We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cloth table covers, "wapiti", and local Geneva wines”

Auberge de Bogis-Bossey
Reserve with
Auberge de Bogis-Bossey is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Cloth table covers, "wapiti", and local Geneva wines”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Tucked in a small Swiss village - you have to look for it to find it. Here are the pluses:

+ Decor - the usual clean and country decor but am always impressed if they make an effort to have cloth table covers and napkins.
+ Food - cooking was wonderful specially the "wapiti". I had no idea what we were ordering, turns out to be a very tender, tasty and light meat from New Zealand.
+ Delicious bread and 5 different sorts to choose from. I bet they are baked in house.
+ The local Geneva (Satigny) wines matched the food very well.
+ There was a lot of choices on the cheese served - like 20 varieties
+ Dessert was the coup de grace
+ Lastly service was very good.
+ We ate at half price (using a Buy Club coupon) so we got very good value, but for the quality we got, I would not mind paying full price.

I was afraid of the other negative comments posted on TripAdvisor but I didn't observe any of that. We left the restaurant full, pleased and happy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    34
    21
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Arrogant service, worse food”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Working not far from the Auberge de Bogis-Bossey, we decided to try it for a working lunch, also, as several people had suggested we give it a try. What a disappointment!

One of the main problems of this restaurant is the owner thinks he is Bocuse, but is nowhere near that level of cooking. The service is just plain arrogant. We felt unwelcome from the minute we called to reserve a table, which was confirmed quite radically during out time there. The time to wait for our meals was painfully long, yet my fish arrived uncooked and still frozen from the inside. Yet, their prices are just outrageous! The other dishes we really nothing that would justify their prices; in fact, most local restaurants will offer you better food at half the price.

I recommend you to avoid this restaurant at all costs. There many far better alternatives in the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank abraxastravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good Food, Expensive wines, Poor service”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Auberge continues to serve good food, although the menu had hardly changed since we came last time in 2012. Choice of the menu is restricted, presentation of the food is fine. Don't understand why they can't offer a daily special. Prices of wines are simply exorbitant. Service and staff seem to lack training and were better in the past. The place seems to suffer from the same 'disease' of many places in the Canton de Vaud, of 'standing still' and not moving on...Overall experience average.

Helpful?
Thank mstorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth any distance detour”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Absolutely fantastic restaurant and it is worth booking a hotel room too. That way you can fully enjoy a dinner with excellent wine. Whenever you in the Geneva area, try planning a stay here, it's an experience you will remember for a long time.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gijs-Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemasse, France
Level Contributor
590 reviews
334 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“a SURE BET FOR A SUNDAY EVENING GOURMET MEAL”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

A very cosy yet elegant gourmet restaurant with a simpler bistro next door open Sunday evening, not too far from Geneva with one of the best rum collections in the country. No false notes on our 110 CHF set meal, enjoyed everything. Perfect service. i recommend the local viognier for a very reasonable price. Everything well presented. the chef is a very affable fellow, happy in his work...

  • Visited December 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hask74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auberge de Bogis-Bossey also viewed

 
Crassier, Nyon District
 

Been to Auberge de Bogis-Bossey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing