We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chasse seasonal dishes not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Auberge de Gilly

Auberge de Gilly
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Gilly
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Swiss, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Chasse seasonal dishes not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

In our region of Switzerland everyone is turning to the restaurants for chasse - or wild game -season to take the gloom off of the colder weather. Wild game covers wild boar, venison, pheasant, and others. Auberge de Gilly offers a fabulous array of delicious choices, along with many other traditional dishes well-loved by their clientele. I had their chasse in a casserole styles, sumptuous cream sauce with choice seasonal mushrooms, stuffed homemade ravioli, as well as three gorgeous filets of different chasse meats. If you are a chasse lover and you live in the Lausanne/Geneva areas, you must give yourself the pleasure of dining in this friendly and highly regarded local restaurant. It has a Michelin star for 2013. Save room for the unbeatable desserts. Plenty of parking and not hard to find.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neubecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    38
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
coventry england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

My son and his wife live across the road from this wonderful restaurant. I am so lucky to to go for a meal each time I visit, it is such a treat, great food and wonderful ambience. I look the seafood risotto. Hoping to sample some more delights later this week!!!!!

Pat Ashby

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank berrygordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“tradition with exotic touch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

It's a nice place for lunch in the center of the small village of Gilly on the hill. We generally go for lunch during the week when there is a "plat du jour" (you can check on the website the menu for each lunch during the week) with a very affordable price for the lake area, (around 22 CHF) with a little dessert included.
Inside you have the "cafe" like a bistro,very nice and warm place and another room with traditional tables and where generally you can eat only from the menu, you can't have the plat du jour.
Anyway this is the perfect place to visit expecially during spring and summer because there is a beautiful terrace.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank francesca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 481 helpful votes
“Difficult to do better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

When autumn arrives, we always look for restaurants that propose game. And every year, we make sure not to miss the tantalizing cuisine of Jean-Claude Volery. We’ve been here umpteen times and everything is always perfect: delicious food, soothing ambience and impeccable service. The variety of dishes on the menu is vast but the quality remains consistent. Exquisite preparation, copious portions, simply presented, professionally served. Prices are correct. A large selection of excellent wines from the region. And best of all, loyal and dedicated staff that smiles – a rarity in the area. This place is a must… 3 stars all round… and not just for venison specialities.
PS: We also come here in the summer for lunch and enjoy the daily menu on the terrace. Always a treat.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank restaurant71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“excellent price/quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

i have been to this quaint little restaurant on several occasions, from business lunches to private dinners.
the portions are always generous, the daily menus affordable and tasty. i have yet to have a negative experience there.
amongst my visits there is also the traditional once a year venison evening with my mother.
i recommend tasting the "emulsion océanique" for starting, whether a cold winter day or summer, it is always delicious. thevenison dishes are also delicious.
all in all, a good address to have.
this place also organizes special 7 course dinners in partnership with the wine-maker next door, which i am looking forward to trying out sometime as well.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank c a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auberge de Gilly also viewed

Bursinel, Nyon District
Rolle, Nyon District
 
Buchillon, Canton of Vaud
Vinzel, Nyon District
 

Been to Auberge de Gilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing