We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel Value for Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bridge House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bridge House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Ferndown B&B and Inns
Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel Value for Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stay here for one night on the 27th November before our flight to Tenerife. The room was comfy warm and plenty of room. The carvery was great couldn't fault it, plenty to eat and choice of meats. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Would definately stay again good value for money.

Room Tip: Second floor good view over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammy186262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    120
    51
    18
    14
See reviews for
83
138
14
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lewes
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Just thought that I would share a note that I sent to the hotel this weekend -

"Dear Sirs

We just wanted to take this opportunity to say a huge thank you to your receptionist who was on duty today at about lunchtime (about 1ish). We stopped at the hotel wanting to find out where Longham Lakes were (a very rare bird had been sighted which we were looking for) and your receptionist went over and above the call of duty by asking your chef where we could find these lakes - we followed their instructions and found the lakes and the bird! He could have just said he didn’t know and we would have been none the wiser but we we would be very grateful if you could pass on our thanks to him. Indeed, in trying to track you guys down to say thank you we have now looked at your web-site and hope to find time to come and stay with you in the future and if your chef’s cooking is as good as his directions we will surely be in for a treat.

Thanks again to the Receptionist of the Year!"

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen-Phill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for two nights with my partner. The hotel was in a very convenient location for the company I had to visit the next day. Our room overlooked the river Avon, which was very nice. The evening meal and breakfasts were good. However, the walls are so thin that we were kept awake by the man in the next room, who was speaking on his mobile phone fairly loudly. We could hear every word he was saying and lied there awake hearing his conversation. Although the guy should have turned his volume down at 11.30 pm, the walls of the hotel are simply too thin between rooms, with virtually no attenuation of sound. The night manager moved us to another room at 11.30 pm, after I had complained to him, which had no guests staying on either side of us. Accordingly, we eventually went back to sleep and had an acceptable night. Unfortunately, I would never stay at this hotel in the future due to the noise issues between rooms. If they sound proofed theadjoining walls, I would re-consider. Afterall, the main point of a hotel is so you can get a good night's sleep!!!

Room Tip: I would not stay there until they do something about the thin walls between rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Honeypot66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b/wood
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Having visited this hotel several times in the four years our daughter has attended Bournemouth university i can only keep on recommending it. The rooms are well sized,210,202 and 204 have good views over the river although having no lift, access could be a problem. This and no room safe are the only reasons i can not give five out of five .Breakfast is good value with a extensive choice of full English, cereals, grapefruit, fruit salad, croissants, muffins, toast, orange juice , tea or coffee. Problems are quickly dealt with and the staff are all a credit to an excellent hotel. The only complaint i have is that having recommended it several times i have never had a discount. Perhaps next time!

Room Tip: first floor rooms overlooking the river are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sausagepoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

After I booked the hotel the friend we were visiting said that she wasnt sure if we'd like it though she did mention that money had been spent on it and it had been taken over by Citylodge group. We have previously stayed in B&B's on visiting but wanted the choice of being able to have a drink before retiring for the evening. We arrived and saw that there was plenty of parking always a bonus. There are a few steps to get up to the doors of main reception and we were located on the 1st floor at the back of the hotel-they did say that at the rear of the hotel there is a slope. Booking in was easy and the receptionist asked if we would like help with our bags up the stairs. The room was adequate, clean with ironing board and iron (always a plus). There was a Kettle and plenty of teabags, coffee, milk and biscuits. The hairdryer was great and they provided soap, shower gel etc in bathroom which was clean and in good condition. Plenty of power from the shower. The beds comfortable as were the pillows. Free wifi which my friend was pleased about. The room was a good temperature and the view was great of the river, ponies and swans. It would be fantastic in the summer as we could see a great outside seating and picnic area. The breakfast was not included in the price of £59.95 twin room but to be honest was good value at 7.95 (maybe less but no more). Never normally like buffet style breakfast as normally luke warm but eventhough we never got down until 9.20am (finishes at 9.30 mid-week which to be honest if you're on a relaxing break as we were we would have liked a later breakfast) fresh fried eggs were still coming out which allowed for us to have a soft centre ideal on toast. My friend is vegetarian and she was pleased that she had so much choice. We made use of the bar after returning to the hotel Sunday night, it was quiet but the barman was very friendly and we had a fun time on the game machine. Infact all members of staff we came into contact with were friendly and helpful. Wished we'd not booked the restaurant in Bournemouth for the Sunday eve meal and stayed at the hotel as when we arrived the Sunday Roast smelt appertising. Would definately come back especially during the warmer months to sit outside and eat or relax by the river. Thank you and keep up the good work. Great Stay.

Room Tip: Front bedrooms apparently were just as good but I would think it would be a little noisy as on the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceyOLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Fine for one night, though the bedroom was rather cramped. The foot of the single bed was underneath the TV set, so yopu had to duck to get to the window!!! Beware, no lift to the upper floor, though staff offer to carry luggage. Carvery very good value. We left before breakfast. No charge for parking the car whilst away on holiday.

Room Tip: A lot of traffic passes rooms at the front, even late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertfromDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed 2 weeks ago for the weekend it was the nearest hotel for a friends wedding , i think we may have stayed here a few years ago when it was very different and not great ! We booked this because we stayed in one of there other hotels in Yeovil and really enjoyed that. On arrival we were a bit disappointed that we had a room at the front , but we were told they were very busy. The room was very clean and everything looked new , much better quality to premier and travelodge.
We had a few drinks in the bar , and then the carvery which at the price they sell it for we werent expecting much , it was very very good , couldnt fault it really. The staff were friendly but not over attentive. Bed was very comfortable and i slept really well , i was pleasantly suprised because i thought it may be noisy. Breakfast was from the same servery as the carvery the night before , and was just as good , lots of hot fresh food , and real sausages. also a great cold selection too.We paid £79.95 not including breakfast. Overall it was really good , would recommend.

Room Tip: If we had of booked earlier we would have asked for a riverside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferndown
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth/Ferndown Hotel
4.6 mi away
St. Leonards Hotel
St. Leonards Hotel
#2 of 2 in St Leonards
3.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
2.2 mi away
Les Bouviers Rooms
Les Bouviers Rooms
#1 of 3 in Wimborne Minster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Westcliff Hotel
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge House Hotel

Property: Bridge House Hotel
Address: 2 Ringwood Road, Ferndown BH22 9AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Ferndown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ferndown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the River Stour with views from the bar and restaurant. The 49 room hotel offers excellent value for money with Hypnos beds and refurbished rooms, to ensure a comfortable stay for all guests. The bar and restaurant is open from breakfast, providing a lunch time and evening restaurant service as well as teas and coffees. The new Riverside Function suite with its own private deck offers privacy and stunning views over the river and beyond, with its own bar and conference facilities. As a small family run hotel, we pride ourselves on delivering excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bridge House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Dorset
Bridge House Hotel Ferndown, Dorset, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing