference centre, where I was attending a course. Whilst the staff were friendly the room was dirty, very basic ammenities. I was woken up regularly through the night, and would not recommend this for lone female travellers. The food available at the 'restaurant' was overpriced and disgusting, plus you have to stand in line to order your food, and your drinks as well as collect your meal. The place is full of screaming children and has the feel of a canteen.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldishOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chadstone
2.3 mi away
Punthill Burwood
Punthill Burwood
#1 of 3 in Burwood
61 reviews
4.0 mi away
Novotel Glen Waverley
Novotel Glen Waverley
#1 of 4 in Glen Waverley
1,034 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hawthorn Gardens Serviced Apartments
1.2 mi away
No photo provided
1.2 mi away
Punthill Oakleigh
Punthill Oakleigh
#1 of 1 in Oakleigh
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matthew Flinders Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matthew Flinders Hotel

Property: Matthew Flinders Hotel
Address: 667 Warrigal Rd, Chadstone, Monash, Victoria 3148, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Monash > Chadstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chadstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Matthew Flinders Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 15 minutes away from Melbourne's CBD and 5 minutes from "The Fashion Capital", Chadstone Shopping Centre, one of the largest shopping centres in the Southern Hemisphere, Matthew Flinders Hotel offers guests the convenience and comfort of modern living. Perfect for long or short stays, the team at Matthew Flinders are committed to providing the best experience possible to all visitors. With 23 fully serviced 3 and a half star non-smoking motel rooms, all comfortably furnished and including tea and coffee making facilities, Matthew Flinders Hotel also has many facilities that patrons can access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Matthew Flinders Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing