We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like your home away from homes”
Review of Hotel Tierra Verde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Tierra Verde
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Tierra Verde will not disappoint you. Its located on one of the smaller islands of bocas, Carenero which adds to its charm and relaxing feel. There are great restaurants for any meal and drinks (Fresh caught fish from the boat) and even kayak and water rentals if you wish, which is just a few minute walk from your room. Hang outside on the dock and look at the orange starfish in the water or dive into the crystal blue water and snorkel for a bit. The best part is that the owners Tierra Verde are so accommodating and sweet that it really feels like you are staying at a friends home. The best part was when other people talk to me about bocas, i had a different experience and saw more, off the typical tourist path because of the people at Tierra Verde. I 100% credit my unique experience in Boca because of Cookie and Stephanie. You can tell they love their hotel and they love seeing people enjoy where they live. You came to bocas to relax.... so get off the main island of colon and hang at tierra verde and feel as if it's your home on your island :) and respect it as such.

Room Tip: Super clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PCPOPPLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 62 of 110 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2012

Perfect little getaway in Bocas del Toro. Quaint hotel with clean rooms, with AC and private bathroom. Owned by two brothers who host surfers, families, and groups of people who just like to get away and relax. Have stayed there 4 times over the last 8 years and each trip is a little different, but their hospitality remains the same and keeps me coming back. You can do everything or nothing and Cookie and Ivan will help you organize and schedule your day trips. I really enjoyed taking the boat over to Dolphin Bay and have always been amazed at how curious they are. Starfish beach, Red Frog Beach, drinks at sunset, La Gruta bat cave, taking the boat to Bastimentos and other small surrounding islands, snorkeling, walking through Colon Town and just reading a book on the hammock on their pier. Can't wait to come back this winter! :) Thank you Cookie and Ivan for providing a consistent little hideaway over the years!

Room Tip: I love the rooms on the second floor with the ocean view. Beautiful to wake up there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Tierra Verde is a must if you plan on staying in the Bocas del Toro area. the rooms are super clean. the staff is super friendly and helpful. its as centrally located as can be for the area. the views are amazing.i recommend staying there .

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wabasso4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We were staying at another hotel on Colon Island that turned out to be horrible, contrary to the pretty pictures we saw on their website. Luckily we had the good fortune of meeting Stephanie (co-owner Cookie's wife) who whisked us away to Carenero Island and Hotel Tierra Verde. Their spot is so much quieter and more serene than anything we saw on Colon - while still within walking distance of some great restaurants and bars - and only 10 minutes and $1 water taxi from Bocas Town. Our room was comfortable, the showers were hot, the breakfasts delicious, and you are right on a stunning beach with crystal blue water and a gorgeous island view. I wish we had know about Hotel Tierra Verde from the start, it would have made a huge difference in the enjoyment of our trip.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank td_ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

This is is the place to stay if you come to Bocas for surfing or just to relax and enjoy the islands. The owners Cookie and Ivan are native Panamanians. These guys know the place and will give you the best advise as to where to go and what to do while in Bocas.
The property is beautiful and laid back. If you need anything just asked them and they'll do their best to make it happen.

Room Tip: The top suite is pretty sweet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masato N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Lovely little hotel, very clean, quiet rooms with ac. Very serene and peaceful setting. Spent many hours with drinks and book on the front porch looking out at the sea. Very easy to get there from Colon Island, $2 water taxi from jetty to Colon and $2 to get to Carenero point break and you can walk back. The owners are surfers and can get you a boat in 5 minutes. They are full of info and set you up with trips, tours, places to visit. For surf trips by boat ask for Cedar or Madison, they have a great boat and will take you to the best spots. Service was excellent. The only reason it's nt 5 stars is that the breakfast whilst lovely and continental is insufficient for surfers. Would be great if they would offer something cooked and more substantial.

Room Tip: No real need to pay extra for an ocean view since its right there in front of you when you walk out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zengirl_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

I highly recomend Tierra Verde at Carenero Island. Nice Hotel and location, good breakfast, nice rooms, covered sheltter for hamocks! excellent service and responsability from the owners to make your vacation enjoyable, also very helpfull!! Taxi ride to Colon Island is 5 minutes away and $1 dollar.
Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elisamf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carenero Island
0.7 mi away
Buccaneer Resort
Buccaneer Resort
#2 of 2 in Carenero Island
125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
429 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cosmic Crab Resort
Cosmic Crab Resort
#2 of 4 in Carenero Island
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Acuario
Casa Acuario
#3 of 4 in Carenero Island
105 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bambuda Lodge
Bambuda Lodge
#1 of 3 in Isla Solarte
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tierra Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tierra Verde

Address: Carenero Island, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Carenero Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Carenero Island
Price Range: $69 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Tierra Verde 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located into a lush, tropical setting, and carribean ocean to view. Each room comes with Ac, Cable Tv, hot water and wifi. A stretch of beach and restaurants are in walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Tierra Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Verde Hotel Bocas Del Toro Province
Hotel Tierra Verde Panama/Carenero Island, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing